We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxed and Relaxing”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

There are many reviews that put the resort down as being run down and overpriced. Did they check out the price of other resorts on Langkawi. True you can stay for cheaper - there are tin huts for less than £10 a night, but for what you get given the expensive nature of Langkawi accomodation is pretty good. True the other 2 hotels we stayed in were both 5 star (the Pacific Regency in KL and Pullman in Kuching) and were much more ritzy and much less expensive but that's simply supply and demand. What I would say is spend the extra £10 a night to go for a garden villa over the standard rooms - these are closer to the road and we upgraded after the first night due to noise from a local night club. The breakfast is okay, standard buffet rubbish you get most places but perfectly adequate. We didn't have any other meals as there are so many other great places within walking distance - try the indian (Sagar) just out the main gates on the left - it's fantastic (we went back for our last night). Also take the chance to have all your clothes cleaned for your return - a little laundret is out the gates and opposite (Sofia) very cheep and they come back vaccume packed! Try the happy hour for cocktails (it's actually 3 hours from 4pm-7pm) go easy on the ice tea's as they are really strong! The pools are great especially quieter salt water one and the location and spread along the beach unbeatable. Views out to the little islands are enchanting and outside shower in the villa a true tropical treat. All the staff were very friendly and spoke english very well. Only rude people were the Russian tourists who were plentiful. It's a great example of eco tourism with recycling and solar panels around the resort. Go, relax into the lifestyle and enjoy!

Room Tip: Go for a garden villa or splash out on a beach villa. Those closer to the beach and away from the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotmark2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

We thank you for your appreciative notes on our Beach and Garden Villa rooms, the Salt water pool and our staff which make us extremely happy that you have noticed them especially on our vision to promote eco-tourism to the public.

We are responsible to our next generation and the only way to hand Mother Earth to them is by taking care of our environment.

Your positive comments make us want to do give more and improve our services. We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. We try our best to cater to guest’s needs and wants.

We hope you will come back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    623
    239
    93
    53
See reviews for
467
543
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Took a last minute weekend break to the Frangipani with the Grandkids. Booked two adjoining villas for all of us 3 adults and 3 kids whick accommodated us very well. Management and staff were very friendly and nothing was too much truoble for them. Service was good and as expected had to wait a little for the food but not too long. Rooms were clean and well maintained, outdoor shower was very pleasant.

Pool was ideal for the kids and plenty sun loungers for the adults. Pool bar prices very reasonable.

Overall, nice place, not over priced and would go back for a short break.

Room Tip: Take the sea view rooms, we had rooms 423 and 424 with good internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

First impression upon arriving at the resort is that it needs a little upgrading and renovation. Decor and style is stuck in the '80's. However, what impressed us is the friendliness of the staff. Check-in took just a few minutes. Stayed at the standard room with balcony. Room size is ok; clean, no complain with the bed and bed sheets. Room was cleaned everyday.

The only complain I have is the breakfast; room we booked comes with breakfast. They have a very limited menu, perhaps they should add more variety to it. Same with their a la carte menu.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelphotographer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes on our beach, the location of our resort and the restaurant which make us extremely happy that you have noticed them. We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. We try our best to cater to guest’s needs and wants.

Our Standard Room upgrades that are in line with landscaping ambience to maintain our Green concept image is scheduled to complete by June end this year. You will be happy to see the renewed look on your next visit.

Our Executive Chef is always experimenting with some interesting food items to be added to the buffet breakfast, while the Ala’carte menu upgrade is being looked into. Home grown fresh organic sugar cane juice harvested from our farm is now available on order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I returned two weeks ago from our holiday in Langkawi. We have been several times to Langkawi and have tried a variety of accommodations. We stayed at the Frangipani Resort for the first time. We selected a Beach Villa (sea facing, RM 940 per night, room# 302) and stayed here for three nights. Compared to other accommodations on Langkawi (and Bali) we felt that this was at least 30% overpriced for what it had to offer. The room was good and the outdoor shower a nice touch. It surprised us that bedsheets were not renewed every day and we had to take care to throw our towels on the floor otherwise they would not be replaced. The breakfast buffet was sufficient: a wide choice of items. What surprised us was the complete lack of shadow: there are almost no trees providing shadow and there are no parasols. During the afternoons we saw almost nobody at the resort due to this: everybody seemed fleeing from the strong sun.
Our room was close to the restaurant, which made that we heard the music every evening, which went on until after 11PM. If the music were good this would not be a nuisance.....
The gym is a small room with only a few fans, no towels or water. It has two running belts, one cycling machine and a set of dumbbells.
The location is good if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing time. Pantai Tengah is much quieter than Pantai Chenang and the Frangipani is located at the far end of the beach. There are only a few restaurants nearby but a taxi to Pantai Chenang is cheap and there is a lot of choice over there.
All in all we did not have a bad time, but we will not return here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLinTKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes on our rooms and the location of our resort which make us extremely happy that you have noticed them. We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. We try our best to cater to guest’s needs and wants.

We encourage guest participation in our Environment & Energy Conservation Program to use the prepared card that says guests wanting to change the bed sheets daily, are to place the card on the bed.

Depending on demand, at times there are insufficient shades from the natural trees which we are now in the midst of arranging to get more umbrellas.
Guests who feel disturbed by the music at the Restaurant are allowed to change room depending on room availability.

Together with my team, we very much look forward to your next visit to experience the new enhancements and we are very sure you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at Frangipani Resort for six nights. The overall impression is that this is very overpriced and that the owner is keeping operating expenses and investments to an absolute minimum. This resort is stuck in the 1980ies. The rooms and bathrooms are old. The hotel gym was smaller than a regular room - with no air conditioning, drinking water or towels. Impressively, there were no sunshades at the whole resort. Several of the waiters did not understand English, and to our surprise we did not get the food we ordered for dinner. In in-house band playing in the restaurant during the evenings...what a joke. When we asked the reception about restaurants in the area, they always replied that they only recommended a low-end Chinese restaurant which they got paid to recommend. We will not come back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesperandEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Many sincere thanks for your comments that will help us to take remedial actions and improve our services.

As a Green Hotel, our hallmark is to create an awareness to Reuse, Reduce and Recycle to avoid wastage.

We do not put air-condition in public areas like the gym, because it is not good for health during exercises, thus a fan is in place for comfort. While the gym is not manned, bath towels are available from the pool area which is within reach from it.

Training courses for English class and customer service are in the pipeline and only proven Restaurants with positive feedbacks from other guests are being recommended by our Receptionists. We do apologize if it is not up to your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.1 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
11.2 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.7 km away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
2.1 km away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
14.0 km away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#14 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,999 - ₹ 18,729
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing