We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall not welcoming !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall not welcoming !!!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The location is perfect , breakfast n area is good , swimming pool are good too , beach is not good even if they show u in there website with a good photographic view , it is not good , lifts are very old , the walk way to the room is very smelly n old style , now a days 5 star resort have open area , kids club very far from lobby , you have to take there cart to go there , when I was coming back from kids club I wait for half an hour but no cart came , so have to go by walk with my kids , at night there is some performance everyday , one day I was sitting to see the performance , just 5 mins gone the waitress come. "sir u have to order , if u wana sit " thats why I say they r not welcoming , and one other thing I ask for a multi plug the guy just came and say "sir u have to buy it 10 bucks" this is not what 5 star do ...... , if I come again to this resort , I only come for location not for services......

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShahidGagai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmut P, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear ShahidGagai,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review. All guest comments are gratefully received and reviewed. It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed our peaceful location. We really appreciate your positive comments about SuperFoods buffet breakfast and pools facility. I am truly sorry that we have let you down with regards to the beach. Our beach is not as good as the beach in the North of Langkawi, as we were unfortunately not blessed with the best on the island. Although we endeavor to keep it clean, we unfortunately consistently battle in our area with the debris brought in by the tides. Concerning your comments on the resort condition, we will review the possibility of revitalizing it during our next renovation project. I have looked into the issues mentioned and sincerely apologies for the shortfall in the service standards. I will ensure that we continue to improve on our service levels and product quality. We take your comments seriously and will review them with our team to make necessary improvements. I do hope that we may welcome you again at the Westin Langkawi.

be well,
Helmut Pluecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,687
    839
    283
    92
    58
See reviews for
919
1,284
70
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

the westin langkawi resort and spa was absolutely amazing! When we travelled there, we were also with my brother in law, his wife, and their child! they had no rooms available next to each other so they acted immediately and found us 2 one bedroom villas right next to each other! they even gave us a better price to apologise for the inconvenience..

hotel was absolutely amazing! The westin...never fails!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmut P, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear love2travel300,

I would like to thank you for having chosen our resort during your trip to Langkawi Island and I’m delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your warm words regarding your stay. I totally agreed with you that our villa is fantastic as it combines modern amenities with unparalleled peace and tranquility, which simply make every trip an unforgettable one. I will say that staying in one of our Villa is an experience not to be missed especially to have some cocktail by the private pool while enjoying the views. We hope we can welcome you back to the The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa in the future.

be well,
Helmut Pluecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

i stayed there on the 18 and 19 of july with my family in 3 different rooms. the resort is fantastic and the pool is great but when went to sleep i woke up with insect bites on my body. the next night i checked and the bed was filled with ants because it was my last day i didn't sleep and checked out of this horrible hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khalid123294009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmut P, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear khalid123294009,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. Your feedback is much valued and appreciated. I am concerned about the issues regarding our room cleanliness and the inconsistent service from our housekeeping team. I am extremely disappointed that we failed on this occasion to live up to the high standards we have set for ourselves. I instructed my housekeeping team to improve immediately. It is indeed unfortunate that you had to experience these shortcomings but I’d like to re-assure you that they do not form part of our standard service levels. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconsistent service you have experienced. We hope you will allow us an opportunity to be of service to you on future visit to Langkawi.

be well,
Helmut Pluecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was my second time to Langkawi (my first stay was at the Berjaya), while I had a lovely stay I think the hotel could use a few improvements as it falls shy of its 5 star rating. I had booked on a discounted rate so didn't mind it had more of a 4 star feel to it, but would have been highly annoyed otherwise.

The draw card of this resort is the view - it is incredibly stunning, and I was very pleased to have been upgraded to an ocean view room. I think previous reviews are fair to state the hotel is tired, which I didn't mind. However with a 9 mth old crawling on the floor I couldn't help notice floor level services were quite dusty and appeared to have not been cleaned for some time, the patio also looked poorly maintained. Some of the towels were ragged and I was surprised the hotel did not supply a full bathroom kit (cotton buds, nail filers) as you'd expect at a 5 star. The cot bed provided was awful - it was metal and rather small.

I felt it was a shame the resort didn't offer a local or Thai restaurant as the eating options felt a bit generic. There were 2 restaurants (if you do not include the pool side service) and a bar which served light meals - they offered a very similar menu which entailed mainly western cafe offerings (burgers, sandwiches, pasta) in addition to a few Asian and Middle Eastern items.

Overall, I still enjoyed my time at the Westin, however I think it needs a refurbishment and the 5 star touches were missing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara_E70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmut P, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Sara_E70,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience with others. It’s a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our peaceful location. I have to agree with you that resort offer wonderful panoramic views of the Andaman Sea, surrounding islands and the endless stretch of the blue sky. Your comments on the level of cleanliness have been noted and I have addressed this with my housekeeping team. Rest assured we are doing all we can to ensure that this does not recur. Concerning your comments on the resort condition, we will review the possibility of revitalizing it during our next renovation project. Thank you again for having chosen The Westin Langkawi as your holiday destination and I hope we have the pleasure to welcoming you back for another renewing stay.

be well,
Helmut Pluecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

its a typical resort on an island but with all the facilities like a large pool and a waterfall pool, kids play area, gym, etc. Its location is an added advantage for those who want to be close to the downtown. Close to the pier where are all the shops & a few restaurants are. The only minus point about the hotel is the air conditioning, They have kind of set the temperature at 24 deg or so, therefore, no matter what temp you desire, you are stuck with it. All the rooms have the same problem and they have no solution to this, not even an extra fan in the hotel. Breakfast is pretty good, crowd is mainly Saudi's. Expect to see a lot of them.The pool temperature is good, as well as the sunken bar. Hotel beach is not so great.

Room Tip: the two bedroom suites are very nice with a huge balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxx j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmut P, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear jaxx j,

I would like to thank you for having chosen our resort during your trip to Langkawi Island and I’m delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our resort is beautifully located with the stunning scenery yet we are just few minutes away from the main town. We regret that we were unable to fully meet your expectation with regards to the beach. And although we endeavor to keep it clean, we unfortunately consistently battle in our area with the debris brought in by the tides but however, we will continue to constantly do our utmost to monitor and improve the condition of the area. We appreciate you bringing up the shortcomings you have encountered to our attention as this will only assist us in improving towards service excellence. My team and I hope we have the pleasure to welcoming you back for another renewing stay.

be well,
Helmut Pluecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
20.7 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
22.1 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
24.6 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,334 reviews
24.6 km away
The Datai Langkawi
0.8 km away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#4 of 104 in Langkawi
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,764 - ₹ 41,189
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Starwood APAC so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing