We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Kota Bharu - a town in the middle of nowhere ;-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Renai Hotel Kota Bharu ( formerly Renaissance Kota Bharu)
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Kota Bharu was the place we had to stay for a night to catch the very morning flight to KL and then Bali Island. The Renaissance hotel was a very nice surrprise for both of us - very clean, nice spacious room, good size bathroom. The breakfast aslo was a nice thing to have - also it was included in room price. Swimming pool is very tiny, tennis court was a joke and fitness centre was closed - we did used any of them as it was not worth.
I really cannot complain about this place and when you compare it with the surroundings or the town in general - you are pretty sure you made a good choice ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlawekPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 241 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed for two nights in a suite on the top floor. Decent view (though not much to actually see) and the room was spacious enough. Service was friendly and I managed to try the Spa. The spa is basic but reasonably priced for its massages. The club lounge is also pretty basic and has a decent spread for tea, but no breakfast. Breakfast at the restaurant was a real frenzy, with far too many people trying to squeeze in. The hotel was surprisingly busy for such a sleepy town. While the shower and TV were fine, I had trouble controlling the room temperature. Suspect it has to do with the hotel's age - the rooms and decor really need some refurbishment. Overall, I can't fault the staff who were very good to me but the hotel and rooms really need updating. Still, a far sight better than a couple of other city hotels in KB that I stepped into. Didn't visit the mall, nor did I have a desire to from the look of the place

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank SRFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel actually isn't bad, although Kota Bharu is an ugly, unpleasant city. My room was more or less "deluxe," as had been described, and the restaurant very fine. In fact, dinner there was exceptional on the first evening, as were the breakfasts. No wine is available in the dining room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed for one night there on business. I think this is the best hotel in Kota Bharu so I don't have much choice. I have no complain on the service but the room was smelly as if from wet carpet and the facilities were old and quite dull. Definitely not worth the money that I spent for the room.

The positive side probably the location is in the middle of town and you can just walk next door to shop and eat and since I was staying at 14 floor, the view of the town is quite nice.

Room Tip: Perhaps you can ask to view the room first if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The buiding look rather old but outstanding with its unique design. Overall I feel it is the best in Kota Bharu. It is equipped with modern facilities not found in most of the hotels around. Its location is good and convenient for everybody for shopping, banking and food. Services are excellent. Its minus point is the limited space for parking of cars and it is very close to the busy road and shopping complex. Its rate is a premium.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Bharu
1.2 km away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 41 in Kota Bharu
417 reviews
2.4 km away
Grand Riverview Hotel
Grand Riverview Hotel
#4 of 41 in Kota Bharu
152 reviews
2.2 km away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#3 of 41 in Kota Bharu
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
40.1 km away
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Pasir Puteh
144 reviews
2 km away
Flora Place Hotel
Flora Place Hotel
#12 of 41 in Kota Bharu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Renai Hotel Kota Bharu ( formerly Renaissance Kota Bharu)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Renai Hotel Kota Bharu ( formerly Renaissance Kota Bharu)

Address: Jalan Sultan Yahya Petra | Kota Sri Mutiara, Kota Bharu 15150, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range: ₹ 4,177 - ₹ 6,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Renai Hotel Kota Bharu ( formerly Renaissance Kota Bharu) 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the rich Malay culture at The Grand Renai Kota Bharu Hotel, a Lifestyle Hotel and the city's only five star international class hotel with premier convention and wedding venue. Conveniently located in the heart of Kota Bharu's commercial and shopping district and also close to the domestic airport. For business or leisure traveler, the 298 spacious accommodation rooms and suites provides excellent service and facilities including High Speed Internet, 2 Executive Floors with dedicated Club Lounge,Business Centre, wireless meeting rooms with a Grand Ballroom, and on-site event management to create exhibitions, conventions, meetings and most extravagant weddings. The Hotel's Fitness Centre is Kota Bharu's largest gymnasium equipped with the latest fitness equipment, steam rooms, sauna, Jacuzzi and an outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Grand Renai Hotel Kota Bharu ( formerly Renaissance Kota Bharu) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Kota Bharu
Kota Bharu Renaissance
The Grand Renai Hotel Kota Bharu ( Formerly Renaissance Kota Bharu) Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing