We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Average to good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lost World Of Tambun

Lost World Of Tambun
Ranked #6 of 47 things to do in Ipoh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: So many worlds packed into one, the Lost World of Tambun, is an action-packed, exciting adventure with the most thrilling rides and attractions in Ipoh, Malaysia.A theme park located in the historic town of Ipoh, in the middle of the North-South corridor in Perak; and is set in the natural landscapes of Ipoh, surrounded by exquisitely breath-taking limestone features. Whether it’s a weekend of mayhem oozing with family fun or a burst of eco-adventure that you’re seeking, take it all in as you journey through the attractions of the Lost World of Tambun. Seven (7) main elements make up this world of adventure – the Water Park, the Amusement Park, Lost World Hot Springs and Spa, the Tiger Valley, Lost World Petting Zoo, the Lost World Tin Valley and Lost World Team Adventure Park.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Average to good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Caution!!! As a westerner visiting Ipoh, we made the mistake of wearing bikini's to this waterpark and instantly regretted it. Westerners, if you are going, ensure you are wearing a one piece if not t-shirt and shorts. We were stared at a lot which made us very uncomfortable and some people even took photo's (massively embarassing). Had we known to "cover up" I am sure we would have had a better time.

The water park itself was outdoors and had different areas. The main section is a fake beach with a large lagoon which has a wave machine (not on constant). You can hire inflatable double rings to float about in if you wish. On the fake beach there are sun loungers to use.

There are also the spa/hot springs which was great for a relax. The hot springs certainly are hot, they are different pools with different heat strengths, the hottest one I could only get my foot in for 5 seconds, definitely for the brave! The spa had some treatments which are at an additional cost.

There were 2 slides both that you go on a double ring in. The first is a speed slide and the second is a twisting slide which lands you in a plunge pool. The third ride was a lazy river type where you float around the park in a small stream that runs around the other pools and under bridges.

When you arrive you each get a bracelet which is credited so you dont have to carry money around with you (You have to pay an initial deposit for this which you get back when you return the bracelet). You can top the bracelet up at a kiosk in the park. The credit can be used at the restaurants or stalls within the park, so great if you are a family and you all want to go off in different directions!

There are lockers which you can use and access as many times as you want for your initial fee. They are a little tricky to use but staff are aware of this and are on hand to help!

Initially we thought you had to pay for the double rings to go on any slides but actually you only need to hire the "luxury" ones to use in the main wave pool, next to all the slides there are ones you can use for free.

There is a small petting zoo with some cute and interesting creatures. Worth a look as there is no additional charge and the animals do seem to be looked after (I am not usually a fan of zoo's).

The adventure park was not that great; a carousel, pirate boat and a few stalls which you could try and win a teddy at (additional cost to play). The cave was just that, a small cave you could walk into, not really a feature. There were a couple of cats in a cage and then a tiger bit (open not caged) which was nice to see but they werent up to much!

The restaurants were ok, a good selection of food and not too expensive really.

The surroundings were beautiful, occasionally spotted a few wild monkeys in the trees.

One problem with the park being in the open air is that there were quite a few bugs in the pools. I also got a few stray hairs in between my toes and fingers when in the hot springs which made me cringe and also there is a bit of moss growing in some parts of the least hot hot spring.

I personally dont think I would go back as I have experienced much better water parks, but I imagine for a family with youngsters, you could easily spend the day there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank liggylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    378
    239
    47
    22
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lost world of Tambun theme park and hot water springs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

It may not match the popoular water theme parks like the Sunway lagoon, but the Lost World of Tambun has its own idyllic charm. Its location makes it an ideal getaway from both KL or Penang. If you are planning a day trip, then plan to be there early as you may not be able to cover all the rides if you arrive in the afternoon. If you are with kids, then it will be tough to pull them away from each water attraction so have a look around first and then take the plunge. Infact we werent able to cover most of the non-water attractions like the Tiger valley, petting zoo etc because we could not get the kids out of the water. It is ideal if you can finish all the other attractions and grab a quick lunch before changing into your swimwear. (Did I mention about the awesome pizza we had at the outlet inside the park?)That way you would have covered the entire park, and spend the rest of the day water.

The hot water springs are in a separate section that can be accessed through the water park area or through a separate entrance. It is better to step in a bit later as the weather cools down to truly enjoy the hot water.

We were three families and had 6 kids with us and it was a weekend well spent. We did not stay at the lost world resort (it was a last minute plan and the resort was fully booked). We stayed at the Regalodge which was a bit far from the resort but we did not have any issues in travelling that distance. As we had arrived pretty late, we decided to get tickets only for the hot springs and spent the evening there. We stayed the night at the regalodge hotel and the next morning went for the water park. The water park entrance fees includes the usage of the hot springs and so we got to spend another evening at the hot springs before heading back home.

Points to note:

1. Lockers are available for storing your stuff. But if the crowd is large, you may run out of lockers or the waiting time can be longer. So carry minimal things.
2. Dont worry. You dont need to know swimming to enjoy this water park. All the rides and hot springs are ideal for non swimmers too.
3. Carry extra set of swimwear if you plan to step out and come back later for the hotsprings.
4. Can get a bit crowded during weekends or public holidays.


The lost world of tambun makes for an ideal getaway for families with kids and for all folks who enjoy the water. It can be planned as a daytrip or as two day outing by including the limestone caves in Ipoh.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank aishpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“tambun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

imagine sunway lagoon in kuala lumpur, much smaller. has an hot spring/pool and a built in zoo. simple.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great backdrop to a fun day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

A smaller, sedate version of Sunway Lagoon in Kl, but with its own ambiance and beautiful scenery. The limestone cliffs make a wonderful backdrop to the park, and you can go inside some of the caves to see what it is like. The tin mine attraction is new, and is good for a first-timer. The water park is a small one, and the waves even smaller. However it is ok for the younger kids. Where is differs from Sunway Lagoon is the presence of Hot Springs (and sauna!) which are extremely soothing and enjoyed by all age groups. The other difference is the Petting Zoo which has a far larger variety of small animals than any other place in Malaysia. The cutest and cuddliest are all there and the kids love 'em. The swan lake with its swans. ducks and paddle boats is enchanting with the gorgeous background of the cliffs. The last exciting features were the tigers and their feeding. Def a sight to watch as they jump up in the air and climb uo vertical branch-less trees. A good day out, but we took a one night stay at at the adjacent Lost World Hotel and stayed another day at the park. Was well worth it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ThandaBilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Man made theme park surrounded by nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Make sure you come as early as possible as there is a lot to see. We arrived at 1pm and only managed to spend time at the water park and the hot spring as the kids really love it there and won't leave the pools. Didn't manage to visit the Tiger Valley, Tin Valley and Petting Zoo as it was already 5.30 pm when we changed to dry clothes as the last train ride around the park was at 5.30. The changing room was a bit crowded. The theme park is surrounded by hills which is lovely.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AFM_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lost World Of Tambun also viewed

 
Ipoh, Kinta District
 

Been to Lost World Of Tambun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing