We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, but...”
Review of The Dusun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dusun
Ranked #1 of 24 Seremban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2017

The Dusun is a wonderful place, surrounded by natures at their best - a cleanest forest I have seen (literally with zero rubbish), a cool waterfall greeting you at the end of an hour trek, freshest air with non-stop birds singing & insects chirping welcoming every minute of your stay.

My wife had look forward to the place for many years, & she enjoyed the place very much, especially the 2 infinity pools. The Dusun offers priceless experience unlike your typical run-of-the-mill hotels / resorts. Asmaq is a good manager for the place & play the role perfectly. I couldn't have enough of the breakfast by the awesome Makcik.

With that being said, there are several things which are a let-down.
Firstly there's an ongoing construction during our stay, which unfortunately didn't contribute to the tranquillity. By paying full price for the stay, we inevitably felt short-changed.
Secondly the family which owns the place could be a more gracious host. By opening the place for business, I was surprised by the lack of smiles nor social engagement, which I feel may enhances guests' experience.
Even when checking-out, there's not a word of thanks nor apology for the construction.

Room Tip: If peacefulness is important, ask first if there's any ongoing construction near your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank WM_2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaanimBamadhaj, General Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Wai Ming, Thank you for your visit and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our sincere apologies for the noise caused by the construction. The owners who live here and planted all the trees and designed the entire place, have now retired and are very private people. I am their daughter, my husband and I work here and have various duties. When we are at the Patio, we make a point to speak to all guests who are there but I don't meet all guests. I'm sorry I missed you. Asmaq does do a wonderful job, but perhaps we rely on her too much. I will make a point to meet more guests, thank you for pointing this out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017

We had a wonderful time staying four nights at The Dusun during our Malaysia trip. We enjoyed the jungle sounds, the cosy little houses we stayed in, the beautiful views, the nice pools and the freshly cooked meals that were every time again a delicious surprise.

We booked both Perling houses, one for our two kids (8 and 5 yo) and one for me and my husband. The houses are next to each other and connected via the terrace, so we can very much recommend this for a family (even with more than two children).

Don't expect material luxury, but on the other hand, we enjoyed great luxury in terms of service, food and surrounding. The perfect retreat!

Room Tip: See review: we recommend booking both Perling houses for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HilkeVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaanimBamadhaj, General Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Hilke,
Thank you for your visit and taking the time to write a review. We will soon be introducing cooking workshops for the dishes specific to this state.We are glad you all enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

my first nature retreat in the forest. located not that far from KL and Seremban city. has a blessed and meaningful time here. love the salt water pool, very refreshing and less irritation to my eyes. very quite and quite clean room. and the owner and staff took effort to greet each of the guest during breakfast. love it very much. will come again to stay in other room. btw, we stayed in perling air, very strategically located to the pool.

Room Tip: Perling Air or Bukit is more privacy. It's not near to cafe area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaraMohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaanimBamadhaj, General Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Fara, Thank you for coming to visit us and taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The Dusun was the highlight of our trip to Malaysia. We stayed in Berembun House and absolutely loved it.

It's a simple little house but it was perfect for us as a couple. It has a ceiling fan, bathroom with shower and toilet, and windows and doors that can be left open or closed. The outdoor kitchen was well equipped with refrigerator, gas cooker, kettle and sink.

The House has a great deck area with a shadecloth, table, chairs and lounge. The House is right next to the pool which we mostly had to ourselves. The bedroom looks out into the rainforest. We slept with the doors open and didn't have any issues with mosquitos. It was lovely to hear the sounds of nature in the night. We were well protected when it rained.

The breakfast was excellent and there was ample food. The staff were very friendly, but unobtrusive. They lit the BBQ for us at about 6pm and delivered our dinner for us to cook. The BBQ meals were good quality, with a mix of meat, fish, roast veggies and salads, and dessert.

The grounds are beautiful and extremely peaceful. There's no wifi, so The Dusun is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Don't forget to take a good book!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLB1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaanimBamadhaj, General Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

We are so glad you had a nice time in Berembun House. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Our stay at The Dusun got us in touch with a much needed dose of nature,peace and quiet. We chose to unplug for 3 days to spend quality time and at the end of which we were completely rejuvenated.
The lodge was perfect for our family and we lacked nothing. It was simple and tasteful.
The staff were very pleasant and the food we ordered was simple and tasty. (We mixed it up by partly cooking within our well equipped kitchenette and ordering a very well made barbecue by Dusun)
Trekking up a nearby waterfall was immensely fun and adventurous (I would classify this as medium difficulty) and the local Orang-asli guide that Dusun recommended was fabulous.
The rest of time was spent swimming,reading and just soaking in the freshness of the pantai hills.
Will be back for more.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkubair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaanimBamadhaj, General Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Kubair,
It was a pleasure having you, thank you for coming and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you back. Warm regards to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seremban
36.9 km away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,270 reviews
11.9 km away
Sri Senawang Hotel
Sri Senawang Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seremban
6 reviews
37 km away
Glory Beach Resort
Glory Beach Resort
#19 of 37 in Port Dickson
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.8 km away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,534 reviews
11.8 km away
Royale Chulan Seremban
Royale Chulan Seremban
#3 of 14 in Seremban
340 reviews
11.2 km away
Klana Resort Seremban
Klana Resort Seremban
#10 of 14 in Seremban
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Address: Jalan Kolam Air, Seremban 71770, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Seremban District > Seremban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Seremban
Price Range: ₹ 7,157 - ₹ 15,796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dusun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun is a small resort on a fruit orchard with views of the Berembun rainforest reserve. Set on a small hill, the Dusun rents out houses that are set apart from each other not only to offer peace and privacy, but also to catch the winds with traditional architecture and enjoy lovely views. Each house has a fully equipped kitchen for those who love to cook and a barbecue on an open deck for lingering dinners. Breakfast is provided while lunch and dinner can be catered if you prefer not to cook.We are just an hour south of Kuala Lumpur. KLIA or Kuala Lumpur International airport is in between us and Kuala Lumpur city so we're the perfect nature escape for those in transit who would prefer to give the city a miss. The Dusun honors sustainable practices in farming and building, which has created a beautiful and healthy environment. As the family enjoys a good relationship with the local community, the business only hires from the nearby kampungs and shops from small entrepreneurs or other interesting responsible businesses as much as possible. All activities that guests enjoy here were created to raise awareness of Malaysia’s beautiful natural heritage and support local traditions, communities and NGOs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Dusun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dusun Hotel Seremban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing