We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful - book elsewhere”
Review of D'Borneo Hotel

D'Borneo Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
D'Borneo Hotel
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Our room - particularly the bathroom - had not been cleaned... disgusting. We checked out early as a result with an apology but the receptionist didn't seem at all surprised. The entire hotel - even on the non-smoking floors - reeks of cigarette smoke. Breakfast was inedible. Book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

Lovely cheap hotel right in the middle of Kota Kinabalu city. Staff are very friendly and efficient, adequate breakfast and the family room is large.Walking distance to restaurants,shops and on the doorstep is a nightly market.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkelsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Comfortable but looking very weary and in need of a renovation. Laundry service made all my clothes smell gross and were unwearable until they were washed again! Not too bad but not great.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthCuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

After being rated as Lonely Planet's ''Our Pick'' hotel for mid-range hotels in Kota Kinabalu, we found D'Borneo to be disappointing. The rooms have all the basic amminities, but found that the treatment from staff in general was not very good.

To do anything in Sabah, we quickly found that you need to book in advance and you need help. The staff in D'Borneo and the local tourist information were far from obliging. This was not great but we decided to call round to see what we could do. To do this you have call reception before EVERY call to set up the line.

Despite this, we were doing ok. The room was suiting our needs and is situated just outside the night market (where some of the best food you will eat can be found). However, the next morning we found working the shower was like cracking Alchemy. Each shower has about 10 buttons, all of which don't switch it on. We called a member of staff who walked in said he couldn't understand and would come back. An hour later and we had heard nothing. After calling reception they promptly sent up another person who did exactly the same. After calling reception again and asking if we could use another shower, they begrudgingly allowed us access to another room...... which also had a faulty shower. Our problem wasn't that the water wasn't working, but that we were constantly led to believe that there was nothing wrong and wasted half a day of our holiday getting this sorted out.

We never received an apology and checked out of the hotel soon after. The hotel is ok, but again over priced for the quality and service of the hotel. I wouldn't advise staying here unless they've removed all the 15 year old staff who don't really care about what you want.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JolyonBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Had just returned from a few days in the jungle and the hotel was just what I was after - comfortable bed and shower. Centrally located and friendly staff, only issue was shower was only warm at best but not a big issue.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 km away
Celyn City Hotel
Celyn City Hotel
#53 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
65 reviews
0.5 km away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
106 reviews
0.5 km away
King Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu
King Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#60 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
332 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
98 reviews
2.9 km away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Borneo Hotel

Address: Lot 6, d'Borneo Hotel D'Borneo Hotel Block L, Sinsuran Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: ₹ 1,889 - ₹ 2,410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — D'Borneo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your D'Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
D'Borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing