We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The grande dame delivers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The grande dame delivers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights here in September and had a wonderful stay. We were in the old part of the hotel on the third floor - suites were large, very comfortable, and windows opened to lovely views out over the sea. There was no noise apart from the crashing of the sea against the shore ... A wonderful sound on waking. Service was superb - all staff were welcoming and helpful without being obtrusive in any way. I particularly loved the pool by the sea and spent a few hours in and around it - it was never crowded or noisy. Breakfast was excellent (try the roti ... best I had in all Penang and I made sure to try a few!). I also really enjoyed the free yoga class.

The hotel was well located near the old town and a cheap taxi ride to other Penang attractions.

We read the guest book which had quite a few people returning for second or third visits - I can't think of anything nicer than being a regular visitor to the E&O. Thanks to all staff for looking after us so well.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MisterPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,046
    737
    233
    84
    42
See reviews for
661
1,558
152
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Had a wonderful stay at this Hotel, I arrived early at 8.30am with my grandson we were both very tired after a all night train trip, and the staff went out of their way to get us into our suite early, and were extremly kind and friendly.
The accomodation was excellent spotless in presentation and total luxury, magnificent views across the ocean, the whole experiance there was most enjoyable.
The buffet breakfast was excellent so many different types of divine food to choose from!
I would definatley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchieChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

For the price the Hotel charges for a Afternoon Tea Experience it is astronomical in price. A few finger portions , very dry cut up sandwiches, few scones to be accompanied by a miserable dollop of jam , a single minute voulevont , a very minuscule selection of sweet cakes.... Selection is definitely Not there. Other than one pays for the Ambience this is one expansive cup of afternoon tea!!!think it needs a lot of improvement especially with the price in comparison to the selection of sandwiches and cakes

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Piplee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a room overlooking the water & swimming pool in August 2012 and totally enjoyed the great ambience, history, service & facilities. This hotel boasted great colonial Anglo-Indo architecture with terrets & cannons and was located on the strait embankment. In my opinion it looked better than the Raffles in Singapore & the Peninsula in Hong Kong. It did feel a bit spooky at night during the Chinese Ghost Festival during our stay.

Facilities & service were great and was walkable to lots of eateries along (& around) Jalan Penang. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitus Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Summary: Great rooms, fine service, perfect location and a feeling of being in a special and historic building. Note that we stayed in the old wing of the hotel, and I cannot comment on the new section.


My gf and I stayed here for a few nights while in Penang for a wedding. With the gf being a design student, she absolutely loved all of the touches that make this hotel special. The grandness of the hotel wasn't lost on me either. The rooms are huge, more like studio apartments, very comfortable. They have sacrificed a some modern comforts (e.g. universal plugs, make-up mirror, flat screen TVs, etc) to keep their heritage aesthetics, which is fine by me, but just so you know.

The service was fine, professional and without fault. My gf was sick for one of the days and they helped me with whatever my requests were.

The location is fantastic. Right where you want to be to experience Penang, including some good eating, drinking and shopping places close by.

As for breakfast, for a hotel it is an amazing breakfast, but if you've come to Penang for the food, you've better off saving your stomach for the nearby streets.

Finally, we had a sea facing room. It always gives a nicer feeling in the morning (IMO), but don't expect a sunrise during August due to the smoke (from Indonesia).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.5 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
3.2 km away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
3.2 km away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#11 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
11.1 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
11.6 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Property: Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,930 - ₹ 15,418
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Fastbooking and Prestigia so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing