We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
US$ 305
US$ 243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 287
US$ 176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 229
US$ 201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 246
US$ 139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 126
US$ 114
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa del Mar, Langkawi(Pantai Cenang)
US$ 275
US$ 219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 206
US$ 174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 137
US$ 113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 57
US$ 50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 77
US$ 50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,463)
Filter reviews
1,463 results
Traveller rating
985
323
76
33
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
985
323
76
33
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsall inclusive packagereading roomsands restaurantsands poolsaffron restaurantsand barcahaya roomroom checkchefs tableprivate beachour honeymoonmangrove tourlow tidefish farmfamily poolfour seasonsamazing beach
Filter
Updating list...
671 - 676 of 1,463 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This resort is set deep in a quiet forest by a secluded bay. It offers spectacular views from its three poolside restaurants and the library with its white sofas and full length glass walls.

The 'Cahaya Room' in which we stayed was spacious, airy, private and well appointed though a regular four floor climb in humid to hot Asian weather after three course meals and a bottle of wine was a stretch.

The outstanding feature in our view was the inclusive meal plan. It would have cost a small fortune to have paid for all meals and drinks separately, but this deal was so good giving access to the excellent meals offered that we kept expecting there would be some catch when we came to pay the final bill. There wasn't and we give top marks to what is definitely the most generous resort at which we've stayed.

It started very well with a transfer by the hotel's luxurious Jag. Several days later, we were most impressed by going on a full day Island tour provided freely by the hotel to compensate guests for some building noise in renovations (which we didn't hear from our room anyway).

The staff are a joy - pleasant and professional, the food is great, the scenery spectacular and the meal plan wraps up a very impressive package.

Room Tip: Avoid a top floor as not all guest wings have lifts.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear ochandkang,
Thanks for staying with us and for your great Review. I am so pleased that you had such a nice time here and were also able to enjoy seeing some of the island with the trips that were on offer while you were here. I have to agree with you that the All Inclusive Package is fabulous value but it is always nice to hear it from a valued guest so others will believe it's very true. I hope that you will be able to enjoy the great value all over again when you come back Home to Paradise once again.

Warmest personal regards,

Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

From the time you leave the airport until your return you receive first class treatment. A chauffeur to greet you, great receptionists who transfer you and your cases to the room before bothering with the necessary paperwork. From here on it just gets better, the restaurants offer an amazing array of foods with three restaurants to choose from. Poolside services if your too comfortable to get up. Agreed it may not suit every taste as it is rather out on a limb but hire a car and see what the island has to offer, take a cable car ride and enjoy the far reaching views of some of the other 99 islands. The people of Langkawi are always polite and charming in particular the staff of the Tanjung Rhu nothing seems to be too much trouble. This was our second trip from the UK and well worth the twelve hour flight.

Room Tip: If you have been previously persuade the hotel to give you a free upgrade
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJT41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear TJT41'
Thanks for staying with us again and I am pleased that you felt so "spoilt" on your return holiday with us at Tanjung Rhu! A holiday should be all about feeling special and relaxing with first class treatment so it's good to know that we have been successful in delivering this to you. Thanks for the kind comments about the staff, food and service as the Team will be pleased to know that these are appreciated by our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you when you come back Home to Paradise for the 3rd time.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Tanjung Rhu is beautifully set,in a secluded bay guarded by three impressive rocky outcrops,reminiscent of the location of the James Bond film, Man with the Golden Gun.The beach is sandy, sickle shaped and 2+ kilometres long,more importantly for the most part it is privately owned by the hotel.The beach has an amazing sandbar which stretches a long way into the sea making for an interesting walk and adds to the uniqueness of the place.It is kept spotlessly clean and very quiet (resort at 50 to 60& capacity,low season).The sea is a beautiful green but lacks the Maldivian clarity which I so love,this is only a minor quibble.Our room 805 has an excellent Sea view and everything we could have desired,Comfortable Double King,2 tvs,dvd,safe and decadent day bed.Housekeeping kept it immaculate. There are 3 pools, one for children and then two larger 50 metre ones of salt water and the Sands ozone pool.The latter is for adults and has a cocktail bar, a good spot for seeing the sunset.The Food over all is good.The Sands restaurant provides a wide and varied breakfast choice and a great valued evening set menu revolving on Thai, Malay,Indian and Chinese cuisine.The Saffron restaurant is Mediterranean in outlook primarily Italian,it is good but I recommend an outdoor sitting for the decor inside needs some TLC.Lastly comes the Rhu "fine dining", a disappointment and I like to think this was due to the change of chef.There was no value and my wife and I felt that it just didn`t cut the mustard.The food was tastier and of better value at the other restaurants.From this slight criticism I must turn to the pleasures of the Jiva Spa.This was our second home.The treatments were varied, well priced for a resort, and our two masseuses Maknah and Ayu brilliant and friendly.The resort had various excursions of which the Mangrove tour was best.Over all what made our stay so good was the friendliness and charm of the staff.From Enzo the ever present general manager down.10 out of 10.we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RTGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear RTGB,
It was lovely to meet you both while you with us and thanks again for choosing Tanjung Rhu for your special holiday destination. You have done a wonderful job of describing the uniqueness, beauty and very special environment of the Resort so thank you for that. As you have mentioned, one of the greatest assets is the very warm, accommodating and extremely sincere nature of the staff who are part of the Tanjung Rhu Family. We all appreciate your kind comments and especially Maknah & Ayu from the JivaRhu Wellness & Beauty Retreat who you have kindly mentioned in your review. We usually get rave reviews about the food in the Rhu Restaurant but it's good to have a contrary view as it stimulates us to work even harder to be perfect and ensure we can better satisfy your taste buds the next time you come back to see us here to Paradise!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at Tanjung Rhu resort in February for My Wife and My Wedding anniversary. The resort was OK but not Wow. If you dont want to go out and do nothing this is ideal. I found the resort too boring for me. The staff werre very good and always polite and greeted with a smile. The accomadation was tired and due for a refurb which some work was being done as we were there.
The air conditioning was an old system which made random noise at night.
I did not find the resort good value and infact very expensive for the standard. We stayed at a far superior resort after The Tangung Rhu at half the price , and still 5 star, at less than half the cost and was far more superior in every way.Im pleased I did this resort first.
It was my choice after reading reviews but was the wrong one for us. Stayed for 5 nights probly 3 nights too long.

Room Tip: Have a sea facing , views are stunning.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SallyChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear SallyChesterfield,
Thanks for staying with us and also for your frank review. The Resort is quite unique and has unlimited charm for many people who are seeking a relaxing holiday in an idyllic, beautiful environment. I am sorry it wasn't totally right for you both but I am pleased that you were subsequently able to find what you were looking for and that this was better suited for you to enjoy your special wedding anniversary. Thanks for the compliments relating to the staff as they will be pleased to know this.

Warmest personal regards from Paradise,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights for our honeymoon in February and all we can see is WOW!!! Everything from check in in our room with welcome congratulations cake and drinks to the food, drinks, pools and view was amazing.

We were on the all inclusive option which meant we only had to pay for alcohol when we checked out which is def recommended. We ate in all three restaurants - Rhu, Saffron and Sands and could not find fault with any of them. The staff were friendly and were happy to chat and joke with us about the rain in the evenings especially Leni and Yusufi doing a fantastic job with the umbrellas.

On our second week wedding anniversary we booked in for a couples Malay Urut massage and a private beach BBQ which was an amazing way to celebrate. The food was cooked to perfection by Safura and don't think we'll be able to replicate it now we're back home.

The hotel put on complimentary trips to the Mangrove and we tried kayaking and windsurfing. We also hired a car through the hotel for RM250 to explore the island which we found easy, as they drive on the same side as us and the roads are quiet. Would def recommend the cable car and waterfalls.

All in all an amazing honeymoon which has given us memories we will treasure forever. Hopefully we'll return in the future for a wedding anniversary x

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Leam,
It was great to know that you had such a memorable Honeymoon and that we were able to contribute in some small way to those memories - that is very important to all of us here at Tanjung Rhu. Thanks for letting us know and for writing such a wondeful Review. I am sure that Leni, Yusri, Safura and all the Team here are all just as excited as I was to read your kind words and we are certainly looking forward to seeing you back for an even more special anniversary with your Tanjung Rhu Family here in Paradise!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews