We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, average management.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anjungan Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Pangkor
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice property, average management.”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

In a recent family vacation in Pangkor, we spent a night at a 4-person suite with a loft. We paid RM320, or about USD100, I'd consider it a pretty good deal. My brother and his wife also booked a separate room.

The property is only a few years old, pretty new. It's located about 15 minutes from the town center. There's a cafe on site and plenty of food vendors outside. The beach is only a few steps across the street. Location-wise it is neat if you are looking for a more secluded location outside of the hustle and bustle of a town. Here a tip: if you want more seclusion, walk up north along the street over a small hill, you will find a even better beach with clearer water. Or just ask for direction to Daddy's cafe. :)

The hotel appeared to be family-owned. From the outside, as others have said, appeared neat. But the rooms could use some TLC. First off, the blades of the in-room AC unit were broken and we could not direct the air up towards the loft (the loft was hot during the day!). The bathroom was dimmy and the shelf were wobbly, and the sink was leaky. Each time we used the sink, our feet would be soaked. Nonetheless, they fixed the problem almost immediately after being told of the issue.

I love the loft. The wooden floor was sturdy and classy. Now, if they could install a second AC unit there because it is hot during the day!

Staff was friendly. One thing I don't understand is why the pool area is only opened at 10 am? Dear mister, you have a nice pool, allow us to use it more!! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    133
    91
    37
    26
See reviews for
127
119
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Anjungan is the best in the village, but they are charging western prices and the rooms don't correspond with these prices. The buildings, the pool, reception area, gardens are all well looked after, not so the rooms. Our room was covered in dust, the self above the sink wasn't properly connected to the wall, the shower holder was also loose. They changed the towels every day, the bed linen once a week, we stayed a week, the room was only sweept but never moped. I don't think they ever cleaned the bathroom. Even the walls in the room were dirty. It's a shame as it could be fantastic. My kids loved the pool and so did we, it is next to stalls, shops, hawkers, resturants and of course the beach. The only thing which let Anjungan down is the dirty rooms. We loved Pankor, but I don't think we would go back just because of the dirty rooms. If we had paid backpacker prices, yes fine, but we paid a hotel room rate and for this I expect a clean room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This was my first trip to Pangkor with my family. The family room that we stayed for 3D2N was spacious, with1 king bed & 2 single beds - this was very comfortable. Located at the third floor, it's facing the swimming pool and Teluk Nipah beach which is across the road. We liked the room, the only complaint was the bathroom lamp was spoilt and was not repaired until the day we checked out although we'd told the reception twice. None from the houskeeping came to clean our room, not even to empty the dustbin or sweep the floor.

This incident made me agreed with Mr, Hazmanhalid who felt the management & the staff were biased if you're local guests. During my stay (22-24 Dec 2011), most of the guests were from Europe. It was very obvious that the staff paid more attention to the foreign guests.The man who managed the hotel prefered to entertain them. Chatting and doing this and that for the Mat Salleh. And this man didn't even bother to thank us upon our check-out and not even apologize for not repairing my bathroom lamp. All that he said was - oh my technician tak betulkan ya?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WedaniDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stay there on 1 Dec 2011. The hotel looks similar to the photo show in the website, only that the hotel is a bit old compare to the photo. The furniture and the bathroom looks a bit old, but still decent, clean and functioning well. Maybe it is about time the hotel do some re-furbish. Only issue is, don't stay at the family room because the room is for 4 person but only 1 toilet. So quiet some time wasted on waiting. Overall, the hotel is alright and worth going.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boon-Han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Lovely place.... service is friendly and its the nicest looking place on the entire island!!!

Rooms are affordable and clean
Make sure to ask for a balcony over looking the pool

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SugaFunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
3.1 km away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
6.9 km away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
1.7 km away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
0.0 km away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
3.9 km away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anjungan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjungan Beach Resort

Property: Anjungan Beach Resort
Address: 6610 Nipah Bay | Pangkor Island, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia (Formerly Anjungan Beach Resort & Spa)
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pangkor
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pangkor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,584 - ₹ 4,263
Hotel Class:3 star — Anjungan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anjungan Beach Resort is a beach retreat strategically located between two of Pangkor’s best and popular beaches, Nipah Bay and Coral Beach. Nipah Bay is just across the road while Coral Beach is only a few minutes walk away. Giam Island, a popular snorkeling location is situated only a few hundred meters from the beach in front of the resort. Blending modern and tropical design, the resort is meant to provide guests a perfect island getaway that will draw you into an inviting and memorable experience. Come and experience it for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Anjungan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anjungan Beach Hotel Pangkor
Anjungan Beach Resort And Spa
Anjungan Beach Resort Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing