We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiger Rock: Rustic Jungle Romance”
Review of Tiger Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pangkor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tiger Rock
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I treated ourselves to 3 nights at Tiger Rock on Pangkor Island in January 2012, sans enfants thanks to grandparents. Having read in the Malaysia expat magazine that Tiger Rock won best boutique and best eco-resort categories, we were definitely not disappointed. Tiger Rock is an extremely special place to unwind, connect, spoil, contemplate and explore, a kind of rustic, luxurious, 'Swiss Family Robinson' meets fine dining jungle experience.

We drove from Kuala Lumpur up the northwest side of the Malaysian peninsula to Lumut, leaving early in the morning, about a 3.5 hour drive depending on the palm oil trucks. When we reached Lumut we parked the car undercover in a car park which cost about 10MYR per day and rang Mohan, the wonderful manager of Tiger Rock, to let him know which ferry we were catching (2 or 3 run each day). After about an hour on the ferry, we were met at the Pangkor jetty by Tiger Rock's driver and after a short drive around the fishing village edges of Pangkor island, turned right at the old Dutch Fort to climb behind it up a steep driveway into what looked like pure jungle.

Not quite pure jungle. Tucked against the jungle slopes about a kilometre back from the sea, Tiger Rock is the former family home of Rebecca and David Wilkinson (who also own a boutique guesthouse in Penang called China Tiger, a yacht for hire in Indonesia called Tiger Blue, and who were instrumental in establishing the brilliant Tropical Spice Gardens & Cooking School in Penang). A small cluster of discretely spaced wooden Malay bungalow buildings spread up the slope, most with verandahs and rustic furnishings (aircon, fans and ensuites of course). The thatched open air kitchen and dining pavilion nestles around a to-die-for infinity pool, and the charming communal living bungalow with games and books is situated a little further up the hill. The site is steep with stepped paths made of rock and wood, which could provide some challenges if you are mobility impaired or have young children.

What really makes Tiger Rock so special, apart from its unique setting, gardens, tranquil ambiance and simple but divine cuisine, is the service provided by Mohan, his wife Pavanni and his small team. They have a family approach to running Tiger Rock and nothing is too much trouble, it was a privilege to have them look after us. Pavanni's cooking is superb - fresh, alive with spices, with lots of seafood - and we went to the markets one morning to help her choose dinner. We also hired a small boat for an afternoon to drop a line in further around the island, explored the Dutch Fort, the Pangkor Island Chinese and Hindu temples, the traditional boat building, the fish drying factories, and frolicked on the beach with a picnic for a few hours one afternoon. Mohan organized all this for us, and was also happy to serve us beer or wine provided by Tiger Rock, or to chill the champagne we brought with us.

Pangkor Laut, the tiny atoll off Pangkor Island, might provide Malaysian 6 star resort-type luxury, but Tiger Rock on Pangkor Island gives you the local flavours of luxurious rustic romance which is very, very hard to beat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Larissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

The resort is small and the Studio was very private and quiet. Creatively furnished and you can spent a long time just enjoying all there is to see. Open the doors in the morning and you are directly connected to the jungle. The pool is excellent with very comfortable seating area. But best of all is the team who look after you from the moment you set foot on the island. Hospitality with a big capital H! Immediately on arrival we were treated to an excellent lunch and this was only the starter.

Do not expect 5* luxury at this place but do expect to gets all the things a five star resort cannot possibly offer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutch1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Many superlatives have already been used to describe Tiger Rock and I agree with them all and some! What a wonderful magical place, made even more special by Mohan, Bavani, Paarthi and Seela and their attentive and warm hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble and so many thoughtful and unexpected touches, from water and towels for the beach, to cooling drinks magically appearing by the pool and even a bag of sandwiches and water for the long trip after our stay. This is not a conventional hotel or resort - it's so much more and so much better. My only reluctance in writing this review is that I encourage too many people to go, so when I want to go back it will be fully booked!! But it would be too selfish not to share this magical place and wonderful people.

Room Tip: They're all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We have been to Tiger Rock several times and, as always, the resort Team there made our recent stay a perfect and relaxing holiday again. The Manager, Mohan, organises every aspect of the stay with happy and amazing efficiency, while his wife Bavanni presents outstanding meals using fresh local produce. Tiger Rock is a unique and peaceful resort that is a gem hidden in beautiful jungle surroundings.

Room Tip: There is a choice of staying either at the main house to enjoy typical Malaysian style living near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Many, many congratulations to Mohan, Bavanni and the team for the Daily Telegraph Best Hotels award. A truly deserved award. We were sorry to leave this beautiful and tranquil hideaway and its delightful hosts. And the food we enjoyed here was by far the best we tasted during our 25 day journey around Malaysia. I wish we could have stayed longer. See you again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
1.8 km away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
3.4 km away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
3.0 km away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
4.7 km away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
363 reviews
4.5 km away
Joe Fisherman Inn
Joe Fisherman Inn
#2 of 25 in Pulau Pangkor
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Rock? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Rock

Address: WD.2 Pangkor, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pangkor
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiger Rock 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Rock is about sustainable tourism which includes participation of the local Pangkor Island community, preserving the natural environment and cultural way of life as well as ensuring mutual respect and benefits to all parties involved. This commitment is reflected in every aspect of Tiger Rock, from the way it is designed and built, to how it is managed by local islanders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiger Rock Hotel Pangkor
Tiger Rock Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing