We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights at Lake House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed at the Lake House for 2 nights on December 2011.

Arrived after a long drive from Kuala Lumpur. Hotel looks very nice and it fits perfectly in such a scenic location. Parking spaces are available for residents. Weather was much cooler than KL also which was a relief!

When we got there, our room was not ready yet so we had a drink on the terrace. Our first disappointment was when we decided to order lunch, we were presented with a limited menu and we found the items to be quite expensive.

We were lead to our room which is nicely styled with the four poster bed and it fits perfectly with the Tudor era charm of the place. Bed and linens were crisp and clean. Tea and coffee facilities and a fruit platter are available in the room.

A little bit more of lighting would have helped a lot though.
It's worth noting that one of the lampshades was fitted with 200W bulbs which were literally melting the wall socket and was too hot to touch! Everything was being held in place with electric tape. A massive fire risk in my opinion and not expected for a hotel of this class.

Our biggest disappointment was the following day when we were told that the whole hotel was fully booked for a wedding which took place on the terrace.
Loud music was played all evening and throughout the night. We obviously didn’t get any sleep till 3 or 4 AM.

Breakfast is also a bit limited in choice and is not buffet

There is no pool or hydro massage bath

No TV or WIFI service in room which might be good for some and bad for others ( Wi-Fi and TV in bar area / lobby )

Nothing much to do in the evenings since next to the hotel, there are only some flower and vegetable shops.

I suggest going out with the car to neighboring village of Tanah Rata which is around 20 mins drive up the mountain.

On a positive note they will wash your car every morning and upon arrival, found a large bouquet of roses on the bed

Room Tip: Make sure you have your own transport. There is little to do at the hotel. Ask for a room off the...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maltiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna B, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and we do understand and appreciate that it is made constructively.
With regards to your comments on the menu, the size of our kitchen operation does have a bearing on the variety that we can offer without compromising on the quality of the meal. However we do change our menu on a quarterly basis. As for the breakfast, with the size of the hotel means that there would be a prohibitive amount of wastage for us to feature a buffet and from the conceptual point of view this would also detract from our aim to provide the home feel cooked breakfast presented in the best possible way. Where pricing is concerned, we are in line with similar properties in this area. Although we are confident to offer our best value, we are humbly open for suggestions for various improvements especially from our loyal guests. Also, thank you for your comments on the lampshades. We are glad to advise that all our electrical appliances are in good order and the bulb fitted for the lampshades are of 60W.
For any further questions or clarification, I can be contacted directly at my email address at krishna@lakehouse-cameron.com


Krishna Badhur (Mr)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (821)
There are newer reviews for The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 627 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

Wonderfully beautiful English Tudor style building and decor to match. Rooms were comfortable, spacious, quiet, cool and had recently been renovated. Bed was super comfortable, nice chairs and furniture, great bathroom, bath and rain shower.

Loved spending a relaxing afternoon in one of the many lounge areas... in front of the TV, fireplace, bar or in the outside area. Good walking in the jungle close by too. Don't be put off by the hotel not being in one of the small towns... all tourist places you need to drive to anyway. Hotel offer good range of tours, same prices as I saw in one of the towns.

Just out the front of the hotel are a group of shops selling fruit, snacks, drinks etc.. and only 5 minute walk down the road is a great place to eat with 2 Chinese restaurants and a Malay/Indian one too. Great food and super cheap.

We ate in the hotel restaurant too... not bad food, expensive for Malaysia, but still cheap compared to what I would pay in Oz or Europe. Mainly western food (with some curries too)... salads, soups, lamb/steak/chicken or BBQ. I wouldn't say is was super fine dining, food was not bad... the setting and service helped add to this though and a great selection of wine. Breakfast was pretty good... real juices, ala carte selection and buffet. Wish they would offer a Malay choice too... I need Roti.

Service was very attentive and I can see they are working really hard at trying to get this right. You just need a little patience (if you don't have this... don't travel in Asia) and they will treat you right. Check in and out was super easy.

Would definitely stay here if you can afford it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tigerstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed in the lakehouse for 2 nights in december 2011. The overall style of the hotel is very british. They have a library with a fireplace and offer afternoon tea on the terrace ! Our room was nice and very clean. The bed was excellent and the room was quiet. The service was very friendly and perfect. The hotel not located in a town or village, there are only some small shops selling fruit and flowers in walking distance.

Breakfeast is partially buffet, in addition it is possible to order cocked breakfeast. We had dinner once, the restaurant is quite nice and the food was good but nothing special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MMa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights on my honeymoon in March 2011.Being a travel consultant myself , had done a lot of study about the property before going .... and the hotel lived up to my expectations .... Although the hotel is located in Ringlet which is 20 mins away from Tanah Rata the city centre in Camerron , but the hospitality and the warmth of the staff can compensate that ....
If you love continental food , Cameroon is the place for it . We had one candle light dinner complimentary in our honeymoon package which was very good . Also they serve complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade scones ... those were delicious Param the front office manager there gets everything right for you ... and also arrange for full day taxi ...We had lunches at
Smokehouse and few local restaurants and dinners were confined to Lake House as the town shuts down by 8 pm .... But food at Lake house was never disappointing .. We had a Honeymoon suite booked for us which was tastefully decorated with roses and we also got fresh fruit platter everyday as part of our package . The decor, the furniture takes you back to good Old British classics , and you will actually feel like a part of it .... Overall , the hospitality , the tea gardens and strawberry garden made my honeymoon just perfect . I would definitely want to go there again .

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sreemoyee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I've travelled to Cameron Highlands by car from Singapore. After a nauseating trip up, we finally arrived at the Lakehouse which is as pretty as the pictures itself. Service is immaculate and rooms are extremely clean. The facade is as aethetically pleasing as the interior.

I got the junior suite and it is big enough for a family of 4 with 2 kids (4 and 7 years old). The location of the Lakehouse, however is far away from other places of the highlands so other places are hard to access without a car. However, as I drove, I love the quietness. All food ordered thereat are cooked fresh, so you may gotta wait for a little while.

I also took advantage of ordering a BBQ and I reccomend it greatly. The staff will bring logs from the fireplace (yes, they light up the fireplace nightly) for your BBQ and food turns out better than if they were cooked on charcoal. However the flies were pesky and I quickly moved into the building after cooking all the food.

The entire place was like an exclusive clubhouse. I love sitting by the fireplace enjoying a book with my kids watched cartoon network in the adjacent room. The whole place is just lovely. I will recomend this place to any families going there, with a car.

Surprise- they will wash your car for you in the night.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiansoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna B, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your future visit.

Krishna Badhur (Mr)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringlet
4.6 km away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 13 in Tanah Rata
797 reviews
4.8 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
5.7 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 13 in Tanah Rata
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#5 of 13 in Tanah Rata
148 reviews
4.4 km away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#8 of 13 in Tanah Rata
337 reviews
6.4 km away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 13 in Tanah Rata
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands

Address: 30th Mile Ringlet | Cameron Highlands, Ringlet 39200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Ringlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Price Range: ₹ 9,095 - ₹ 13,546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200km north of Kuala Lumpur, set against lush state reserve forests 1,000m above sea level in the Cameron Highlands, The Lakehouse is a Tudor-style country house overlooking the Sultan Abu Bakar Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Hotel Ringlet
Days Inn Ringlet
Lakehouse Cameron Highlands Ringlet
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Ringlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing