We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS FABULOUS FABULOUS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“FABULOUS FABULOUS FABULOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel was wonderful, we spent 12 days there in April 2012 and will definantly be back when we come back to Langkawi. The staff here are wonderful, nothing is too much to ask and they will do anything for you. Food was sensational at all three restaurants and the room service was always excellent. The pool bar was wonderful and we enjoyed lunch there everry day. The rooms are spacious and well appointed they ciould probably use a bit of maintainance but only small things. The pool for families was sensational and we really our time there. The beach is clean and sensational and the sunsets were simply breathtaking. Overall I really cannot say enough wonderful thing about this resort it is definantly wonderful value for money and a wonderful 5 star holiday for the anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Angelpepper,
I am so glad that you stayed with us and very please to see that you had such a "Fabulous" time! It is great to hear that you are thinking of coming back again. So I and all the wondeful staff will certainly be here with opens arms to welcome you back Home to Paradise when you do.

Warmest personal regards,

Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    275
    62
    29
    37
See reviews for
261
698
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Pros:
Very nice location, clean quiet beach with spectacular view, nice climate, friendly staff, mostly good food, good sized and comfortable accommodation. Generally good also for familys and have activities for kids.
Cons:
Food was hit and miss, Rhu fine dining restuarant was excellent, Saffron was pretty good although a waiter spilt drinks on a customer while we were there, bun was stale for a burger that was ordered at the Sands which was dissapointing. Also dissapointing was the room survice meal. We again ordered the burger but it was stone cold.
Had a bad experience when the childrens pool pump broke and were told it wouldnt be fixed until the next day at 2pm. 2pm come and went and asking various staff and noone knew if it was fixed or not showing bad communication. After getting annoyed and the pool still did not appear to be fixed we went to the adult pool where we were promply told children were not allowed there. Manager then came over and said that the pool had been fixed when ifact it hadnt and they had just dosed up the pool with more clorine. Effectively ruined that day and almost the whole trip and suggests the resort is not as child friendly as they advertise.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Elio L,
Thanks for staying at Tanjung Rhu and for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor. Let me firstly apologise for our apparent inability to get the hamburger right for you on two occasions - that is quite unusual but I accept that we need to improve and we will of course do that as a priority. It was nice to hear that the experience at the Rhu & Saffron on the other hand was good.

Secondly, the issue regarding the pool was unfortunate as despite there having been a pump problem, the issue was under control and the pool was always perfectly safe to swim in. Unfortunately, as you say, there was some mis-communication issues by some of our staff that led to confusion for some of our valued guests - including yourself. My apologies once again for this issue and the resulting confusion. Just for the record, the pool was always safe to swim in (even though the water was slighly cloudy). The person who spoke to you at the Adults pool was in fact myself I think and I had advised that the pool was safe to swim in - we did'nt dose the pool up with more Chlorine but in fact had returned the pump to service and were monitoring the water quality via the large holding tank to ensure that the pool was correctly balanced and the water clarity was progressively returned to normal.

Once again my apologies for the issues and I trust that we will be able to more than make this up to you next time. I certainly believe that Tanjung Rhu provides a great retreat for couples and families and we will continue to strive to ensure that next time you are in Paradise, all will be "Perfect for Sure"!

Warmest personal regards,

Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was our third stay at the Tanjung Rhu (2004, 2006, April 2012). The gorgeous beach (with its 'turtle' rock, sandbar at low tide and mountain backdrop), good pools and generally friendly staff remain unchanged (special mention of Mimi at the Sands restaurant and Leni at the Saffron restaurant), and we had the relaxing, hassle free stay we were looking for.

The rooms and parts of the resort are, however, looking a little tired and in need of some maintenance. A refurb is underway, and we hope that will addresss this. Some work, mod con additions (eg ipod docking station/speakers as one suggestion) will need to be done/added to keep the rooms and resort at a luxury standard which is competitive with some of the other 5 star resorts on the island. An advantage this resort has over others is its all inclusive package - excellent value, and we think a must, as the resort is quite a way from town, so no real alternative to eating somewhere else without a journey. The other advantage is the beauty of its beachfront.

In terms of food, this was generally very good; the standard at the Saffron (Mediterranean) has improved, the Rhu has stayed much the same, but we were a little disappointed with the Sands - we think this should include/stay with more traditional Malaysian foods (for example you cannot order a laksa at this resort). Though we understand that it may help with non-English speakers, the introduction of food pictures on the Sands and in-house menus also lowers the tone/don't do justice to the food.

Room Tip: Unless you are looking for a beach view (which we had on this stay), would recommend that you take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear W S,
Thanks for your constructive review and thanks for making Tanjung Rhu your holiday destination for the third time. As you have mentioned we are embarking on an upgrading program for the rooms & restaurants that I believe will improve the product offering and further meet your expectations. I hope that you are able to experience this the next time you come to see us. We are also continuously working on improving the menus, especially at the Sands and I expect that the next iteration, which we are working on right now, will achieve even more guest appreciation. By the way, I should let you know that even if an item of preference is not on a menu, our chefs are fabulous at adapting to guest requests and with some notice can usually always satisfy and exceed expectations.

I agree that the All Inclusive Package is great value and am pleased that it was a feature of your time here. I am sure that Leni & Mimi will be excited to have been recognised here as well and we will be sure to also recognise them for their great service efforts.

I look forward to seeing you when you come back Home to Paradise for the 4th time.

Warmest personal regards,

Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent 8 days in Tanjung Rhu in April and it was idyllic. 3 great pools, a wonderful spa, 3 restaurants, and the beach.. and the sea....

The staff were very attentive and offered help in all circumstances (they repaired two of our shoes for free).

The hotel in general and the rooms are a little dated and with a light cosmetic refurb the whole place could rival the next door 4 Seasons, but then presumably the prices would be similar.

The food in the restaurant is good, but the range isn't extensive. but with 3 restaurants to choose from maybe I'm being too harsh.

Be sure to take a mangrove tour, but save money by arranging it yourself (we paid 180RM for the trip for 7 of us vs 300RM per person if the hotel arrange it)

Avoid the all inclusive option, it is overpriced and you will find yourself eating and drinking unecessarily just to get your money's worth

Room Tip: Aim for a larger room, you won't regret it. Room 502 is a particularly great one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fellamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear fellamee,
Thanks for staying with us and for the nice review. It was great to see that the staff were so attentive and met or exceeded your expectations and needs. I hope that you have all the details regarding the All Inclusive Package because it really is great value and I was surprised that you thought it was "overpriced" - perhaps it was not explained well to you because it is certainly the best value package in Langkawi and I think probably in the world for what is offered. You can also contact me for further details on:
enzo@tanjungrhu.com.my
Give it further consideration the next time you come back "Home to Paradise" because I am sure that you will not be disappointed.

Warmest personal regards,

Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at Tanjung Rhu twice - March 2008 & March 2010 - and will definitely go back one day when we can take a couple of weeks; it's too far to go for just a week. The beach is staggeringly beautiful and the resort has everything you could possibly want in terms of activities. We particularly liked being able to play table tennis and pool everyday. It became our 'thing' to play games in air-conditioned comfort after lunch when the beach was too hot. And sitting in the reading room later in the afternoon was also very pleasant. The staff were invariably professional and polite and the food was fabulous. I really miss it!

Room Tip: Even the smaller rooms are quite large in comparison with other hotels, but they have good informati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker064_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Walker064_10,
Wonderful to read your review and to know that your past visits have been so enjoyable and relaxing. We are all looking forward to seeing you again when you come back "Home" for two weeks.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
19.3 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
20.0 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
16.7 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
The Datai Langkawi
2.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
21.0 km away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Property: Tanjung Rhu Resort
Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,859 - ₹ 30,354
Hotel Class:5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Ostrovok so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing