We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
962
119
19
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
962
119
19
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews argus suite argus lane rain shower boutique hotel terrace houses peranakan food beautiful hotel peranakan style in house restaurant complimentary afternoon tea four poster wet room steep stairs small pool shop houses historic georgetown huge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is very nice.Great chinese furniture from colonial period.Great location.Very friendly and helpful staff.They invited us to celebration of Chinese New Year .It was beautiful experience for us.Thank you.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2019

This is *the* place to stay in George Town. It's centrally-located with one of the best restaurants in town. The standard rooms are duplex suites that feel like museums and have some powerful air conditioners.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2019 via mobile

Seven Terraces is quite the delight! Well-appointed interior decor, spacious and beautiful dressing area/toilet, with a loft attached - there was enough space for the 3 of us to manoeuvre, decent furnishings ie full-length mirror, porcelain kettle, antique coffee tables, poster beds, mini fridge with complimentary drinks... with all of these in place, it’s tough not to feel a little spoilt! Oh there’s a complimentary hi-tea with a few nonya kuehs - just enough to tease your palette! Breakfast was also good, although not a buffet. It’s a clean and well-maintained boutique hotel that makes you feel like you’re back in the hay-days of Penang. The only gribe - if it was a little more livening, the atmosphere would have been more pleasant, given it’s the Chinese New Year period! I will stay again when in Penang..

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nettery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2019

Ideal location in the heart of Georgetown and an excellent base for going out walking /exploring/ eating, and then returning for rest /air conditioning.

We stayed for 5 nights and seriously did not want to leave. Our stay there was a highlight of our travels. Wonderful staff, extremely helpful but no fuss. Happily kept us supplied with ice cold bottles of filtered water (bottled water also available if preferred), and nothing was too much trouble.
Room was beautifully decorated with a mix of contemporary and antique furnishings. We had a duplex suite with bedroom upstairs and adjacent toilet, main bathroom downstairs...quiet, good air conditioning, Excellent housekeeping. Lovely pool and communal seating area. Complimentary afternoon tea in the afternoon.

Highlights included the breakfasts...seriously good, and a tour of the hotel by Jason. When you see the original photographs pre restoration, it makes the vision of the owner Chris Ong all the more extraordinary!

Thank you Seven Terraces...we hope to return!!

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank squeezing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2019

We arrived at about 10 in the morning after a flight from London, and knew our apartment would not be likely to be ready, but we were whisked off to another room to enable us to freshen up and catch a couple of hours sleep. Everything and everyone at this beautiful hotel was wonderful. We stayed in the argus apartment, which was spacious and beautifully furnished. The pool, although not huge, was lovely for a refreshing swim and the afternoon tea very civilised after a morning out exploring. The hotel is very central making it easy to wander around the streets finding the street art, temples, mansions, and dipping into all of the food stalls and shops. We ventured out very early one morning ( leaving the husband asleep) to experience the Thiapasam festival, and felt very safe and welcomed by all. We ate in Kabaya one evening and marvelled at the way our different choices and variations on dishes were remembered and delivered by the team. Could not have wished for a better start to our holiday, thank you to everyone.

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank traveller446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews