We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hotel Not For The Fastidious” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Hotel Not For The Fastidious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Holiday Villa claims to be a 5-star hotel, but after staying there for three days two nights, I have come to the conclusion that it is NOT a 5-star hotel.

The hotel is promoting "Let Us Manja U" (Let Us Take Care of U).Unfortunately their staff has failed to display this. No one smiles nor greets the guests. They all show a lackadaisical attitude towards the guests. I booked a local tour with the staff and they just ignored me!

The room I booked was spacious and looked good. But I realized that it was an illusion. The bathroom door was not in a good condition. The long bath is full of dry paint. The shower curtain railing was rusting. And there were ants in the bathroom. Besides, the faucet could not be turned off and leaked water.

The restaurant is a pleasant and well-decorated place to spend time enjoying a meal. But I was surprised that there were cats roaming around a 5-star hotel restaurant. I believe that this is the first time I have seen cats in a five-star establishment. Maybe the cats are there for a purpose.

Furthermore, the service at the restaurant is slow. I ordered a meal about an hour earlier. When I arrived at the appointed time, the food was still not ready although only TWO tables were occupied. In fact, I had to wait a further twenty minutes before the fried rice was ready. There was no apology from anyone.

On the second morning the breakfast service was very bad. I arrived early at 7 am because I was aware that Holiday Villa staff of another outlet were having their family day at Cherating. At 7 am, there was only one person manning the restaurant. I quickly grabbed some food. At 7.15 am, a hugecrowd started to come in, and there was not enough staff to replenish all the food. Furthermore, some food stations were not ready.

Staff there is slow and lazy. The corridors and floors are hardly swept. When the place is packed with children running all over, the floors are all wet and slippery. But no one mops up the floors. They just place signs everywhere warning guests about the slippery floors.

There are many plants growing round the surroundings making it a pleasant place to walk around. However, if you observe carefully, many of the plants need water and some are dying.

If you overlook all the shortcomings, it's quite a pleasant place to stay as there are two swimming pools and the hotel is facing a beach. If you have no transport and you intend to enjoy your meals at the restaurant, you are in for a hard time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seladang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCherating, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

Greetings from Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating,

Thank you for your comments and we are concern of the setbacks encountered during your stay and we sincerely apologies for all the inconvenience it had caused you.

We apologies on the room condition that was provided and will ensure that appropriate measure to be taken accordingly.
Corrective measures has taken place in order to reduce cats from roaming into the restaurant as the resort is facing the ocean where stray cats could come in from the beach area.
We apologies for your inconveniences cause during the breakfast as during your stay, there is also a group in house that is having their family day. The Management will ensure that the same problem will note reoccur again.
We are also glad that you enjoyed our both swimming pools during your stay with us.

Measures have been taken to ensure that such problems do not recur. We would like to thank you for bringing up these matters as it is only through constructive criticism from our guests that would enable us to monitor our hotel operations more closely.

We hope you will not judge the standard of the hotel on this one experience and allow it to deter you from patronizing our hotel.

We once again thank you for your comments. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    75
    87
    52
    48
See reviews for
118
58
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Batu Caves, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Could not comment much, as we got free upgrade from deluxe room to Honeymoon Suite! Although it is consider suite, however the furniture looks tired. Facilities are quite good, TV, sofa, refrigerator, in-room safe, wardrobe and everything expected. However their services are below expectation. Also, during our check in, we have realized that there are no air conditioner in the lobby! This is a big no no for a hotel/resort. The view of the room have no big deal, only roof tops. The bathroom got my compliments. It is clean and tidy, spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoelXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I was given a suite room instead of a superior room which I booked. My room was huge, quite far from the beach, but offers a nice view of the beach and one of the swimming pool. However, the room was on the 2nd floor but there was no lift, only stair case, that goes for the rest of this hotel.
The water pressure of the shower was very small, but there's no such problem with the basin, so we took our son's sand castle bucket to bath. We love the beautiful beach, a soft slope, easy for small kids, and the sand was also beautiful. We love the pool too, it's CLEAN. but the jacuzzi was never on while we were there.
We drove up to Chukai for dinner and packed our breakfast at the same time, and we glad we did that, when we have a look at the breakfast spread the next day. An easy and light breakfast let us take a long dip in the pool in the morning, with our son, I just cant stop saying that we just love the pool, when there were not crowded. I rose up early to witness the sunrise, which is beautiful. We snapped some photos at Eastern Pavilion next to this hotel, (they are under the same management) there are some very beautiful landscaping here.
The "old" furniture mentioned in other comments, looked "old", not because they are old but due to the timber finish on the wood, changes color in the hot and humid Malaysian weather.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jasminejoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

stayed recently for 1 night in garden villa..very poor lighting, not suitable for family. asked for a double bed, was given attached twin bed. bathroom was worst..water was very hot like boiling..knobs fall out..small ants everywhere! tv is facing sofa instead of bed..aircond brokedown in the middle of the night..only 1 plug point! .no breakfast included in hotel price..in summary..horrible hotel, not worth your money..

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shilahamzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

Kuantan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

4/5/2012 WE are from USA.. My wife is From Malaysia. We are here for 6 months. We purchased our tickets online and loved the pictures everthing was great.. Keep in mind we have a house here too 40 min away. We get here and what a disapointment wow nothing is the same as online at all. I understand if you say your under construction. I would say when since the 1980's wow very old looking and rude and just dumb people. ( now the Manager and Head Manager are amazing nice) everyone else is just rude... and our room was changed due to age and for our troubles we get a free meal while my pregnant wife was attacked by 2 cats and nothing was done. we had to serve ourself. but the food was free ... not sure it was worth it at all. The room was a joke the tv was 20 inch tv with static you could not even see picture .. took 1 hour just to get toilet paper. doors never locked ever. towels would fall apart in your hand. so were we happy no ... it was suppose to be relaxing not work.......

Room Tip: Come Back In 20 Years When They Remodel...but managements great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank petersharp1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCherating, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

Greetings from Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating,

Thank you for your comments and we are concern of the setbacks encountered during your stay and we sincerely apologies for all the inconvenience it had caused you.

We apologies on the room condition that was provided and will ensure that appropriate measure to be taken accordingly.
Hotel refurbishment is ongoing at the moment in order to ensure that our rooms are upkeep at the best level. We will also ensure that service staff will be trained to ensure that room amenities required to be send to guest room as soon as possible.

We apologies for your inconveniences cause during the meal during your stay, as measure has also been taken place in order to reduce cats from entering to the restaurant.

We hope you will not judge the standard of the hotel on this one experience and allow it to deter you from patronizing our hotel.

We once again thank you for your comments. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
4.5 km away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.5 km away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#30 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
20.8 km away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
8.7 km away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
4.4 km away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Address: Lot 1303, Mukim Sungai Karang, Cherating, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,549 - ₹ 7,451
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush greenery and secluded palm-fringed beaches fronting the South China Sea, Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating has the ideal facilities for family vacations and honeymoons, in addition to corporate meetings and team buildings. Situated 47km from Kuantan, the capital city of Pahang, the beach in Cherating is a haven amongst avid surfers who come from all over the world each year to especially enjoy the ride of the ocean waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Cherating Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Cherating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing