We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIsappointed”
Review of Sanctuary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Resort
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I read the negative reviews about this resort but i still go ahead & booked a 3 day 2 nite stay in the 2-Room Apartment. I was thinking maybe it will not be as bad considering the fact that they are charging RM350 per nite.
Well.. I regretted it.
First when we arrived, the front desk staff was UNFRIENDLY. They keep on emphasizing that NO VISITORS are allowed in the hotel. Such an Unfriendly rule for a resort. We have relative staying nearby & they intended to come by but the hotel staff strictly said no visitors.
We had to pay extra RM40 extra 2 persons.
When we entered the room.. to our surprise, the room was very dusty, the pillow cases very dirty. The phone was spoilt. & till we checked out, they did not come & repair.
The swimming pool not clean at all. We can't be bothered to try out all other facilities because we were too upset.
We had to pay further RM80 for 2 extra beds in addition to the RM40 for the 2 extra person.
Altogether we had to pay RM860 for our 2 nite stay in a DUSTY 2-Room Apartment in a Bad Serviced Unfriendly Resort.
NOT WORTH AT ALL..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drdha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at Sanctuary Resort in November 2010. We had booked a week but left after a couple of days. The resort was very run down with rubbish bags in the grounds, many empty bottles and unkept gardens. Overall it was very dirty. The unit was a 2 bedroomed , the kettle was dirty, sink unclean lots of dust and dirt on the floors, toilets and bathroom unclean, very damp in the rooms. The linen and towels were clean. The room where breakfast was held was dirty, the tables unclean and food on the floor. The shop had little to tempt us and the service was not good. We asked to be shifted to another room which was a 3 bedroom unit facing the beach. It was much nicer on first impression but the toilet leaked on the floor, empty water bottles behind the TV cabinet. There were gaps under the doors and a snake came into one of the bedrooms. This resort needs to be renovated.

Even though the resort is facing the beach and a lovely view, the beach is very unclean with bottles, dirty nappies and rubbish. Please don't have a swim.

The only good thing about the resort was the young lady on the desk. She was most obliging and understood our complaints. There were no taxis etc and no brochures.

We will never go back there for a holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank meg606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stop for a day here. The main building under renovation. Got my room at Block B level 3. Apartment spacious, the living room ok, not very nice kitchen, kettle there, got sugar and coffee, cup there, but not da scoop! , how to make coffee?

master bedroom there is a bathtub. but the bathroom ceiling like's to collapsed.

the worst thing, air-conditioning did not work properly. sleep in the heat. lucky the living room air conditioner works.

somehow realized what time of the heat. apparently do not have electricity.

next time, should thing about insurance in case something cannot predict, like i read at the blog (insurance4u.pro)

better be ready then never .....

hope the management will upgrade this building ....

peace no war !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaXisGSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with my family (2 rooms apartment), the photos on the website looks great, but it turned out to be totally opposite side of the photos. The resort was so run down, it looks like an abandoned resort indeed.
Some good things about the resort is the cheap rate it offered, seaview, location was 10 mins from the highway turnoff.
Here comes the not so good things about the resort, everything in the apartment was dirty (etc toilets, beds, floor, windows, balcony), the kettle was rusty (I think someone could get food poisoning if they use the kettle), the floor was so dusty and some tiles were so old that we had to wear slippers in the apartment itself, the lift was like a haunted lift in an abandoned building, etc....I will never ever stay in this resort anymore.
The management will really need a big MAKEOVER for the resort.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yeevonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tosswill, Manager at Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2011

Its unfortunate you did not enjoy your stay at our Resort, we find that regrettable. We Extend you & your Family a Free Stay so that you can show us the Apartment you stayed in that was alleged to be so bad. We can learn to improve our service. I assume it was a standard apartment.

I can not see what lift here what Lift you have described so that also would be appreciated if you can advise us we only have 3 and in 9 years we have been here we have not had a complaint till now.

As we are Direct Sea Front, it is hard with the sea salt to keep Windows clean, but we will endeavor to improve. We have replaced all Kettles to Metal from Plastic as there is at times staining from the local Town Water but its not rust, had you requested a Kettle as its our Job, we would have immedietly provided one.

We have a House Keeping Department like all Hotels, so we are saddened you did not dial up and request your Apartment be Cleaned, (all Apartments are cleaned daily) we would in fact dismiss the person that didn't clean your unit in 3 Days if that was the case.

We have Floors that are Marble (Not Tiles) and Wooden Floors in the Bedrooms, so its hoped it was our Resort you stayed at as the description is very different.

Again I apologize for any inconvenience, we hope that you take advantage of a One Night Free Stay in a Premium Apartment, it can be redeemed at any time other than CNY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Myself and my family stayed at this resort for 2 full weeks and had the most amazing time there. There were 6 of us in total and we all found the staff to be very accommodating to our needs, extremely friendly and always smiling. Security is also very good. The local culture around this resort is beautiful and the views from the rooms can not be beaten. There is plenty to do in the local area and staying at sanctuary out us right in the midlle of it all, with our own beach, private island, snokelling, horse riding and much much more!! I would recommend this resort to all people interested in a relaxing and cultural experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Armstr0ng_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
8.4 km away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 7 in Cherating
124 reviews
16.1 km away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
5.8 km away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#34 of 44 in Kuantan
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
8.0 km away
Royale Chulan Cherating
Royale Chulan Cherating
#2 of 7 in Cherating
31 reviews
17.0 km away
Swiss Garden Resort Residences Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Resort

Address: 342 | Mukim Sungai Karang, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kuantan
Price Range: ₹ 4,163 - ₹ 6,309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Resort Cherating is truly a beachfront resort hotel withonly 10 meters away from beach, beautifully surrounded by refreshing lush greenery. With 90 units of 2 & 3 Bedrooms All Suite Apartmentwith each room with its attaching bathroom, Sanctuary Resort Cherating creates a perfect setting for singles, couples and even families group. Enjoy your stay at this serene and peaceful property, guests are also offered access to water sports like sailing and canoeing, with its own private island right in front, only 900 meters away. For those in need of a relaxing vacation, you can simply take a dip in the alluring pool or go for sunbathing at the beach. Enjoy various activities including the one at the Classical Fishing Village River where you do the fresh catching daily. Sanctuary Resort Cherating is a great choice for those looking to getaway from the bustling city for a True Beachfront Holiday Relaxation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing