We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caution”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Caution”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Must be careful when you going back to room , beware of snake.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liaw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    65
    53
    21
    16
See reviews for
55
53
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

For this price, you can not complain but be prepared as this hotel comes with a long list of UGLY and BAD rather than Good. The only good i can think of is the Beach although it is relativelyt far from everything. Besides that, there are NO porters, NO lifts, NO life guards at the pool, NO 24 room service, Not children friendly, etc.. To add to that, my room had a foul stench, the toilet was dirty, the airconditioned was blowing warm air even on maximum, the bed had dustmites and dead cockroaches. The water was either scalding Hot or freezing Cold. This list is Not exhasutive. . .

Room Tip: Probably the rooms nearer to the beach are better but i dare not go there again to find out
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

pj
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

the hotel was frankly Terrible. My room had bugs, cockroaches, mosquitoes both dead and alive on all 4 corners of the room and bed sheets. Under the bed had Condom and cigratte wrappers. Jessie and my children got bitten by dust mites. The water pressure was weak with either scalding hot or freezing cold water. Besides that, the toilet is dirty and not children friendly. To add to that the variety at breakfast was close to pathetic.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terenceyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I prebooked a room at the Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort through Agoda as it was the best value for money I could find in the area. Indeed there are not a huge number of options on Pantai Tenggah, and if I had my time again I probably might have stayed on Pantai Cenang, or somewhere in between Pantai Tenggah and Pantai Cenang. I thought Cenang would be too busy and hectic for me, but really it wasn't as bustling as I expected, so it would've been OK. In contrast, there are hardly any shops in the Tenggah area, and having a car certainly came in handy when staying here. Finding the hotel was easy, as there were signs from the airport.
Anyway, the hotel grounds, rooms and swimming pools were clean. There is one main pool for the big kids, and a small shallow pool for the little kids! The bigger pool is not huge, but big enough that you can do some laps in it.
Checkin and cleaning staff were polite and pleasant, I had no qualms with them though I didn't have much to do with them either.
My room was a bit ancient, but I could live with this as it wasn't a 5 star resort I was expecting. Nevertheless I found there was no hot water in the shower, and I could hear the plumbing from the adjacent room. The noise was fixed by closing the bathroom sliding door, and I didn't complain about the lack of hot water as I wasn't there long and didn't have time to stuff around with them.
The airconditioner in the room was effective but noisy (rattling), so it prevented me from having a really decent nights' sleep.
Breakfast was a bit of an industrial affair, it was quite busy and felt a bit like a high school canteen. The variety was reasonable and as always you can find something that you like. Nothing special, but not bad and I didn't get sick.
The hotel is beachfront, which is nice, and there is a restaurant/bar attached to the hotel on the beach. The beach itself is nice, but not the prettiest I've ever seen, and there is a patrolled swimming area about 100m down from the hotel towards Pantai Cenang. The beach was a bit dirty, with some litter around which was a shame.
Overall this hotel was value for money, but I think they could do with some updating, or perhaps they should adjust their prices down a little. There are easy fixes to most of the problems, but I'm usually of the belief that problems should be nipped in the bud before they arise, so I shouldn't have to bring earplugs, and I shouldn't have to ask for hot water in the shower! The good points were the relaxed location and the pool. Most of the parasailing in the area seems to start and finish up the other end of Pantai Tenggah, at the end of Jalan Teluk Baru, so if you're up for it (and it was heaps of fun!), then go there and try to negotiate a better rate than the tour operators give you.
For duty free goods, go to Kuah Town, though many of the cigarette and alcohol prices are the same at the airport duty-free store. The duty free department store at the Langkawi Cineplex on Jalan Padang Matsirat has a good variety of clothing and alcohol. If you're on Langkawi, it's actually a pretty good idea to spend a couple of days exploring Kuah town. Make sure you also visit the cable-car as well as the 7 Wells a bit up the road from the Oriental Village/Cable Car complex. The 7 Wells was a tiring but worthwhile climb.
To conclude, if you're a budget-conscious traveller and want to stay in Pantai Tenggah, consider The Lanai but don't discount the other options.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at the Lanai for 2 nights whilst visiting Langkawi. It was very cheap, good value for money but a bit out of the way. If you want to get to the main area of town you're best to get a taxi, as it's a long walk but taxis are cheap. If you do walk there is a plus side, there are plenty of bars with Happy Hours along the way!!!

The hotel is right on a beautiful beach with a great beach bar and cafe. The water sports seemed to be cheaper than on the main part of the town and it certainly was quieter.

The room was very basic, but just what we expected/wanted. Breakfast was great, lots of variety although there was no chilled water, only warm....not what you need after a night full of happy hours and intense heat!!

If your after a quiet, cheap get-away, this is the place for you. If you want to be in the thick of it with more bars and restaurants then stay in Cenang.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, although it was a little out of the way for me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.0 km away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#57 of 103 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.9 km away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
1.3 km away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
7.4 km away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 103 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Property: The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Number of rooms: 104
Also Known As:
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Lanai Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing