We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dirty and not well maintain”
Review of Sanctuary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary Resort
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dirty and not well maintain”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

we just came back from cherating last weekend. We were tere for 3d2n for my husband's office family day. The apartment was dirty and smelly full of dust and i wonder if they change the bed sheets too because they look worn down and smelly. The floor is dirty and not mopped. The toilet flush in the bathroomnot working. I do not recomend this resot for yr holiday

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SopiahAlicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    17
    6
    13
    19
See reviews for
41
4
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

When I first arrived at the Sanctuary Resort, delightfully cool sea breezes swirled around me in the lobby where I stood. I was welcomed with warm smiles by the staff at the front desk. When I was shown to my apartment, I was pleased with the sense of spaciousness of the rooms, and happy to find a sturdy wood table where I could sit and write. I wandered out to the balconey to see a view of the sea through the tops of the trees. At night I looked out at stars that were brighter than any I'd seen before, even in the desert. As it was a holiday, there were many families and children playing in the pool as I went swimming. Everyone was friendly and relaxed. I had a good stay and recommend it.

Room Tip: Block C has sea views right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Booked a 3-bedroom apartment (with 2 extra beds), Room 2201 for 2 nights in January 2012. The apartment is very spacious, but very old building & not well maintained. The rooms are very smelly, dirty, the water pipe system not in order, air-conditioning is messed up, need to be serviced. When we checked in, there’s a room (Room 2201) with a balcony with a broken lock! Meaning somebody could just climb to the balcony and walk into the apartment just like that. When I asked the reception how’s the security at the resort, they replied “at the moment there’s no cases.” I’m not convinced. And there’s no single security guards around.
To say that it’s an “under average resort” would be an understatement. Easily the worst resort I’ve ever stayed in my life.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Izzudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Johor, Johor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I read the negative reviews about this resort but i still go ahead & booked a 3 day 2 nite stay in the 2-Room Apartment. I was thinking maybe it will not be as bad considering the fact that they are charging RM350 per nite.
Well.. I regretted it.
First when we arrived, the front desk staff was UNFRIENDLY. They keep on emphasizing that NO VISITORS are allowed in the hotel. Such an Unfriendly rule for a resort. We have relative staying nearby & they intended to come by but the hotel staff strictly said no visitors.
We had to pay extra RM40 extra 2 persons.
When we entered the room.. to our surprise, the room was very dusty, the pillow cases very dirty. The phone was spoilt. & till we checked out, they did not come & repair.
The swimming pool not clean at all. We can't be bothered to try out all other facilities because we were too upset.
We had to pay further RM80 for 2 extra beds in addition to the RM40 for the 2 extra person.
Altogether we had to pay RM860 for our 2 nite stay in a DUSTY 2-Room Apartment in a Bad Serviced Unfriendly Resort.
NOT WORTH AT ALL..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drdha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at Sanctuary Resort in November 2010. We had booked a week but left after a couple of days. The resort was very run down with rubbish bags in the grounds, many empty bottles and unkept gardens. Overall it was very dirty. The unit was a 2 bedroomed , the kettle was dirty, sink unclean lots of dust and dirt on the floors, toilets and bathroom unclean, very damp in the rooms. The linen and towels were clean. The room where breakfast was held was dirty, the tables unclean and food on the floor. The shop had little to tempt us and the service was not good. We asked to be shifted to another room which was a 3 bedroom unit facing the beach. It was much nicer on first impression but the toilet leaked on the floor, empty water bottles behind the TV cabinet. There were gaps under the doors and a snake came into one of the bedrooms. This resort needs to be renovated.

Even though the resort is facing the beach and a lovely view, the beach is very unclean with bottles, dirty nappies and rubbish. Please don't have a swim.

The only good thing about the resort was the young lady on the desk. She was most obliging and understood our complaints. There were no taxis etc and no brochures.

We will never go back there for a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meg606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
8.4 km away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
16.1 km away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
8.4 km away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#31 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
12.2 km away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
3.1 km away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Resort

Property: Sanctuary Resort
Address: 342 | Mukim Sungai Karang, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Kuantan
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,813 - ₹ 7,044
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Resort Cherating is truly a beachfront resort hotel withonly 10 meters away from beach, beautifully surrounded by refreshing lush greenery. With 90 units of 2 & 3 Bedrooms All Suite Apartmentwith each room with its attaching bathroom, Sanctuary Resort Cherating creates a perfect setting for singles, couples and even families group. Enjoy your stay at this serene and peaceful property, guests are also offered access to water sports like sailing and canoeing, with its own private island right in front, only 900 meters away. For those in need of a relaxing vacation, you can simply take a dip in the alluring pool or go for sunbathing at the beach. Enjoy various activities including the one at the Classical Fishing Village River where you do the fresh catching daily. Sanctuary Resort Cherating is a great choice for those looking to getaway from the bustling city for a True Beachfront Holiday Relaxation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing