We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The opposite experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss-Court Holiday Apartments Damai Laut
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Lumut
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The opposite experience”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I received a voucher for a free 2 nights stay here. When the time came to use the voucher I read the reviews here and regretted taking the voucher . The journey to the hotel was filled with apprehension.

The journey upon leaving the main road and entering the road going to the resort/apartment was not encouraging. There was no one on the road. It was deserted and the first half of the journey was through a mangrove forest at high tide. The water was almost spilling onto the road. The remaining part of the journey was through a palm oil plantation of which the road was pretty bad as it was being upgraded.

Upon arrival what a surprise it was and quite the opposite of what other people reviewed.

We stayed in Block B. The room was clean. The bed sheets were clean. Kitchen utensils were present. The toilet was newish and modern and better than some other 4 star hotels in Malaysia. The sofa was nice.

Not a single fly. We only say one monkey throughout our stay. Though it the area was smack in the middle of nowhere we did not received any uninvited reptiles of the sort.

Breakfast was not provided and as far as we know there were no shuttle service provided so this place is only for those with means of self-transportation. It is a very very quite place.

Only problem we faced was finding a place to eat besides the restaurant at Damai Laut Resort (which is a few minutes drive away - definitely not walking distance). Getting to the main road took us about 15 min. The closest choice for food is one does not mine roadside stalls is one by the main road or another one at Teluk Senangin. Other than that you're looking at Lumut which is a good 30 min drive away. And driving at night is pretty scary as there are no road lights on the road after leaving the resort guardhouse up till the main road.

Room Tip: Worthwhile checking if some blocks have been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Aslan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
20
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

What an unpleasant place. It is like a dump. The place is dirty and rundown. Monkey roaming around freely. The plumbing doesn't work. A place left to rot.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ajernih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lumut hotels

johor,malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

we stay 4d3n after cny. the room, sauna, and pool is much nicer. the hotel is ok but service very bad. receptionist keep promiss when you call for service, but until evening the person not come to your room.your room become rubbish store if you not self sennd out the rubbish.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gerbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We had good memories when staying in Swiss Garden Golf Resort Damai Laut 2 years ago. Thus this Chinese New Year, we were thinking to try staying in this Apartment. But it was a terrible experience for us!

When we first stepped into the apartment, to our horror, there were a lot of flies occupying the whole apartment, and they were everywhere!! There were more than 100 in a space less than 1000 sq ft!! The apartment is not bad, because it has nice view. But it is not maintained properly!!

This is very intolerable! We were very surprised as it says that it is 3-4 star but there is no pillow for 1 of the bed.

The bed sheet is dirty with yellow stain. The sofa is too old, got mites!

We were told that there will be some kitchen utensils. We asked from the staff from the 1st day we stayed there. But until the day we checked out (we were there 3d2n) - never delivered to us.

The only thing to make us happier there is the friendly staff and the nice view.

We had stayed in many hostels/hotels before all over the world and never had this experience even in a small hostel in some other countries in SEA.

  • Disliked — FLIES!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle5677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumut
6.9 km away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
8.6 km away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
9.2 km away
Hotel Sfera
Hotel Sfera
#3 of 19 in Lumut
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Mornington Hotel Bukit Permata Lumut
2.1 km away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
10.6 km away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Court Holiday Apartments Damai Laut? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Court Holiday Apartments Damai Laut

Property: Swiss-Court Holiday Apartments Damai Laut
Address: Swiss Court Holiday Apartments Jalan Damai Laut, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Lumut
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,954 - ₹ 6,380
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Swiss-Court Holiday Apartments Damai Laut Hotel Lumut
Swiss-Court Holiday Apartments Damai Laut Lumut, Perak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing