We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay in Penang”
Review of Red Inn Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Inn Cabana
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

We paid for the double room, checked in...and checked right away out!!
The rooms are not at all as shown on the pictures. The pictures show another hotel... Instead, the room had a disgusting carpet floor and molding walls.
Don't stay there, there are better and cleaner options for this money.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile


-Extremely dirty: Everything is old and dirty, from the garden, the lounge to the rooms, including bathrooms and toilets, totally not up to the standard shown in their photos.
-Terrible smell: it smelt like someone peeing everwhere.
-Extremely noisy: It was like living in  the open air where all sounds were just like right next to your ears. Very loud music from restaurant next door until 2am. Intruding sounds from many other rooms (the guests next to my room talked loudly from 3am till late morning). Annoying foodsteps on poor quality wooden floor. Roaming vehicles on the road.
-Poor facilitates: There's nothing in the room except for a bed, a very old air conditioner  and two drawers.
-Pay fully on entrance & no refund policy: I booked two nights and paid fullly on entrance. When I saw my room, my holiday mood was totally destroyed. I stayed for one night with most of the time on the street to avoid spending time at the hotel. In that evening, I booked another hotel without getting back one day pay from Red Inn Canaba (I preffered spending a lot more money just to leave this place). In the night at Red Inn, I wore long clothes and turned off the air con to avoid skin contact with the bed and blanket.
-They had friendly staff but this doesn't make up for the bad property.
MY MISTAKE was booking just by looking at the PHOTOS, which do not reflect reality in this case, WITHOUT READING REVIEWS.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank nhu_an_nguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

This etablissement is clean, Room with 4 beds for 15 MR only with free big locker and really comfortable matresses.
No enough plugs (only 2 for 4 people), Wifi really poor!!
Huge lounge, with sofa, basic breakfast.

City center, really easy to get everywhere you want.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 0rion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Somewhere between the two, it had the potential but lacked the craic, making it just a bit boring and lifeless. It's not like the photos, the breakfast is basic just toast and tea, and a few mosquitos about.
On the plus side, it is above a chocolate museum. However, there is a terrible, loud karaoke bar next door so you drift to sleep listening to classic pop songs being butchered.
For a similar price I'd rather have got a en suite room elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Near city center & comfortable place to stay...same building with chocolate & coffee museum...parking available with rate of rm5/day...for those who are looking rooms with private bathroom, it's available with limited no...

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dyla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 km away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#5 of 119 in George Town
225 reviews
0.5 km away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#4 of 119 in George Town
211 reviews
0.6 km away
Red Inn Court
Red Inn Court
#17 of 119 in George Town
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
House of Journey
House of Journey
#7 of 119 in George Town
199 reviews
0.4 km away
TIDO @ Penang
TIDO @ Penang
#26 of 119 in George Town
30 reviews
0.5 km away
100 Cintra Street
100 Cintra Street
#43 of 119 in George Town
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Inn Cabana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Inn Cabana

Address: 22 Lebuh Leith, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 119 Speciality Lodging in George Town
Price Range: ₹ 778 - ₹ 1,622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Inn Cabana 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guesthouse features 19 rooms with 2 chill out areas. Where there is choice of varieties of private room types and Dormitory rooms. Red Inn Cabana is a warm and friendly, that welcomes travelers from all over the world. We have a wealth of experience in the industry and know what travelers value and need during their stay.Guest can relax in our courtyard or catch up with friends and family over the internet. Wi-Fi access is also available throughout the property. (FREE OF CHARGE)Trips and tours can also be booked at our reception, so don't be afraid to ask.Red Inn Cabana has various private room types are: single, double, twin and triple, and dormitory of 2 beds, 4 beds, 6 beds and 8 beds with shared or attached bathrooms that can accommodate a total of 70 people.Bed sheets and linen are provided and there is a choice of low and high budget for roomsAir-Conditioning rooms are available for your choosing.Bathrooms comes with 24hrs hot showers. Red Inn Cabana is located in the heart of Penang Island. We are 15 minutes walk from Penang Port Pengkalan Weld George Town. Bus stops at Lebuh Chulia that need 7 minutes walk to our Red Inn Cabana.If you like shopping then you can go along Jalan Penang or even Lebuh Chulia, were you can find and also taste a lot of different foods (Chinese,Indian,Malay and Peranakan)and merchandise.Georgetown also has a briliant nightlife and there are a whole host of clubs and late night bars where you can go out and party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Red Inn Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Inn Cabana Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing