We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No surprise for a 5 star rating hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kuantan
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“No surprise for a 5 star rating hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Book this hotel bcos it was rated 5 star, but it was not meet to our expectation.
Room toilet facilities is a bit too old.
Beach infront of the hotel is not clean.

Hotel staffs are friendly. Allow to register check in before check-in time and call me to inform room is ready.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeelinLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    220
    172
    105
    84
See reviews for
246
171
25
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is my second stay here. The last trip being in 2007.

Was staying in the Regency club, which we usually do in Hyatt Hotels. But the Club levels are nowhere near the Club levels in any other hotel Hyatt or any other brand name hotels.

The Club facilities are only available till 10pm, beyond that, even the driveway to drop off passengers are closed. My recent stay in Hyatt Bali allows me to end my day around town with a nice cool drink for me and a hot chocolate for my kids before heading to the room to sleep, sadly was greeted withed a locked club lobby and driveway when I returned to the hotel this time. This makes paying the extra for the club levels a rip off.

The breakfast spread was pathetic and repeated from the day's before tea time spread, hmmm... makes me wonder if they are practicing reduce, reuse, recycle. The staff are not attentive and fail to look into details which is easily found in any other 5 star resort. My request to have my breakfast table set up was responded by a long frown and given only cutlery wrapped in napkins stacked and left on the table, the table was not even wiped and was left to enjoy my breakfast with the crumbs and stains left behind by the previous guest.

I must however give it to a staff Ms Chin (I think) she did try to help and smiled. She was the only person throughout my stay that bothered to make sure that you are happy and asked for feedback and most importantly smile, sadly our encounter with her was only for a day during our 3 days stay.

The building and premise is old but still acceptable, but could surely be made better with a little redecoration. The pools are small and boring, a fee form pool with slides for kids would be perfect. The beach is infested with jellyfish, my wife's encounter can vouch for that.

Overall, my final comments and suggestions would be that the hotel is nowhere near the standards of any Hyatt Hotel i've stayed at in Asia, (Thailand, Phuket, Hong Kong, Bali, etc). They need to rework everything from ground up from the physical premise to the staff training. If not they would just be another run off the mill local resort with mediocre service and facilities. Totally not worth the premium charged for a band name hotel.

Room Tip: Give it a pass if you can, but compared to other resorts in Kuantan, it is still one of the better o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

In a nutshell...
1. Not worth of money for the room and service you pay.
2. Bad housekeeping, unless u can wait for 1.5 hours for them to come even after 3 follow up calls to remind
3. No floor towel, no mineral water, no face towel.
Dissatisfied, only consolation is the nearby food outlets and the kids pool.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neelza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Hyatt has been around for a very long time, and since it's establishment, there has been many changes surrounding the resort. While it used to be a premium resort, it now has to compete with other properties and it is in need for major renovations.

I stayed here with family, for a short weekend getaway and while I have no complaints about the service, the rooms, the quality of sleep and the breakfast - I can definitely tell the hotel needs a lot of refurbishments and upgrade to be worthy of the "Hyatt" brand.

Here's hoping the next time I come back, it will be back in its full former glory.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelLeePuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Very bad customer service experience by check in staff namely Noly. Room was terrible for a Hyatt although they are going through a slow renovation, but one does not expect to have to pay Hyatt prices and have to bathe in yellow water (or not bathe as the case may be) and the bath was so badly stained I did not put my 2 year old in it. Breakfast area while being open to the elements is so full of flies and it really is difficult to enjoy breakfast with having to constantly swat flies away from your food and drinks. Beach was just ok nothing spectacular.

Room Tip: View your room before accepting it. We booked a room with king bed on-line with Hyatt, and when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JManderfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
5.3 km away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
11.2 km away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
10.2 km away
Swiss Garden Resort Residences Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
24.2 km away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
35.5 km away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kuantan

Property: Hyatt Regency Kuantan
Address: Telok Chempedak, Kuantan 25050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,353 - ₹ 6,353
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kuantan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kuantan Resort will be fully closed from 1 September 2015 to undergo extensive renovation that will take approximately 12 months. No reservations will be accepted throughout this period. All 300 guestrooms and suites will be reinvented into stylish and elegant spaces while public areas and meeting venues will be refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kuantan Hotel Kuantan
Kuantan Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing