We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute luxury”
Review of Tiger Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pangkor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tiger Rock
Reviewed 28 December 2011

After traveling across Malaysia/Thailand, our last stop at Tiger Rock was 'the icing on the cake' and definitely a highlight of the trip. From day one we were welcomed with open arms by Mohan and his team, and couldn't have been made to feel more at home in this jungle paradise. Memories of our time spent here will remain with us, in particular, the culinary delights we experienced from Mohan and his team.

Looking back longingly over the photo's and we hope to return soon. Thanks again, Chris and Sophie

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Tiger Rock
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

If you are looking for a short break to get away from it all and be well and truly looked after then TIger Rock is the place for you. It's like having all the comforts of home, with Mohan and his team on hand for anything you might need. The food is amazinf, and ample, we were glad for the 'stepped' environment to keep us fit while we were there. Our 1 year old and 3 year old were catered for excellently, with baby monitors allowing us parents a candlelit dinner in the evenings. We really hope to return!

Room Tip: The studio room is very high up but if your kids are energetic adn like exploring its perfect.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Myself and my sisters were visiting Malaysia from Scotland and spent three nights at Tiger Rock. From the minute our wonderful host Mohan collected us from the ferry terminal our fantastic adventure began! We had a wonderful welcome into this visually stunning and unique jungle retreat. The property is set on a jungle hilltop, with the main communal area and stunning infinity pool located towards the foot of the property. The residences are very clean and brought to life with stylish and bright decor/artwork. The jungle surrounds just take your breath away - you are surrounded by some amazing views and exciting wildlife.

One of the highlights has to be the fantastic hospitality we received from Mohan and his small team. They really could not do enough for us and catered to our every need. The home cooking was very very tasty indeed and they provided excellent vegetarian options for myself and one of my sisters. Mohan is also an exceptional cocktail maker! Better than you could ever buy in a bar!

The island too provides a unique insight into Malaysian life and Mohan happily took us on a brief tour of the island during our stay.

Overall, a fantastic and very unique experience. Can't wait to go back someday.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Tiger Rock is located on the south side of Pangkor island. There are 8 rooms altogether and ours opened right out into the forest at the back. Man-made structures and nature blended right into each other and the rooms are tastefully done with high ceilings and good ventilation. We went to bed in absolute darkness amidst jungle sounds and woke up at dawn to the chorus of birds resonating throughout the place. The common area by the pool is cozy with a clean pool offering gorgeous views of the lush surrounding greenery. Meal times are happy events here - hearty portions of home-cook fare of the highest standards, peppered with Mohan and his team's cheerful company ending on a high note with their special dessert and spice tea - there won't be a second you will find yourself with a half empty stomach! The library is built on stilts and has a selection of books, CDs and all kinds of knick knacks. We wanted to go down to the beach and were sent there (and picked up later) with a picnic basket complete with towels, a spread and bottles of ice cold water.
Room rates are on the expensive side but one cannot ask for a better host who made us felt at home right away! Berjaya Air has recently re-opened the Subang-Pangkor route and we were more than happy to be able to avoid the traffic from Kuala Lumpur to Lumut. Come here to be inspired, to rejuvenate and to fall in love with nature!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My friend visited from singapore and after reading the wonderful reviews, we wanted to check out Tiger Rock. We were so amazed at this piece of paradise, tucked away in hilly forest. The big plantation style main house was full of memorabilia of the owners, tastefully decorated with personal artwork. Our ensuite bedroom was filled with beautiful handicraft in every corner. We were pampered with the kind but unobtrusive hospitality of Mohan and his team. The food of fresh local produce was excellently cooked. The natural beauty and fauna of the jungle was awesome. We definitely will come back again, for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lokeyeeheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
1.8 km away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
3.4 km away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
1.9 km away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Pangkor Laut Resort
4.7 km away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
362 reviews
0.0 km away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Rock? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Rock

Address: WD.2 Pangkor, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pangkor
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiger Rock 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Rock is about sustainable tourism which includes participation of the local Pangkor Island community, preserving the natural environment and cultural way of life as well as ensuring mutual respect and benefits to all parties involved. This commitment is reflected in every aspect of Tiger Rock, from the way it is designed and built, to how it is managed by local islanders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiger Rock Hotel Pangkor
Tiger Rock Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing