We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at Frangipani Resort for six nights. The overall impression is that this is very overpriced and that the owner is keeping operating expenses and investments to an absolute minimum. This resort is stuck in the 1980ies. The rooms and bathrooms are old. The hotel gym was smaller than a regular room - with no air conditioning, drinking water or towels. Impressively, there were no sunshades at the whole resort. Several of the waiters did not understand English, and to our surprise we did not get the food we ordered for dinner. In in-house band playing in the restaurant during the evenings...what a joke. When we asked the reception about restaurants in the area, they always replied that they only recommended a low-end Chinese restaurant which they got paid to recommend. We will not come back

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesperandEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Many sincere thanks for your comments that will help us to take remedial actions and improve our services.

As a Green Hotel, our hallmark is to create an awareness to Reuse, Reduce and Recycle to avoid wastage.

We do not put air-condition in public areas like the gym, because it is not good for health during exercises, thus a fan is in place for comfort. While the gym is not manned, bath towels are available from the pool area which is within reach from it.

Training courses for English class and customer service are in the pipeline and only proven Restaurants with positive feedbacks from other guests are being recommended by our Receptionists. We do apologize if it is not up to your expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 909 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

I had read reviews on TripAdvisor before booking my 2 night stay here, and I hoped my stay would turn out to be excellent.

In fact, the location, amenities, pool and the restaurant turned out to be good. What was not so good was the quality of room and the service.

Room: Our room was a garden facing standard room; interiors are a bit old fashioned and small in size. Faucets in the bath tub were old and creaky and had to struggle with the shower adjustment knob.

Staff: Service was not upto the mark, the staff need better training in hospitality. For instance, the house keeping staff came to our room and asked whether we had any clothes for laundry. We told her that we wanted to give some under garments but they were not listed in the price list, so what should be done. Her response was one word - "Ok" and she walked away! Also at the time of checkout our luggage was taken from the room and left at the reception but there were no porters to help load the bags in the taxi. I had to do that myself. (All these were pointed out to a senior duty manager who listened to us with patience).

Surroundings: The pool, bar and the access to the beach are very good. There is a place for doing water sports just outside the resort. The sand is also clean and is well kept. A part of the beach is private for the resort.

Overall, just an average stay. Will look out for a better place next time I visit Langkawi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinodIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Ok rooms are basic but clean and perfectly adequate! The location is the key to this resort-far enough away from cenang beach so you don't have to smell the petrol from the landrovers and motorbikes whizzing up and down or dodge the parasails taking off or landing, and within easy walking distance of some of the best restaurants on the island. Pool is also a must in langkawi if you don't like jelly fish! Breakfast was a good selection and filled us up till dinner. Overall a very pretty resort with a laid back hippy feel. Would happily return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0uiseAndNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Travelling with our babyboy for the first time we thought we had found the perfect place- knowing that we would spend more time in the hotel room than we usually do, we wanted something nice where we could hang out. I was sooo disappointed - the bathroom was old with cracked tiles and a hole in the bath tub! I had been looking forward to some more luxury, not a place where I was disgusted to take a shower. Especially considering that the I don't think the rate was cheap - I would have expected this kind of bath room in one star hotel!

We did love the beach, the swimming pools and the surroundings. The staff was very kind and our baby boy was spoiled with smiles from them :-)
But pleeease update your rooms to 2012 standards!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tabinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Jeffrey Goh, General Manager replies -
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes on our beach, the surrounding & the staff which make us extremely happy that you have notice them. We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. As for the bathroom, we are in the midst of renovating to upgrade some of the rooms to suit the needs of our guests. We hope by your next visit, you will not be disappointed. Together with my team, we look forward very much to your next visit and experience the new enhancements for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Dear frangipani, we stayed in the beach villa which was fine. We liked the pool and the great sunsets. The food was ok as well. You have a decent hotel where we probably would have stayed longer if you did not asked 5star plus rates. So we moved to a 5star hotel where we payed much less and received much more.

O...and could you please fire the daily live music act.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hans073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.1 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
11.2 km away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,235 reviews
22.2 km away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
0.7 km away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
14.1 km away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: ₹ 5,298 - ₹ 16,811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing