We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come here when you need a nice week to rejuvenate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resorts World Langkawi
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Come here when you need a nice week to rejuvenate.”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I visited this resort for my Christmas vacation. Overall an okay stay. The resort is quite large and well located. In fact a cruise liner docked just near it and the passangers were able to step inot the hotel directly.

Island hopping, water sports etc...are attractions that the hotel provides. Otherwise one can always exploer on your own. We tried some nice cray fish (the locals called it lobsters..;-)) in a restaurant near the hotel in the market. Quite famous for the sea food I must say and the dish was excellent.

The Christams celebrations were dissapointing at the hotel. Sad singers and food. By 9:00 pm the food was almost over and for the expense it was not as nice.

I would suggest go to a nice english resort or even Goa for that matter for Christams. Come here when you need a nice week to rejuvenate.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VenkyChetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    379
    265
    94
    53
See reviews for
259
341
27
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My son's IPAD went missing!!!! out of our room during our stay. Not one person from hotel management even attempted to contact me regarding this theft.
Not one person in the hotel voiced any regret that this happened to us.
Most staff pretended it didn't happen. Despite paying for one week in this hotel, and the loss of the IPAD , they wouldn't even keep my valuables in their safe system until I departed the hotel, they wanted an extra $300 RM in cash, which I didn't have. talk about pathetic customer service. The hotel had spectacular views , the breakfasts were great, the rooms were old and tired, but very clean, and the head of security at the hotel was professional and thorough. Overall very disappointed with level of customer service, and severe lack of caring. IF YOU USE THIS HOTEL. USE THE SAFE AT THE HOTEL DESK FOR ALL OF YOUR VALUABLES, AND MAKE NO EXCEPTIONS TO THIS. THERE IS NO ROOM SAFES, WHICH IS EXTREMELY INCOnVENIENT, WHICH IS SOMETHING TO REALLY THINK ABOUT BEFORE BOOKING.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judyorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is my second stay at Awana. Price wise, it is fairly cheap if you hunt around a bit but in reality you do get what you pay for as although advertised as a 4 star hotel, what you are getting is actually more of a 3 star standard. So manage your expectations.

During my last day, I brought my entire family which includes my wife and my 2 kids. One big plus point for me is that the rooms come with twin queen-sized beds which means the 4 of us can sleep comfortably without additional bedding. The sea facing rooms have really spectacular views of the sea especially during sun sets. The rooms are fairly old and badly in need of a renovation to spruce things up a bit. The swimming pool area has a kids play area which was a big hit with my kids. The buffet breakfast is quite good in terms of selection but just average in terms of quality. My advice is to stick to the local fare.

The hotel is located in quite a secluded location so getting in and out of the place can be a problem. However if you are renting a car during your stay, this will not be a problem as they have ample parking space. There is no beach to speak of but Pantai Cenang is not too far away.

Located nearby (10 mins walk) is the jetty for the island hopping tour. If you are interested in going on the tour, it is much cheaper to get to the jetty on your own and book the tour from one of the operators. I didn't know this on my previous trip and arranged for hotel pick up. I got charged a whole lot more for a mere 2 min trip to the jetty from the hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a sea view room. The extra over the garden view room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Ok so I'll start with the good points....the breakfast and lunch buffet was lovely. Freshly cooked and everything had a vast selection. The pool was lovely and clean and the overall location of the hotel is in a pretty port.

Now on to the bad stuff. But please bear in mind this is a fairly cheap hotel compared to the others in the area...airport transfer doesn't exist unless you give them 72 hours notice. Nothing on my booking confirmation ti tell me this. Wifi is not free. It's RM40 per day (£8) and the signal drops every 5 mins or so, so you have to keep logging back in. The staff are rude and uninterested in your needs. Rooms are very very tired looking and in need of more than a lick of paint. Our toilet was so small it was almost impossible to shut the door without lifting your legs up. Toilet was dirty when we arrived and it wasn't cleaned once while we were there (4 nights). No balcony despite being in a deluxe room. Air con almost non-existent. Pretty much just the use of a ceiling fan. The pillows were rock hard and the bed creaked soloudly every time you moved a muscle. The beach is only accessible by boat. It's a dirty beach full of litter with no toilets or bar or anything on there. So once you're there you're stranded until they come back with the boat to collect you. And the final thing is that the pool bar takes your orders which is then sent to the restaurant. So it takes about 20 minutes to get a drink

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stay for 2 nights at the Awana and were surprised of the service we recieved and the quality of the hotel, after other reviews . First they made our room available at 10am so after a long flight it was very well appreciated, thank you Awana. Our room was a Premier Seaview which was very spacious, clean and well appointed, with a huge balcony overlooking an amazing view of the island and harbour. It would not matter where I slept with a view like that. Remember this is not in the Pantai Cenang area and costs 8rm for taxi to get there, little to pay to wake to a view like that. The pool area was great especially for children with slide, fountains, yet the other pool was quiet and private. Breakfast had a good selection of good quality food available, as we ate in Cenang I cannot comment on the restaurant but breakfast was good. Over all we enjoyed our stay and would return with no hesitation, for that view and closeness of boats to explore the real Lankawi.

Room Tip: Got to get a room with ocean views.The view is forever changing with something going on all the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.5 km away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
14.3 km away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
2.5 km away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
10.2 km away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#27 of 103 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
8.7 km away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 103 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Langkawi

Property: Resorts World Langkawi
Address: Tanjung Malai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Porto Malai Langkawi)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,913 - ₹ 42,472
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resorts World Langkawi is located 5 minutes away from the popular Cenang Beach and Tengah Beach, and approximately 15 minutes away from Langkawi International Airport. The seafront resort and marina overlooks east of Langkawi UNESCO Global Geopark, with the Dayang Bunting Marble Geoforest as its backdrop and the sun rising along it. Peaceful and relaxing, the resort has finely furnished rooms and boasts spectacular and unobstructed views of the ocean, especially the newly renovated rooms of modern and functional design. Enjoy the convenience of our private jetty for activities like island hopping, private boat rides, sunset cruises and fishing. Intimate dining and walks along the boardwalk, or pampering at the recognized 5-star Javanese spa (Taman Sari Royal Heritage Spa), are great options for couples. The hotel also provides free shuttle to Cenang Beach 5 times a day. The idyllic Resorts World Langkawi is perfect for travelers who appreciate scenery and romance, given peace and privacy away from busy tourist centers but at the same time mobility convenience at its doorstep. Live band performance is available daily except Monday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resorts World Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Porto Malai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Awana Porto Malai Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Awana Porto Malai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing