We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (939)
Filter reviews
939 results
Traveller rating
677
207
31
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
207
31
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour daily tours indigo restaurant food court next door original owner fascinating history free tour central courtyard restored to its former glory beautiful building red garden guest rooms unique hotel step back in time antique furniture stayed here for two nights night market
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 939 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

Was a great tour, with tour guide Terry (I think), very knowledgeable and very interesting. I wasn’t particularly sure why my girlfriend wanted us to visit a blue house but I learned a lot about the history of the hotel. Really wished we had booked to stay there

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 12345Conor12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFT-TBM-Mgr, Manager at Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2019

12345Conor12345,

We are most grateful for your positive feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.


The Blue Mansion Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

Worthwhile making the effort to find the Blue Mansion - interesting family history and range of exhibits
Seems to be no control on numbers for guided tours - so there can be an excess of visitors at peak times
Our guide Sally was excellent in her tour information and willing to answer everyone’s questions

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank smw45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFT-TBM-Mgr, Manager at Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2019

Dear smw45,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant review. We are glad that you had an amazing experience with us and hope to welcome you back soon.


The Blue Mansion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

We're here for 3 nights at the Scholar room, this mansion is beautiful restored to its glory day with modern amenities (including your own automatic coffee machine!!!). The staffs are very attentive and helpful from the front desk, restaurant, house keeping etc.. The music from the food court next door will keep you awake till midnight (the hotel provides the ear plugs in room for you too), so next time we'll be at the poolside room for sure. This hotel doesn't have a lift, so let them know in advance when booking. Overall we enjoyed our time here and highly recommended for old time experience.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kittisuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFT-TBM-Mgr, Manager at Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2019

Dear Kittisuda,

Thank you so much for your feedback. It brings us great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your experience at the mansion as we continue to care for and enhance its features.

The Blue Mansion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

Great tour of a beautiful mansion. Thanks for showing it. Sally the tour guide was smiling and professional, and made sure our big group all had a good time. Will recommend others to also go, should they have the time.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Nicolai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFT-TBM-Mgr, Manager at Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2019

Dear Nicolai L,

Thank you for the feedback. We are glad you had enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back as hotel guest in the near future.


The Blue Mansion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2019

The Blue Mansion a good choice for stay in Penang.

1. The building is fantastic, with lots of ancient Chinese furniture, the color of the building is bright blue, very attractive. Not very much choice for breakfast, but the custom menu is fine, you could order Arizona omelet and the hot bread pudding, one person could only order one.

2. Good location in George Town, you could walk to City Hall & Town Hall, St George Church. The street of Georgetown is very impressive with both modern and historic style, and many beautiful wall paintings, go and find them.

3. The Red Garden food court next door is a good choice for casual dining, opened until midnight, there is singing performance during the night, lots of local people have fun there, but a little bit noisy when you stay at the room of The Blue Mansion.

Enjoy your trip in Penang!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kareninwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFT-TBM-Mgr, Manager at Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2019

Dear Kareninwater,

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. Guests often mention that every experience at The Blue Mansion is special, whether when staying a few nights, joining our daily tour or dining at Indigo – thus we hope you will visit us again soon.

The Blue Mansion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews