We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel and it is centrally located.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel and it is centrally located.”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a fairly new hotel, opened late to early this year. Check in was good and speedy and staff is always friendly. I have stayed here now 3 times in the deluxe room and the rooms are ok. Surprisingly for the age of the hotel you can see signs of wear and tear in the rooms (i.e. towel racks hanging off the wall, mould on the shower base, dirty carpets). The sad part about this hotel is you can always see empty plates of food ordered for room service (with leftovers) to sit outside the room for 2 days before it gets cleared. If the management is not careful, I can see this hotel gets run down very quickly but before it happens I am happy to stay here. The deluxe rooms are about MYR 245 a night which I find quite reasonable. This is still by far a much much better hotel that the Heritage, Impiana and Excelsior in Ipoh. Overall it is "still" one of the best hotels in Ipoh and I am happy to keep coming back until it gets run down and it starts looking old and tired like the rest of the hotels in Ipoh.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fasted09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    103
    128
    54
    35
See reviews for
142
38
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Being Muslim, check-in with breakfast (sahur) included. Breakfasting manu was OK, but sahur manu are 100% recycle from 12hr previous breakfasting manu. Worse, 1 manu served; were a mixed of over-cooked vege, beef, squid, prawn; really wish; responsible cook can name this manu?
Stayed at this hotel 2times, rooms are good, but the contractors who fixed the bathroom fitting really done a bad job.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Brought by the same people who honed their hotelry skills (for the past 10-12 years or so) at Hill City (now under renovation), this newest addition to Ipoh is such a relief - finally a *more than decent* full-facilty hotel arrives in "the town that tin built" (hey I'm Ipoh born&bred) but there's definitely still room for improvement.

We were here for a high school reunion which was also held at the hotel (btw, GREAT banqueting facilities and VERY COMMENDABLE food served to more than 1000 pax), so staying here was the logical and convenient choice. Almost brand new, smelt like the paint just dried (esp. in the basement car park).

They must have reassigned the reception staff from the "other" older hotel. Although they all appeared to be fairly senior, most had a pretty blasé jaded attitude - no greeting, no smile, no joy, no enthusiasm - time for some RE-TRAINING i should think.

Rooms are modestly furnished and maintained. At this early stage, everything works, seems alright and quite spotless. A/C smells fresh, carpet is odorless and stain-free, towels still fluffy and white, etc. Housekeeping lies in the hands of foreign workers and we all know how that can easily slip if not monitored closely.

We didn't use the other facilities so no comment about the pool or the 4th floor coffee house where breakfast was served. The only major deficiency which requires immediate rectification is probably the lift system (mentioned by other reviewers as well). They are just TOO SLOW *for big city folk?* Having said that the glass lifts overlooking the river is a nice touch.

Would I go back? Oh Yes - if they maintain the standards.

Impressive (by Ipoh standards) are the touch screen controls for the lights and A/C.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECKLKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Took a 2 bedroom apartment. Apartment itself was ok. Clean, well furnished with LCD TVs, good A/C, clean fridge & we kinda like it....until we found out that they don't supply tea/coffee for the apartment. They do supply them at the hotel side though.

Not to worry, we'll get them from a shop nearby...but no shops within walking distance. That would be our only grouse.

All in, pretty good just for sleeping at the end of a working day. Hmmm...oh, the phone in our unit does not have a one dial button to reception/housekeeping/etc and there wasn't a number to call either. So had to use a mobile to call the hotel and get connected to housekeeping. To their credit, they did ask to hang up & called back immediately on the unit's phone. So we were pleased with that.

Sleep wise, woke up refreshed and that's a plus point. Could have provide more pillows though, although to be fair, we didn't ask for extras coz we plain forgot until past midnight.

We enjoyed ourselves here, basic as it was.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, July 13-15 recently. 2-room apartment unit 740

My review will be based on the apartment unit and not the hotel unit proper which seems more up-class in terms of finishing and furnishing, however both apartments and hotel guests share the same facilities

This hotel became the official hotel for a recent major cycling event with discounted rates for participants and convenience of the start-finish point being in front of the building sealed the deal for us as the choice.

Booking was hassle-free via phone and no problems there; i booked about 2+ months in advance

The hotel was very new and impressive as we approach the lobby and check-in was swift and smooth too

Parking spots were adequate as they also have 2 storey of basement car parks

The apartment units seemed pretty bare with uncarpeted floors. Kitchenette not well equipped with utensils (only 2 cups and 2 glasses available) , no complimentary coffee/tea sachets as usually found

The 2-room unit was rather spacious and i would say alright for a short 2 nights stay. comfy bed and pillows in both rooms... furniture seems rather cheap and not the lasting durable type

Main grouse was the elevators... only 3 elevators serving 20 floors of apartment units during a peak full-house period was simply frustrating.... many times had to take the stairs up/down from the ground floor to my 7th floor unit

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG5554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
1.5 km away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
564 reviews
10.1 km away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
1.5 km away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#3 of 63 in Ipoh
619 reviews
0.9 km away
Tower Regency Hotel
Tower Regency Hotel
#44 of 63 in Ipoh
248 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#14 of 63 in Ipoh
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
Address: Jalan Lim Bo Seng, Ipoh 30000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,246 - ₹ 4,556
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched on 1st January 2012, Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suite is one of the latest luxury destinations for holiday retreats in Ipoh. It is by far the largest hotel in Ipoh. Strategically located in the centre of Ipoh city, it lies elegantly along the Kinta River and runs parallel with Jalan Lim Bo Seng. It is owned by the Morubina Group of Companies which is also the owner of Hillcity Hotel & Condo Ipoh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing