We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,346)
Filter reviews
2,346 results
Traveller rating
713
1,011
449
107
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
713
1,011
449
107
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traders hotel the club lounge golden sands booked a club room free shuttle prangin mall batu ferringhi bit dated business hotel sister hotel within walking distance central location breakfast spread bus station cocktail hour new lane comfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,346 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

Attended a friend’s wedding reception in Georgetown here. Room is modern and clean, there is a kids pool that my daughter enjoyed. Staffs are also friendly and helpful. Markets are also surrounded, it is approximately 10-15 minutes away from hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank matthewn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJenPenang, General Manager at Hotel Jen Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

Dear matthewn20,

Thank you for the review and the high score for us!

We're delighted that we met expectation for the stay, and thank you for the nice words for our hotel's facilities, hospitality, and hotel location. Needless to say, your intention to stay with us again is so much appreciated. We're looking forward to seeing you again and to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2019

The 4 of us stayed the Jen Hotel for 3 nights. We had a comfortable 3 nights stay. The rooms had big pillows and a comfortable bed. The location is perfect - about 10 mins walk to Lebuh Keng Kwee and Chowrasta Market and Penang Road. There is a taxi stand just opposite the hotel. A supermarket GAMA just 5 mins walk away; Komtar is just by the side of the hotel - you can take the free bus to the Clan Jetties. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susantN8524LZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJenPenang, General Manager at Hotel Jen Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

Dear susantN8524LZ,

Thank you for taking time to pen such a nice review.

It is always our intention to have guest carry with them, a delightful memory of their stay experience. On this note, we are so pleased to know that you and your family have enjoyed the stay. Your happy description of us and the nice comments of our hotel are so much appreciated.

We're looking forward to seeing you again and to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

This hotel had a refit a couple of years ago and it still feels new. A young energetic staff working tirelessly to make us comfortable. The rooms are gorgeously modern and service staff keep them beautiful on a daily basis. Ask for/book access to the club lounge, giving you breakfast, all day refreshments and evening drinks & food 5.30 pm. - 7.30 pm.
The hotel is in central Georgetown with 15 min stroll to the best restaurants or street food you could wish for. We’ve got two more days before moving on and will be sad to leave..
Don’t think twice about Hotel Jen

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank barnacledaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJenPenang, General Manager at Hotel Jen Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2019

Dear barnacledaisy,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

We very much appreciate the full marks for your stay satisfaction. Needless to say, we love it that you enjoyed yourself and to know that our newly renovated room was a great getaway. Our Club room is certainly a great choice and we are so glad that you have enjoyed yourself.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon for yet another wonderful stay.

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

Staying in Jen Hotel in Feb 2019, Checke in late at 3pm but room not ready.Came back an hour to claim the room key. Suprised that the management sent a surprise gift to apologise.
Good of the hotel to do so, that is HOSPITALITY in capital.
So far the stay was pleasant. Only complaint is that becos I made the booking thru booking.com, Shangrila does not want to credir any points to my Golden Circle membership.
This discourages loyalty.
I just want to register that I am loyal Shangrila member, without, ant acknowledgement, there will be no record of my stay

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nobbyr2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJenPenang, General Manager at Hotel Jen Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2019

Dear nobbyr2015,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

We are glad to know you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Jen Penang and loved the hospitality rendered by our friendly team members. In regards to the Golden Circle Members benefits, we always encourage our guest to book directly with us in order to enjoy privileges and level of recognition of the membership.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019 via mobile

It was a getaway stay before we met up with our entire family. Check out abit slow but its fine cause the guests had tons of questions.

Overall the breakfast and services were AWESOME! Sad that we didnt stay longer

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJenPenang, General Manager at Hotel Jen Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Dear Karen J S,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

We are simply glad to know you had an awesome stay at Hotel Jen Penang. Thank you for the nice words, and it will be my pleasure to share these with our team who will be only too glad to know they have delighted you with their service. Looking forward to welcoming you back for yet another great stay.

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews