We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Nearby Hotels
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
US$ 305
US$ 243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 204
US$ 176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 246
US$ 139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 229
US$ 201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 176
US$ 165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa del Mar, Langkawi(Pantai Cenang)
US$ 225
US$ 219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 206
US$ 174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
US$ 113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 57
US$ 50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 57
US$ 50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,236)
Filter reviews
5,236 results
Traveller rating
2,312
1,914
611
240
159
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,312
1,914
611
240
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainforest chaletoriental villagebeach restaurantshuttle servicethai restaurantdayang cafecable carpremier chaletshuttle busfamily chaletprivate beachon stiltssea viewflying lemurssky bridgemain lobbyour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
3,095 - 3,100 of 5,236 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2012

mum and i stayed in this resort four years ago, and back then it was amazing. i wrote a review about it somewhere in here. my partner hadnt been to Malaysia before, so we decided to stay in Berjaya because i knew that you couldn't find that perfect balance of serenity and pampering anywhere else on the island but at this resort.

after a horrific ferry ride from Penang that got cancelled halfway on the seas due to bad weather and had to turn back - thats another story altogether - we arrived at Berjaya and was beautifully welcomed with a refreshing drink, and a smooth, quick check-in. we were upgraded to a Sea Chalet which was recently renovated. it had a sweet little balcony overlooking the sea, new MASSIVE king size bed, very clean and new amenities, a welcome fruit basket and even a delicious chocolate cake that had 'Welcome' decorated on it.

the resort is on the furthest tip of the island - so there really is nothing further than Berjaya but sea and Thailand. it is bliss. its set in rainforrest, so you really feel as though you're removed from the bustle of the city, and smog, and watches, and concrete. Berjaya is right next door to Oriental Village which offers a lot of souvenir shops and cafes etc, and also the Cable Car which i recommend is a must. its 7000+ feet above sea level, and is about 30Ringgit ($10) per person. for that price you see the majesty of this island, and is worth it. that's if youre not scared of heights!

The pool is great, and has a pool bar - a plus. But the private beach is phenomenal - white sands, heaps of sunbeds and umbrellas, a great Beach Bar (ask for Mark who treated us like royalty!), and the perfect spot for a Tiger, a good book and a killer tan.

There is a Thai restaurant at one end of the resort which everyone was banging on about, so we had to try it out. if you book at the right time (sunset at 7.30ish) the view is amazing. the food wasnt mind-blowing, but we were spoiled with amazing food prior to Langkawi, having eaten the most amazing variety of Malaysian food in Penang for dirt-cheap. But still worth a try. With the Australian dollar, its worth it.

There is a restaurant behind the lobby which does buffet dinners - excellent. And a chinese restaurant which we didnt try. Breakfast buffet was amazing - it caters for absolutely everything you could want in the mornings.

To get around the island, there's a shuttle service that picks people up from the front of their chalets and drops them off wherever they please. They are quick and effortless. We walked everywhere - the sun was out, exercise is good, and our chalet was close to the Lobby.

Now, back to food. If you take a cab for about 26Ringgit ($9AUD), you can go to Cenang Beach which has row upon row of amazing restaurants (from Russian, Mexican to seriously amazing Malaysian seafood restaurants), more shops, etc. Its a touristy strip but if you love authentic Malaysian dishes and love your seafood, you MUST try Orkid Ria. Just ask the driver and hell take you right there. For about $20 youll get Chilli Mud Crabs, prawns the size of your head, beautifully cooked fish, fresh juices - the works. It was seriously one of the best meals ive had EVER.

Berjaya is just paradise. They tell you to make sure you shut your windows and doors when youre leaving your chalet as there are cheeky little monkeys that have learnt to slide doors and rummage through your stuff just for food, but seriously - that's probably the only weird thing about this 5-star resort. And its not even a negative. Theyre cute and if you're not silly and dont feed them from your balcony, they wont bother you.

I cannot recommend this place enough. Will go back for thirds sometime very soon!

A big shout out to Mark Silava and staff for taking care of us so wonderfully. xo

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view chalet if you dont have the cash-money for a chalet on the water.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank paulina82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This hotel is just next to the djungle with wild animals around. There are severly restaurants to choose in the hotel area. The food is excellent! Very very nice hotel, pool area and beach and I want to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nettan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My wife and I went to the Berjaya for our honeymoon and I hope to return one day. We stayed in a rainforest chalet, which was one of the cheaper rooms but it didn't feel that way at all. The room had just been renovated and felt modern whilst complementing the traditional exterior. The room, as all the rooms within the hotel, was actually a hut in the rainforest, with more expensive huts located on or above the water.

You could catch free shuttle buses too and from your hotel room and to the restaurants, day spa and sky bridge lift area. We never had to wait for more than 5 mins. We generally walked from the room to the hotel/pool area as it was downhill, however we did need to ring the shuttle from the room one time that the local monkeys decided to surround my wife when we exited the front door haha!

The pool was a large lagoon pool with elevated sections, a waterfall and a swim up bar. Whilst there were quite a lot of people around the pool during the day, the different levels allowed for a more private feel.

The beach was beautiful and there is plenty of seating and shade available. We did a bit of kayaking out in the bay, which was organised by the hotel and quite cheap. You can also go on scheduled kayaking trips and rainforest walks that includes a guide, free of charge.

The Ayura spa was tranquil and I recommend checking it out if only to go to the secluded pool, which is located within the rainforest if you want to get away from the people at the main pool. The massages were great and definitely worth the price.

The breakfast was a reasonable price if you book before and very tasty, a full western buffet was available, however I went for the local food - the fresh paratha with curry was a suprising favourite for breakfast! We tried all the restaurants, other than the Oriental Pearl Chinese resturant and summarise as follows:

Pahn-Thai Restaurant:
One of the nicest settings that you will see as far as restaurants go. Sitting above the water, make sure you go to see the sun set. You sit outside so be prepared if its windy or really sunny, however the view is worth it. The food is fairly reasonably priced Thai food, nothing particularly special but fine, its all about the view really.

Dayang Cafe:
This is where breakfast is served, but they also have lunch and dinner. We had a couple of traditional meals - Nasi Lemak and Nasi Goreng, and they were pretty good and at a fair price.

Mizumi Japanese Restaurant:
This restaurant is located a short free shuttle from the hotel, in the strange carnival/theme park that surrounds the lift to the sky bridge. The food would have to be the worst Japanese my wife and I have ever had, I definitely recommend avoiding this restaurant - basically the only blight we could find on the hotel.

Beach Restaurant:
The best of all the restaurants. The view over the water, whilst not up there with the Pahn Thai resturant, is still amazing and the food was very tasty. We went a couple of times and really enjoyed the Indian curries with fresh cooked breads.

Pool Bar:
We stuck to the daily specials, which were light and suited us after the huge breakfasts we were eating at the hotel each day. The nachos were not what you'd expect as they weren't heavy and were more like corn chips with a light salsa - no gloopy meat and cheese covered nachos here.

All in all a great hotel for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The rainforest rooms, although the cheapest, are renovated and have balconies with great views of the ocean and/or the rainforest.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Crax81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Pro's:
The surroundings and the amount of wildlife were amazing
The FREE evening wildife walk within the hotel grounds is highly recommended
The pool and beach were great
Plenty of sunloungers
Rainforest chalets were excellent for wildlife spotting
Cable car just down the road accessible by shuttlebus (return in taxi payable but cheap)

Cons:
The "recently refurbished" room had mould above the window
Staff professionalism and customer service were very unpredictable
Food only average
Shuttlebus service ok but often easier to walk
Sky Bridge is shut for maintenance(no re-open date)
Monkey warnings for macaques, they can open sliding doors, will come through windows and will investigate and possibly steal anything left on the balcony, best not to carry plastic bags with you!

(We stayed for 4 nights which incorporated 2 public holidays which may explain the shortfall of staff service)

CHECK IN & ROOM:
On arrival the check in process was easy, the reception staff and concierge were helpful and welcoming. On arrival to our rainforest chalet, there was a smell of damp, above the window there was a bit of mould, the safe did not work and our outside light needed a bulb replacing. We rang for someone to come out to fix the safe and replace the lightbulb and was told someone would be sent up shortly. 40mins later and still no one had turned up, we decided to go for a walk around the resort. After 20 mins we returned to our room and an apologetic and helpful member of staff was waiting outside our chalet, we got the safe working and the bulb was replaced. On a 4th try of the safe (after staff ahd left) it broke again so we just gave up. The room was great apart from the fusty smell and occassionally damp feeling bedding, coffee, tea and water were complimentary, fridge available with mini bar products (chargable), bathroom had complimentary shampoo, conditioner, lotion, cotton buds, razor and I think shower cap. Big tv, good sized wardrobe and drawer space for clothes and personal items, hairdryer and full length mirror.

STAFF & RESTAURANTS:
Staff in the reception area and lobby bar were excellent, as were the security staff and shuttle bus drivers. Staff in the restaurants we visited and other areas were not quite as friendly and professional. The kitchen station staff serving food in the breakfast area were friendly and happy to serve you, for the table staff it felt like they were not happy to help and didn't mind letting you know about it.The breakfast area was over crowded, felt very rushed and a bit chaotic. 2 of the 3 mornings we went for breakfast, we were shown to dirty tables. One of those times i waited by the table while my other half went to get something to put on it to show the table was taken, a staff member came over to wipe the table, I put down my things on the chair to help her pick up the sauces and condiments so she could wipe it, in return she flicked the crumbs and food left overs off the table on to me and my things, no sorry or thank you, then returned and slammed down plates and cutlery for us. Our first evening we ate in the chinese restaurant and it was nice, quiet but nice. The second night we ate at the beach restaurant, 4 of us ordered together, 2 meals were brought out and we waited, hoping the other two would be following. We told our friends to start so the food didn't go cold, they were about half way through when we decided we should enquire where the other part of our order was, it was brought over shortly after but that was a little frustrating when we went out to eat together. Our last evening we decided to eat at the chinese restaurant again, we waited 10 mintues by the welcome desk waiting to be shown to a table by staff, after no sign of staff, we waited by the door hoping to be seen, after another 10 mins and not being able to catch the attention of staff we stood in the restaurant, this time a staff member indicated from the other side of the restaurant that we could have the central table before disappearing into the kitchen, the table was not set up and did not even have chairs. We waited for another 2 mins and no one returned, so we pulled up our own chairs from surrounding tables, after being sat for 10 mins and the restaurant seemingly deserted by staff, we decided to wait for the next person to come out of the kitchen to ask if someone could take our drinks order but no one appeared (to be fair this should have been enough of a warning to make us leave). I think we counted 2 staff that were waiting on tables and one supervisor, although the restaurant only had 10 tables in it, and only 7 of them were occupied including us. Another staff member seemed to be drafted in who was obviously not used to working in the restaurant and we waved her over straight away and ordered our drinks and food. during our time there another family came in, were shown to a table but left after 20 mins of no one coming to take their drinks order. after another 20 mins, we decided to give the staff a hand and went over to the dresser and set our own table as they were obviously overwhelmed with the customers they had. The food was ok when it arrived. A lot of the staff get around the hotel on scooters and motorbikes, occasionally it felt like you were on a race track as some of the younger lads would fly up and down the walkways/shuttlebus lanes at all hours.

NATURE & WILDLIFE:
The frustrating thing about this hotel is that the wildlife and surroundings are amazing. We had hornbills in the trees while we were at the pool, a group of 12 brown monkeys with babies were seen all over the resort, macaques were often seen around the bins or scoping balcony's, lots of monitor lizards and squirrels. During the evening walk we saw a civet cat, flying lemurs, bats, gecko's and flying squirrels.

POOL & BEACH:
There is one main pool with a waterfall which in the deepest area is about 5.5ft deep, a small baby pool and a small jacuzzi/whirlpool pool. In the main pool there is a in-pool bar serving drinks and food. There is a service counter on the pool side serving the same menu. Happy hour was 5-7 (20-30% off price) in pool bar. Plenty of looungers around the pool and towel service counter which was easy to use. The beach had a lot of activities for hotel guests some of which were payable. There were a lot of free things for guests to try (e.g. short windsurfing lessons, volleyball, etc). The beach was private so no touts for other activities. Plenty of loungers on the beach along with toilets and showers just behind the beach bar.

SUGGESTIONS:
-Hire a car to get around the island.
-Eat at Perdana Quay (next to Danah Hotel) about RM12 in taxi from hotel, lots of restaurants to choose from right on the harbour, beautiful and relaxing atmosphere right on the harbours edge.
-Book an adventure tour with Dev's Eco Tours, we went on the mangrove kayak tour and it is something that I would definitely recommend! It sounds more work than it is, but take a waterproof camera, a hat, sun lotion, and book out towels from the hotel poolside, you will not be disappointed!
-Due to the room "make up" system, the bedding can often feel less than fresh. It is dropped off outside your chalet in a plastic bag ready for staff to take in and remake your bed, due to the humidity and sunshine, the bedding can "sweat" if left for a long while which can make it smell and feel damp once it is on your bed. A quick call to reception and staff will come and change it.

For any wildlife enthusiast I would recommend this hotel, book yourself on Devs Eco Tours and you will not be disappointed. If you are after luxury and a treat, I have stayed in better hotels and would not recommend this hotel for lavish luxury.

Room Tip: We stayed in a rainforest chalet and they were fine. Close enough to walk back to the main resort if the shuttlebus did not turn up!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank liggylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel V, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your valued feedback on the various aspects of our product and service. I am sorry to hear that upon your check-in there were defects in the room and the longer than usual time it took us to respond. I can assure you that this is not our usual level of service and how we care for our guest needs. The bit of mould and damp in the room as you have rightly stated is caused by the high humidity within the rainforest, especially after several days of rain. In the usual course of our housekeeping, this should have been addressed, so an obvious oversight on our part. As regards the safe deposit box, the intermittent problem was due to the circuit board which we have since replaced.

I have taken note of the various shortcomings in our service delivery in several of our food outlets during your stay period. Unfortunately, due the two days of national holidays which was the celebration of Eid (celebrated by Muslims after completing the fasting month of Ramadan), we could not maintain our normal manning levels and compounded by the high occupancies, our ability to maintain our usual levels of service was greatly affected.

We will certainly strive to improve.

With my best regards,
Noel Vendawall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had a romantic, relaxing stay. The weather was perfect and we enjoyed swimming every day in the ocean. It was so tranquil and the staff were absolutely lovely. We explored the local village and enjoyed having dinner in the restaurants. We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotHoliday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews