We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Room is good, service is horrible!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tower Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tower Regency Hotel
Ranked #36 of 59 Hotels in Ipoh
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Room is good, service is horrible!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the hotel during CNY. We drove all the way from Singapore at 1am (to avoid jam) and reached hotel at about 8am. We were so tired upon arrival and there was no bell boy available to help with our luggages.

I tried to check into the hotel, the front desk supervisor- Norida insisted to charge me RM100 for the early check-in; i asked what time i can check in without paying the RM100, she replied maybe 12pm. I wasn't happy, I can understand if she told me no rooms are available, but the RM100 really pissed me off. Moreover, i have asked her politely to let me check in early as we would be checking out very early too at 3am but she insisted on the RM100. At the point of time, i wanted to move to another hotel as we were really exhausted from the long drive, but we have made full payment for the hotel upon reservation, so we had no choice and we went for breakfast. After breakfast, we sat at the lobby and husband fell asleep due to the tiring drive, and we were really upset. 2 hours later, my husband went to the reception and asked for check-in, after negotiating with the front desk officer, we finally got the keys and have a room to rest! We were really not happy with the check-in experience, we have traveled to Japan, USA, Hong Kong, Taiwan etc, but we didn't experience this before, the front desk could have told us to go out for walk/breakfast and come back by certain time, but she didn't. she also didn't offer to keep our luggages, we had to push our luggages around.

The room was good, spacious and clean; the wall was really thin though, we can hear the entire conversation of our neighbor. Breakfast still needs lots of improvements.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyrabbit25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    71
    80
    35
    30
See reviews for
99
19
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We booked an apartment during the chinese new year thinking that it will be a clean hotel given that it's pretty new. It's spacious enough that we can put a couple of mattresses in to house the additional guests. The first sight of the room was disappointing, and saw that the housekeeping was done in a shoddy manner - the room and furniture were tired, bed sheets were dusty with light blood stains, we requested to change the sheets but the bed remain dusty, we found out later that the dust came from the suspended fan that has accumulated dust that is at least 0.5cm thick. The bottom of the dustbin has a ring of dust beneath, which shows that the housekeepers not bother to clean the room a least bit more thoroughly.

The only plus factor, is the location of this hotel, nothing more.

Free wifi was promised, but connection speed was pitiful.

After the first two nights, I realized where the blood stains came from, my whole body was ravaged with angry red spots left behind my bed bugs!!!! With the numbers, I reckon that there must be a whole army of bed bugs within the mattresses. We made a fuss at the reception, whom did not give a single word of apology, and promptly push the responsibility to the housekeeping to resolve the bed bugs issues. First reaction was to ask if we want to change room (but no room was available). Not a word of concern nor a gesture to assure us that we will not face the same problems during the following nights. My husband did away with a couple of bed bugs (filled with my blood) but that only brought our disgust to the next level. The itch was unbearable and totally wreck my new year mood.

Will never return again and if you have to stay in the hotel, avoid room 1245 totally!

Room Tip: Avoid room 1245!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cryst_clear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ipoh hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Quite run down for a building that is only a few years old.. Stains on the carpet and walls. Our shower head holder was falling off.
2 bedroom unit (4pax) only 2 pairs of tissue slippers provided.
Sound insulation is really bad..

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

The hotel in general is okay, near to mall, and park. I stayed in an executive room @14F. The bed, which i originally requested for a king size bed was not granted as they are fully booked, so instead, what i got are 2 single beds (twin beds). The bed is just okay, but the pillow is too soft, as if I am not using a pillow, hence I need to use both of them just enough to have a support on my head while sleeping. The 32-inch TV is also there, but have some issues initially, as one of their staff, just asked to replace it with a smaller one. Initially, it is fine with me, but then, after few minutes, the replacement unit is already not showing any video, but only audio, hence, I still need to ask them to replace the unit again. It was granted, but it took them almost 20 mins to complete it. The bathroom is also okay, just fine and was able to take a bath comfortably. The view on the 14F is also nice, as I can see the hills surrounding the city. Unfortunately, the food, is not that much okay, and somewhat failed to stand what Ipoh is known for good food. One major issue that i also noted is that the doors are too thin, that i can easily hear the other people walking/talking outside my door. Net, net, the okay is just okay.

Room Tip: Not sure, but I guess, their apartment rooms should be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kram23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed in the apartment wing of the Tower Regency Hotel in a large group (about 4-6 people per apartment). The people who were handling the booking for this large group were friendly and helpful, and they worked on our requests efficiently and graciously. Upon checking in, the apartments were found to be clean and comfortable, although there was no free wi-fi in the apartment wing. Some of the apartments showed some signs of ageing, but nothing that was much of a concern. The complimentary breakfast was basic but okay, and anyway Ipoh has food pretty much wherever you go. Probably the best option for Ipoh in my opinion.

Room Tip: If you want a huge spacious apartment, ask for the ones at the ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enochho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
1.0 km away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
1.3 km away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#33 of 59 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
5.7 km away
Symphony Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
MH Hotels Ipoh
MH Hotels Ipoh
#27 of 59 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 km away
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
#10 of 59 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.6 km away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#3 of 59 in Ipoh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Regency Hotel

Property: Tower Regency Hotel
Address: 6 - 8 Jalan Dato Seri Ahmad Said | Greentown, Ipoh 30450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 59 Hotels in Ipoh
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,116 - ₹ 3,550
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Regency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located within the main business hub of Ipoh city center, Tower Regency Hotel & Apartments combine refined luxury with unparalleled accessibility to provide a uniquely sophisticated living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tower Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing