We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Overpriced but nice hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I spent two nights here last weekend - the hotel itself is lovely, rooms are in a reasonable state of repair and the house sits overlooking a brown lake. The staff try their best to accomodate all requests and are generally very pleasant.

The food however is a bit of a let down and seriously over priced for what is very average food. Breakfast was adequate. RM27 for two scones and a pot of tea is extraordinary extortion! Imagine our faces when we saw a chicken claypot dish on "special" at RM60 !! The second night we had dinner in the restuarant and my wife ordered fish which came with a stray hair in it --- sitting on top of the fish itself obviously not checked before it left the kitchen - in fairness they did replace it with another dish and this did not appear on our bill so credit to them for that. The dining room is however very small and the forst night our dinner was totally ruined by a family with one particulalrly noisy toddler - luck of the draw on that night.

We visited the Boh tea plantation and an Orang Asli village as well as the mossy forest --- not a bad day out with an excellent guide called Spence (i think) from TJ Travel in Tanah Rata.

Having also stayed at The Cameron Highlands resort i would say that offers a better experience at a lower price --- so better value for money. I have rated this place as average based on the food and the fact that in my opinion it is about 20% more expensive than it should be.

Room Tip: The road facing rooms can have a bit of traffic noise when the windows are open - especially ealry m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna B, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize on the oversight of our kitchen services for not checking the food before being served to the guest.

Our food pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our extensive facilities. However in your case it appears we have failed to meet your expectations which we sincerely apologize and have taken your constructive comments to further improve our services.

In our effort to achieve guest satisfaction and comfort, we have recently double glazed all gurest room windows and as well install air condition to reducte the noise pollution where we have received positive reviews from our guest.

For any further questions or clarification, I can be contacted directly at my email address at krishna@lakehouse-cameron.com

Krishna Badhur (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    296
    76
    34
    11
See reviews for
268
388
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is a splendid small hotel, beautifully furnished and with impeccable staff who cannot do enough for you. We were very muddy after jungle walking but our flithy trousers were washed, dried and pressed by the time we had eaten dinner. The open fire was a delight in the cooler evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna B, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to your future visit.

Krishna Badhur (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Lakehouse is the last remnant of the old charming Cameron Highlands. It is away from all of the towns, Ringlet, Tanah Rata or Brinchang - which have now become ugly, overcrowded and eyesores.

This visit was 10 years after my previous one and - what a disappointment it was. Cameron Highlands has lost all of its old charm and beauty.

However we were so happy that we chose the Lakehouse which stands away from any of the 3 ugly towns. The hotel is so beautiful and such a lovely change. It is close to the farms and the tea estates and once we stopped going to the towns - it seemed like we were back in the old Cameron.

The hotel is on a little hill overlooking the main road and the lake (water has turned brown though). Although close to the road - we did not hear much traffic sounds. The lovely lawns were also a fun place for the kids to run around and for afternoon tea. The afternoon tea was lovely here but restaurant was quite expensive but had excellent ambiance. The staff were extremely accommodating of our special food requests (vegetarian and kids meals). Note that the rooms are a little small but the bathrooms are large and have excellent amenities.

The hotel management was also very accommodating of all of our additional bedding requests without charge.

Highly recommend this as the only place to stay in Cameron. Otherwise do not bother to go.

Room Tip: Call and talk to the desk clerk - extremely helpful with recommendations and requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayChaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna B, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us. In line with food pricing of similar properties of this area, we feel that our restaurant offer good value given our extensive facilities. In your case, however, it appears we have failed to meet your expectations which we sincerely apologize. We take your comment seriously and strive to continually improve our services. We look forward to your stay with us again.

For any further questions or clarification, I can be contacted directly at my email address at krishna@lakehouse-cameron.com

Krishna Badhur (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This hotel oozes old Colonial charm, sitting as it does clinging to the side of the mountain overlooking a lake. As we approached my mind wandered to croquet on the lawn followed by cucumber sandwiches and a Pimm's No 1. Imagine how delighted I was to discover high tea was being served and wonderfully a three tier with the said sandwiches part and parcel. That daydreaming was unfortunately to be the best part of my visit. The bread was dry and slightly air toasted and to my horror had been liberally spread with mayonaise. Tisk tisk! However, little Malsyian meat parcels that sneaked on to the second tier went some way to ameliorate my huge disapointment. As sunset came and settled it soon became apparent that the hotel not only overlooked a lake but also the only road linking the two neighbouring towns, hence, noise. One of my pet hates! All rooms face the road, so no escape. The staff are friendly if a little reserved but do try to make one's stay comfortable. It was also a shame that I had to hunt down a barman as he had gone missing for about half an hour. I had visions of him going the way of the late Jim Thompson. Perhaps he did as the receptionist stood in and I never saw him again. Even allowing for the ongoing renovation and refit (more noise) the hotel feels a trifle overpriced. Sadly the hotel is really all there is here as the nearest town is a culinary and architectural desert. This hotel promises much but somehow doesn't quite fulfill. One night if you must but then get on the road that runs through.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanuman-Haa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Rooms were nicely decorated with old furniture and four-poster bed.It has the old English style which I simply love.It's clean and service is excellent.The property is big and everyday at 6:30pm,they will light the fireplace in the living area.It does get a little chilly at night.They serve breakfast,lunch,tea & dinner.If you drive (they'll wash your car for free even when you didn't ask) and choose to eat somewhere else,the nearest town (Tanah Rata) is 20min away.Walking there is too far.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picklejuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringlet
4.6 km away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
783 reviews
4.8 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
5.7 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#5 of 12 in Tanah Rata
144 reviews
4.4 km away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
331 reviews
6.4 km away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands

Property: The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Address: 30th Mile Ringlet | Cameron Highlands, Ringlet 39200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Ringlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,306 - ₹ 11,552
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200km north of Kuala Lumpur, set against lush state reserve forests 1,000m above sea level in the Cameron Highlands, The Lakehouse is a Tudor-style country house overlooking the Sultan Abu Bakar Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Hotel Ringlet
Days Inn Ringlet
Lakehouse Cameron Highlands Ringlet
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Ringlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing