We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveller rating
758
151
17
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
758
151
17
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meditation cave crystal cave water villa jeff's cellar garden villa private pool jungle walk dr fish pomelo restaurant hot springs fish spa wine cellar geothermal water dipping pots dipping pool ice bath spa treatments
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 938 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We took the celebrate love package for 3 days 2 nights including dinners and one hour aromatherapy massage.

Positive points:
The hotel itself, staff and location.

Negative points:
1. Way too overpriced for what you get.
2. Complimentary 15 minutes detox massage was actually staying in a hot & dry room for 15 minutes. Not worth your time.
3. Dr Fish - we were wondering if the fish really cleaning up dead skin. Was a disappointment
4. Dinner - while the restaurant looks impressive, dinner was a truly bad experience. We did not expect a French style dining in a Malaysian resort. Drinks were not included in the dinner but was not mentioned anywhere in the package.
5. Breakfast - many choices however their bread were hard like a rock. We tried local delicacy nasi lemak but the rice were not well cooked.
6. Steam cave - not hot enough
7. Crystal cave - we had a feeling that the crystals were glued at the cave rocks. Not impressive.
8. Jungle walk - merely 600 meter walk to the Lost world of Tambun, the water theme park next to the resort. We were not told that we cannot walk back the same way and need to wait for the hotel transport to pick us up.
Overall the resort was carefully designed and maintained however the management should step up the extra services that they offered to match the expensive price tag.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tristanisobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondkfm, Director of Operations at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear tristanisobel,

Thank you for sharing your feed back in our Trip advisor page.

We are sorry to hear that you had mixed feelings on your recent stay. Understood that you had brought up 3 points upon your departure which we had noted and resolved the issues, however we just learnt the rest after your review today.

We are trying to establish a contact with your good self as we speak and hopefully we can resolve it in another platform.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Raymond Koh
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Booked a room for 3D2N to celebrate my dad's birthday, didn't book a package nor reserve a table at their cave restaurant thus was disappointed that on my dad's birthday we did not get a table in the cave. They only had 7 tables available each night for reservation, so even after Ida, Momo and team efforts, I didn't manage to reserve a table for us. I recommend that you book in advance your dining arrangements before arrival to avoid any disappointment. They celebrated my dad's birthday by sending a cake and a bottle of wine to our room at night which was a very kind gesture from Raymond and team.

The nature trail was a wonderful walk with lots of greenery along the way, highly recommend it to anybody who want to be closer to nature.

Everything was great plus we would to give some feedback for improvement:
1) The Bose sound system in the room is pretty old and needs an upgrade to accommodate bluetooth technology to play our own music.
2) The hotspring tub inside the room varies in temperature and is lukewarm at best (high flow rate of the spring water might be needed to the room's pool for higher teamperature), the best temperature for the hotspring is still the public pods which has amazing view of the mountains and forest.
3) Their Ice Dipping Pool isn't cold, despite pouring 2 buckets of ice, the ice melted quickly cooling the water by a little, not enough to be called Ice Dipping Pool. Suggest to change the pool name or create a system to keep the water ice cold. Cold and Hot Dipping has tremendous health benefits hopefully next time I go there it's going to available.
4) During checkout, we called for the buggy and waited for a long time. My dad decided to head to the reception, only then a personnel was arrange to our villa. Communication breakdown happens, hope this does not happen often. We checked out on a Sunday, it's understandable that the team is busy, perhaps more staff can be on standby for that day to ease the bottleneck?

Raymond and team did a great job in handling our concerns. We will be back here again soon and hopefully by then some improvements will have been made. Banjaran is really a unique resort and it's worth coming back again.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Shirllin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afiqqah_r, Executive Assistant at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Shirllin C,

Salam sejahtera from The Banjaran !

Thank you for sharing your feedback in our Trip Advisor page.

We are sorry to hear that you had disappointed on your recent stay. Also, we noted on the issue that been highlighted and we will look into it.

We look forward to welcome you back to our retreat in the future, perhaps you may consider to visit Jeff's Cellar as an excuse to come back.

Thank you.


Best regards,

Afiqqah Radzi
Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We just visited Banjaran again last March, stayed in the new lake villa for 2 nights, and had enjoyed our time surrounded by courteous, attentive and charming hotel crew of Banjaran Hotspring. We did come with expectation, and they have impressed us no less than our previous visit back in 2013.

Banjaran Hotspring deserves a 5 star review, as they really did well in almost every category that one can think of for a 5 star luxury hotel. They did well in 2013, they did even better in 2018.

Of all, we are very grateful to the reservation team lead by Cheryl, as they exhibit the highest commitment in helping us when our initial plan of stay did not come to fruition due to health issue. We had to cancel our trip 12 hours before departure, on the Boxing day in the Christmas holiday peak season, and the team offered us help and rescheduled our booking without any hesitation by midnight of the same day.

The new Lake Villa is well designed. We love the modern composure within the room, and some amenities inside the room such as a very high quality Bose speaker (linked very well with iPhone), free candies, grab bars for the bathroom and pools, free smartphone etc, which in our opinion, are very thoughtful, useful, functional, aside being good looking in the background. Of course, I must say that we sort of missing the Garden Villa as well, it was an equally 5 star room back in 2013.

The beautiful surrounding of the hotel is still wonderful. Jeff Cellar still stood grandiose and majestically welcoming drinkers. That's still one of my favourite lime stone cave bar, probably the one and only in the whole world.

We had all our dining in the Pamelo during the stay, the food were generally good, and the encounters were very pleasant. We were constantly greeted by operation manager Raymond, chef Boon and his restaurant crew, who were very concern about delivering the best of the best from their hotel.

All in all, it is bittersweet that we love the current Banjaran, but missing the old one too, like the wooden plank platform in front of the geothermal lake instead of the concrete and marble tiles, the blossomed water lily, the less crowded Banjaran in 2013, the forest, the choice of music etc. Perhaps changes are sometimes inevitable for more sustainable operations. But for many first time visitor to this gem in Ipoh, rest assured to be impressed by the place and person.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 991nbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afiqqah_r, Executive Assistant at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear 991nbk,

Salam sejahtera from The Banjaran !

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a wonderful review.

We are delighted to know that you come back to visit us again after 5 years.

Jeff's Cellar indeed is a magnificent place, you can find only in Banjaran.

Thank you again for all the positive comments that you mentioned.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back to our Retreat in the near future and we will ensure that we will continue deliver a good hospitality for your next vacation.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Afiqqah Radzi
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The short review is SUPERB..... but this place deserves more than a short review.

This is our 3rd visits and as per previous stays, it was beyond reproach. Everything about this place is simply superb. Again, we booked ourselves into the Garden Villa and we requested the same villa as per before and the request was easily met by the Retreat.

Reservation was done direct through the hotel website and as before was straight forward. The stay was from 26 March for a 3 nights stay.

On arrival we were met and greeted by familiar faces, Louie and Hariz, who remembered us from our last stay more than a year before. Louie attended to us and after the check in formality took us to our Villa while explaining to us the facilities of the Retreat. Some things have changed since our last visit, among them are the addition of Lakeview Villa and Sweet Spot. Sweet Spot is a small place among the garden by the lake that provides free refreshments like ice creams and cold drinks, to guests. A nice gesture that do not cost much to the hotel yet leave a lasting impression on the guest.

The villa was as before, superb. A plate of chocolates were waiting for us in the villa together with a fruit basket and a welcome back note from Mr Raymond Koh, the hotel Director of Operations. A pillow menu with assortment of pillows are a nice touch. We settled for a foam pillow and a buckwheat pillow. I will not dwell too much on the villa's amenities since I've reviewed the villa in my previous reviews.

What make this place special are the people. The staff might not be as friendly or accomodating as those in another superb place like the famous Pangkor Laut Resort but the staff here are good in their own special way. Louie, our butler, is beyond exceptional in his duties. He offered to took us to see the new Lakeview Villa and the Water Villa and we took up on his offer on one of the day. He presented us 2 Banjaran Retreat caps with our initials printed on the cap as a souvenir. On one of the day, we had a minor problem with the swimming pool in our villa and Louie felt responsible for that and presented us with a complimentary bottle of carbonated grape juice for our minor inconvenience eventhough it was not really him who was at fault. Thank you, Louie. Vitthia at Pomelo Restaurant recognized us the moment we step into the restaurant for dinner. Din at the restaurant was very courteous and efficient. The cheese cake recoomended by Din was to die for! Of note, on previous visits I mentioned that the service at Pomelo Restaurant was a bit slow but this time around there was no such problem. The service timing was just nice. The menu was also revised with more choices made available and I wished I had more time to try everything on the menu. Well, a reason to come back. In short, the food were excellent.

Check out was straight forward. Shahril assisted us with our luggage. As a parting gift, we were presented with a small jar of cookies and a miniature "labu sayong". Once again, thank you. How I wish that we could stay here longer.

In short, this review is for the people of the Retreat. Thank you to all of you, Louie, Hariz, Din, Vitthia, Shahril, Mr Raymond Koh who came to our table during breakfast after seeing and recognizing us from across the restaurant. Kudos to the stars of the Retreat.

Would we come back? Of course, for the 4th, 5th, 6th and countless time more.

Room Tip: Garden Villa for the space, Lakeview Villa for those on a budget
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adli Izham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afiqqah_r, Executive Assistant at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Adli Izham A,

Salam sejahtera from The Banjaran !

Thank you so much for the great review on our Trip Advisor page.

We are really appreciated your positive comments towards our services provided by our team. We did shared this to all the team, especially to Louie, Hariz, Din, Vitthia, Shahril and Mr Raymond. They were overjoyed.

Our aim is to provide a truly experience and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Yes, please come back again. We will ensure, we will delivery a great hospitality each time.

Thank you.


Best regards,

Afiqqah Radzi
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We stayed for 3 nights in this magical resort in a water villa, very nice villa, has a small pool (although no view on the water, but on the other side gives excellent privacy).

The surroundings are amazing, beautiful nature and gardens, of course the hot springs, caves, birdlife and even a few monkeys around. Raymond and his team did all efforts to make our stay a memorable one, small hick ups are immediately taken care off..

We took massages, although quite expensive, every day and found those of very high quality, this combined with the hot springs around and the ‘sweat’ cave etc makes it all quite unique !

We visited the fun park next door too (was anyway included in the price), probably great fun for children, just ok for a walk through for us.. we visited Ipoh just to have dinner at Lou wong for the famous bean sprout chicken speciality (great), but didn’t see really anything else around that was worth mentioning or visiting.

We also visited a nearby national park, great for birdlife and seeing the heron island !

Food : we had dinner one night at jeff’s cellar, which in all was not bad at all, but did surprise us less then we expected for this price, of course do you pay for the location : a cave.. food in the pomelo on the other side was not at all up to level we expected, less tasty then we’re used from Malaysian cuisine, don’t know why, in fact we found that the Malaysian/asian breakfasts sets were far better then the evening courses..

A negative remark : wines are extremely overpriced, house wines start at 50€/bottle, we know that in Malaysia alcohol is expensive, but this by far the most expensive one on all of our trips in Malaysia..

But in all this resort is unique and very beautiful, we would immediately return for the great service and do recommend this place to people wanting to spoil themselves for a moment !!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afiqqah_r, Executive Assistant at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear yvakat,

Salam sejahtera from The Banjaran !

Thank you for write a wonderful review.

We are delighted that you had a great time at the Retreat. The Banjaran is truly a unique place, you will gain magical experience once u step in here.

Also, we noted on the above issue and we will look into it.

Please come and visit us again, maybe you can have different experience with our Lake villa or Garden Villa for your next vacation.

Thank you.


Best regards,

Afiqqah Radzi
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews