We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,285)
Filter reviews
4,285 results
Traveller rating
2,795
984
316
128
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,795
984
316
128
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new wing planters lounge victory annexe sarkies corner corner suite infinity pool lone pine butler service cocktail hour old world charm sea view beautiful hotel original building colonial style high tea huge bathroom straits quay
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 4,285 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Have just spent some time there: And can say it is an exceptional experience. We decided to stay in corner suite in the New Wing. Separate sitting area. Double shower etc too much to list. It wasn’t just the room and hotel that was great: it is the staff that make the difference; that’s why you go back there. Good location in old part of town : walking distance to little India etc. we used Grab to get around quick and cheap. Lots of good street food. But for us the hotel made this trip and th excellent service they provide. Would I go back yes: at least while the staff keep looking after you. 2 pools: complimentary happy hour with nice nibbles actually you don’t have to leave, you can stay and enjoy the whole thing

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Placestogo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOH01Penang02, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with us. It is nice to hear of your exceptional experience and that you would be planning a return. It would be a pleasure to have you with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We recently stayed here for 3 days in the old wing and were only sad it were not longer.
From the moment we arrived, we were met with exceptional service. Our children were distracted and watermelon juices delivered in the lobby as we were quickly checked in and we were immediately shown to our room. The rooms are spacious, immaculate and beautifully appointed with in room coffee machines and a fruit bowl.
The highlights of the hotel
1. The BEST breakfast buffet we have ever experienced. Huge variety, excellent produce and a cool and welcoming space. Service here is exceptional.
2. The outdoor pool
3. The hotel reception staff are exceptional. They are friendly, professional and went out of their way to organise babysitting for us, book dinners, recommend shopping and facilitate our late check out.
4. In house dining and meals are great.
We will definitely be back to stay here. It is excellent value for money and a beautiful, classic hotel.

Room tip: The most beautiful place to stay in Georgetown
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOH01Penang02, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with us. It is wonderful to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and it would be great to have you visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Eastern & Oriental Hotel is a fantastic hotel, I am so glad that we stayed here, the staff were friendly, my husband and I really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. Free Happy Hour is must do for people that are staying on the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOH01Penang02, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us last August. It is great to know that you have really enjoyed your stay and would be planning a return. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

We spent 4 nights here with family and friends to celebrate my wife's birthday. Staff were attentive and friendly. They even put a birthday cake in our room, nice gesture.

Staying in this beautiful hotel is like stepping back in time to the Colonial days. Even the Victory Annex, the newer part of the hotel, has been designed in the same style with high ceilings and wide corridors. It's like walking through a museum.

Good sized rooms and enormous corner suites at reasonable prices. The Planters Lounge Happy Hour offered free drinks and tasty snacks every afternoon and was a great place to watch the ships come and go through the Straits. They also served a good buffet breakfast.

Great location within easy walking distance of Fort Cornwallis, Food Centres, museums, restaurants and nightclubs.

I will definitely be going back!

Room tip: Treat yourself to a Corner Suite!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PCinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOH01Penang02, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Eastern & Oriental Hotel as the preferred venue to celebrate your wife's birthday. Staying with us on this special occasion must have been memorable. It is nice to hear of your pleasant experience and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your 4 nights stay with us. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

I’d wanted to stay at this hotel for a long time. The hotel’s architecture is beautiful, from the outside at least and in the reception area, in a grand old colonial way that is difficult to match these days. The inside leaves a bit to be desired as parts of the hotel haven’t been sympathetically restored and look somewhat institutional, particularly the corridors.

Unfortunately, as a hotel, whatever it once was, it is no longer. The hotel requires significant capital investment to bring it back to the standard it deserves, but more, it needs a massive overhaul of its staff, management and training. Some building works were being undertaken while we were staying here and will no doubt improve aspects of the hotel.

There are two pool areas. An eternity in the new Victory Wing and an in ground salt water pool in the Heritage Wing. Both are nice and could be made into something quite special, however the pool loungers in the Heritage Wing are old, frayed and covered in mould. The new loungers in the Victory Wing were already sagging uncomfortably.

We stayed in one of the writers’ suites in the Heritage Wing. They have beautiful views over the ocean and the main bedroom was light and well furnished. The rest of the suite was dark and under-furnished. The furniture in the suite was nice enough but too scanty for the size of the room. However, the main problem was that the electricity didn’t work.In the middle of the night, on the first night of our stay, we woke up in a sauna to find that the air conditioning had gone off earlier that night with all of the power. It could only be fixed from inside the room so that was done the following morning when we went down to breakfast. I was told that it wasn’t uncommon as the room was old, but was now fixed. It wasn’t, as the same thing happened the next night. No matter what the heritage of a hotel, if you can’t sleep in it, which in Penang without air conditioning, you cannot, it is of no use. I’m sure if we’d been in a room where we could sleep our view of the hotel would have been better.

What I found very strange is that, after two nights of this happening and being reported to the reception, no one called to apologise or make any effort whatsoever to make up for a significant failing on the part of the hotel, to assure us it wouldn’t happen again or offer any form of solution. There seemed to be no concept of client care or communication among the staff member at all. We didn’t stay for a third night (having originally booked for four nights).

The dining options are a bizarre mix, with unclear and inconsistent rules and dress codes. On our first night we tried to find somewhere to eat in the hotel and ended up being bounced from one dining option to another, with no place other than the sports bar willing to seat us at one of its 3 outside tables (because of the children we could not sit indoors), where there was noisy construction work happening. None of the other places we tried were busy. The waiter in the ‘high end’ 1885 stopped by to check his mobile phone, which he had rested on the grand piano, before informing us that there was an (unadvertised) dress code requiring long trousers.

We ended up ordering room service with a bottle of wine. The food was delivered with a glass of wine and a bill for a bottle. The waiter checked and said there was a mistake, he would return with a bottle and left with the glass. After 20 minutes with no returning waiting I had to call room service again to follow-up and eventually a bottle arrived, though after we had finished eating. Mistakes happen, but if they do, at a hotel seeking a designation as a luxury venue, they need to be corrected quickly and appropriate good will gestures made. They can’t be here, as the staff are, for the most part junior and untrained. They simply don’t know what to do.

Breakfast is also an odd affair. The breakfast room was overcrowded and had the look and feel of a food hall, not a luxury hotel. If you arrive at a quiet time, you can sit outside, and whilst very hot, it does have a nice ambience. The food at breakfast is, however, quite poor, especially so compared to what is available in the cafe’s of Georgetown which are only a 5-10 mins walk away, though you have to cross one busy road to get to them. If you do decide to stay here & can get a room without breakfast I’d recommend doing that and eating out. That said, I would not recommend staying here.

There is a concierge desk, but the staff spoke limited English and didn’t have much information on how to assist with things to see or do in Georgetown. Again, this is an issue with recruiting and training the right staff.

If this hotel were charging 3 star prices as many run-down old hotels in other parts of the World do, it would get away with a lot in regard to the lack in quality and standards. It is, however, charging top end prices and claiming to be a luxury hotel. That, it is not.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
7  Thank cliveWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOH01Penang02, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and the time taken in sharing your observation and experience. We are however disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and would like to sincerely apologize for the shortfall. We have taken note of the issues that you have kindly raised and rest assured your feedback will be shared with the team for correction actions to be taken. We would very much appreciate an opportunity to change your impression on a return visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews