We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
114
83
21
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
83
21
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jungle trek nasi lemak open air mosquito net close to nature bring your own fresh air unique experience tranquil retreat rainy season luxury resort touch with nature great escape longer stay bbq dinner creepy crawlies wooden house
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We had a wonderful time staying four nights at The Dusun during our Malaysia trip. We enjoyed the jungle sounds, the cosy little houses we stayed in, the beautiful views, the nice pools and the freshly cooked meals that were every time again a delicious surprise.

We booked both Perling houses, one for our two kids (8 and 5 yo) and one for me and my husband. The houses are next to each other and connected via the terrace, so we can very much recommend this for a family (even with more than two children).

Don't expect material luxury, but on the other hand, we enjoyed great luxury in terms of service, food and surrounding. The perfect retreat!

Room tip: See review: we recommend booking both Perling houses for a family.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HilkeVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaanimBamadhaj, General Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Hilke,
Thank you for your visit and taking the time to write a review. We will soon be introducing cooking workshops for the dishes specific to this state.We are glad you all enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

my first nature retreat in the forest. located not that far from KL and Seremban city. has a blessed and meaningful time here. love the salt water pool, very refreshing and less irritation to my eyes. very quite and quite clean room. and the owner and staff took effort to greet each of the guest during breakfast. love it very much. will come again to stay in other room. btw, we stayed in perling air, very strategically located to the pool.

Room tip: Perling Air or Bukit is more privacy. It's not near to cafe area.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaraMohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaanimBamadhaj, General Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Fara, Thank you for coming to visit us and taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The Dusun was the highlight of our trip to Malaysia. We stayed in Berembun House and absolutely loved it.

It's a simple little house but it was perfect for us as a couple. It has a ceiling fan, bathroom with shower and toilet, and windows and doors that can be left open or closed. The outdoor kitchen was well equipped with refrigerator, gas cooker, kettle and sink.

The House has a great deck area with a shadecloth, table, chairs and lounge. The House is right next to the pool which we mostly had to ourselves. The bedroom looks out into the rainforest. We slept with the doors open and didn't have any issues with mosquitos. It was lovely to hear the sounds of nature in the night. We were well protected when it rained.

The breakfast was excellent and there was ample food. The staff were very friendly, but unobtrusive. They lit the BBQ for us at about 6pm and delivered our dinner for us to cook. The BBQ meals were good quality, with a mix of meat, fish, roast veggies and salads, and dessert.

The grounds are beautiful and extremely peaceful. There's no wifi, so The Dusun is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Don't forget to take a good book!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLB1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaanimBamadhaj, General Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

We are so glad you had a nice time in Berembun House. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Our stay at The Dusun got us in touch with a much needed dose of nature,peace and quiet. We chose to unplug for 3 days to spend quality time and at the end of which we were completely rejuvenated.
The lodge was perfect for our family and we lacked nothing. It was simple and tasteful.
The staff were very pleasant and the food we ordered was simple and tasty. (We mixed it up by partly cooking within our well equipped kitchenette and ordering a very well made barbecue by Dusun)
Trekking up a nearby waterfall was immensely fun and adventurous (I would classify this as medium difficulty) and the local Orang-asli guide that Dusun recommended was fabulous.
The rest of time was spent swimming,reading and just soaking in the freshness of the pantai hills.
Will be back for more.
Thank you.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkubair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaanimBamadhaj, General Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Kubair,
It was a pleasure having you, thank you for coming and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you back. Warm regards to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a getaway with friends also with young kids during the Raya break. The kids enjoyed seeing toads, moths, skinks, butterflies and other animals up close. We also enjoyed the owners' dog and cats making house calls.

The insect sounds at night are soooo loud. Took me a while to sleep since I'm such a city girl. But luckily not many mosquitoes at night. Walk carefully at night to avoid stepping on the insects or lizard poop tho.

The swimming pools were inviting. Water was cold though, so you'd need to keep moving around to be comfortable.

Sora house's ground floor bedroom suitable for my 1 year old who was busy climbing everywhere. It can be enclosed to keep her safe. My 5 year old slept on a mattress on the floor happily. All the kids enjoyed climbing the spiral staircase. Everyone enjoyed the views from the open air double height living room. Pitch dark at night made it easy to see the stars and fireflies!

Management was friendly and quickly looked into rainwater leaking into the house, a mix up on the food order and all feedback.

Breakfast was well received, especially the nasi lemak and local coffee. They also had a couple of baby high chairs at the breakfast area. The BBQ requested was ample and we brought our own BBQ the first night (perhaps brushes can be provided to oil the wire grill? We made do with some serai from outside tho!). Otherwise, everything was provided for us to self-cater.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lusean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dusun, Owner at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. It is encouraging to hear good things about the food and management response to problems - especially during Raya, when we had managers on leave! You may be a city girl, but using the lemon grass outside your house to make a brush shows a real Dusun spirit...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews