We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing retreat!”
Review of The Dusun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dusun
Ranked #1 of 24 Seremban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2016

The Dusun is the ideal place for people looking for an escape from the hustle bustle of city life. The air is fresh, the view from our unit is stunning. This is the best way to get close to nature.

We had a 2-night stay in The Dusun, Tembusu House. Our house is a double storey unit. The living area is on the top storey, while the toilet and kitchen is at the lower level. The kitchen is well-equipped with rice cooker, cooking pots (various sizes), cooking pans, utensils and some basic seasoning. We bought some food from Tesco in Seremban and I managed to cook a decent meal.

The living area is spacious; there is wall but no door. So the good thing is you get an unblocked view of the mountain. At night, sleeping in a room without a door is quite thrilling. But we did not worry too much because the area was gated. The entrance gate is closed in the evening. Sleeping with the sounds of the insects, crickets, and the frog is truly a unique experience. Though there was no aircon (only fan), the place gets quite cold at night. Waking up the next day to the lush greenery, greeted by the chirping of the birds and sounds of the cricket is an amazing experience that I’ll never forget.

On our first day, we didn't close the mosquito net until evening, and realized that some insects have got onto our bed. Please learn from our lesson: close the mosquito net once you check in!

You'll find flying insects, mosquitos, snails, frogs in the house. We even saw a dead bat on the second morning. You need to adjust your mindset a bit because you are living in their space. So please respect (but not harm) them.

Our first breakfast was nasi lemak. I find it bare because there was only one egg, few slices of cucumber and anchovy. I requested for some toast bread and was happy with it. On day two, we had 'Lempeng', a kind of pan cake with curry. The curry was really yummy. All the breakfast came with coffee/tea, fruit juice and cut fruit.

In the afternoon, the place gets quite hot. We drove down to Seremban city centre to get some aircon and to replenish our wine. It was only 25 mins drive. The only thing is when we drive back to the Dusun, there was a short stretch of very steep road with a very sharp turn. But we did fine (we drove a Myvi), just keep it slow and you'll be okay.

My only comment is the management should replace the mosquito net (it has got many holes) and the knife (which was bent and blunt).

Room Tip: Remember to close the mosquito net before it turns dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Merlion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dusun, Owner at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Thank you for your review. You have the "Dusun" attitude of sharing space with other living things - we like that. Thanks for your feedback too - we have replaced the knife and we are working on tailoring a new net.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2016

We stayed at the Tembusu Room for one night to experience the natural surrounding and indeed it was a pleasant one.

I would urge visitors to read the FAQ from their website and be mentally prepared it is not meant to be a spa resort so some furnitures may look a bit run-down and rustic:
- Mosquitoes: there are really many and this is part of the experience. Sleeping on a bed with mosquito netting is quite an experience
- Transport: The drive up the Dusun is quite steep and there is only space for one car so it is really important that you communicate your arrival time with the staff
- Food: There is a decent kitchen with the necessary condiments so do make full use of it by bringing food to cook there. The entrance closes at about dinner time and you wont really want to drive out for dinner
- Accommodation: The Tembusu Room is like a balcony so that you can have a view of the forest when you sleep. There is not really a door but the place is safe; you just need to be mentally prepared for that.

The place only have 6 "buildings" to accommodate 18 guests. A good place if you want some quiet time (less the chirping of birds and buzzing of crickets/lizards)

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tksoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

I do not know about the other houses but I do feel Perling Bukit needs spring cleaning.

By saying that, I can pass the stains on the mattress at the window, stains on the curtains, the dirt inside the candle holder and the dark pans.

I CAN'T pass the dirt at the opening of the water dispenser. Felt eerie each time I take water from the dispenser.

Nonetheless, the toilet is clean. Breakfast is nice (try going out to the breakfast place rather than having them at your stay because it is very comfortable there).The environment is nice.

I feel one will need to bring own gas stove and pot for steamboat.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JoanneCMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dusun, Owner at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

We really appreciate your feedback on Perling House. We are doing a spring clean this week, including replacing the window seat cover and the curtains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

If you are looking to surrender yourself to nature, The Dusun is where you should be. Surrounded by breathtaking views of the forest, the smell of fresh air, leaves rustling through the wind, frogs croaking, crickets chirping - they are all part of the reason for us finding it hard to leave.

We arrived just after lunch time and were greeted by the beautiful, Ikin, who brought us to our room, Perling Air. While strolling down the hill to our room, we immediately fell in love with the view. There are 2 infinity pools. One of which is located just next to us. Perling Air is equipped with all the basic things you need to make you feel at home. It comes with a kitchen complete with pots and pans, and basic utensils you need, to cook. The bed was comfortable. The open concept toilet has hot and cold shower with fabulous natural body soap and shampoo.

Be prepared to do nothing. It is a place for you to unwind. We were at The Dusun for 3 nights. Spent most of our time outside on the deck and by the pool, reading. It was just simply therapeutic. I would suggest to bring more books or magazines, so you do not end up like us, having to go out to town just to get more.

We went on a jungle walk guided by the lovely Ah Kau. The trail was relatively easy, so it is fit for all level of fitness. Although, considering our age difference, I have indeed been put to shame by Ah Kau's level of stamina, which is obviously way better than mine :) The walk took us approximately 3 hours, including a swim in the fresh water river. I would suggest to go for this walk, to see the actual forest from the inside.

The Dusun is located about 20 minutes from Seremban Bus Terminal. As we did not have our own vehicle, we had to liaise with their friendly taxi driver, Mohamad, for our pick up. So, although it is easier if you have your own vehicle, it is equally as easy without one. Just be sure to inform them in advance.

Thanks to all the lovely staff at The Dusun, we had a pleasant stay and hope to come back soon :)

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _nusrahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Staying at The Dusun is quite simply an experience beyond anything we expected. The peace and tranquillity is overwhelming. The location is amazing. What appears to be quite odd and restrictive pre-conditions to your stay, are obvious and necessary when you get there and absorb the atmosphere around you. The open architecture of our villa only adds to the relaxing air of the place, forcing you to slow down and relax. Great food. Friendly, discreet and subtle service that simply allows you to slip in to the surrounding atmosphere and relax.
Leaving The Dusun is a scary thing as the World seems to be travelling at a ridiculously fast pace beyond it's gates, leaving you craving it's peace and tranquillity and a return as quickly as possible.
Overall, simply stunning.

Room Tip: Quite simply book any of their rooms and sit back with a good book....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seremban
36.9 km away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,270 reviews
11.9 km away
Sri Senawang Hotel
Sri Senawang Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seremban
6 reviews
11.2 km away
Klana Resort Seremban
Klana Resort Seremban
#10 of 14 in Seremban
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37 km away
Glory Beach Resort
Glory Beach Resort
#19 of 37 in Port Dickson
282 reviews
13.7 km away
Palm Seremban Hotel
Palm Seremban Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seremban
123 reviews
38.8 km away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Address: Jalan Kolam Air, Seremban 71770, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Seremban District > Seremban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Seremban
Price Range: ₹ 7,198 - ₹ 15,360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dusun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun is a small resort on a fruit orchard with views of the Berembun rainforest reserve. Set on a small hill, the Dusun rents out houses that are set apart from each other not only to offer peace and privacy, but also to catch the winds with traditional architecture and enjoy lovely views. Each house has a fully equipped kitchen for those who love to cook and a barbecue on an open deck for lingering dinners. Breakfast is provided while lunch and dinner can be catered if you prefer not to cook.We are just an hour south of Kuala Lumpur. KLIA or Kuala Lumpur International airport is in between us and Kuala Lumpur city so we're the perfect nature escape for those in transit who would prefer to give the city a miss. The Dusun honors sustainable practices in farming and building, which has created a beautiful and healthy environment. As the family enjoys a good relationship with the local community, the business only hires from the nearby kampungs and shops from small entrepreneurs or other interesting responsible businesses as much as possible. All activities that guests enjoy here were created to raise awareness of Malaysia’s beautiful natural heritage and support local traditions, communities and NGOs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Dusun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dusun Hotel Seremban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing