We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful uncrowded hotel”
Review of Senari Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senari Bay Resort
Ranked #14 of 145 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Peaceful uncrowded hotel”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is a beautiful and peaceful place away from the busy Chenang beach strip. The hotel comprises of around a dozen rooms built in couple of huts. The rooms have basic facilities and beds and bath are decent. The rooms were spacious and have ACs in them.

The hotel is beside a bay and not a beach, which is beautiful nevertheless. The nearest beach is the Chenang, which is sort of 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Taxis can come to fetch you for 10 bucks but IMO its better to walk.

The hotel otherwise has basic facilities. It doesn't have any swimming pool and doesn't have any other recreation facilities. The biggest letdown is that there is no restaurant in the hotel and if you're in no mood for pizza (which is delivered), you'd have to walk 10min to get to the nearest joint.

This hotel is not the typical resort and offers just the basic facilities, but is a peaceful place and usually uncrowded. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and can pick you up from airport or ferry dock. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BudLuBudKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    61
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
20
73
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We still have a week left of our 4 week honeymoon stay here. What attracted us to Senari Bay was its location - a small and charming hideaway from the main drag still within walking distance although takes a good 15 minutes at a steady pace and you do need to be mobile.
As described it is a family run, friendly guest house right on its own small stretch of beach with sunloungers and deckchairs. Mangsor and his family have been extremely friendly and helpful during our stay. We are staying in Room 5 which is a corner room nearest the beach - the room is clean and spacious with en suite, small fridge, TV, free Wi-Fi (good connection) and tea making facilities. Rooms have air con and fan...everything you need for a no fuss, stress free holiday. On request we were loaned a hairdryer and they even arranged car hire for us - would highly recommend.

There is nothing we found lacking at Senari Bay and would certainly recommend it to those who are looking for a relaxing/away from the madding crowds holiday. We would highly recommend a stay here - keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room near the beach - as room has double aspect.(Room 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NICKDAWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Peaceful hang out with little private bay, hammocks, but far from main beach. The hotel provide very basic facilities i.e. only rooms (with ac, hot water, tv, wifi etc) They don't provide breakfast, or any other food. For any food, you have to walk at least 10-15 min. That's the only disadvantage. Rest it is fine.

Room Tip: please buy food and stack it in fridge. They have mini fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pushkar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I booked Senari after reading previous reviews. We were met at the airport by the owner's 2 friendly sons. As we drive onto the property we were a bit afraid we had made a big mistake, but we had not! The owner insisted we see our rooms before checking in, the rooms (2) were spotless clean, nice sized and 4 feet from the clean sand of the beach. The owner helped us with requests for taxis, and tours which where reasonable priced. Every evening we sat and talked with the owner and her lovely daughter and had ice cream, they were always smiling and extremely friendly. The taxi ride to the main strip was only RM $10.00 ($3.30 USD) and they were always there in 5 minutes or less. Recommend you have at least one dinner at the Boat Qyae Restraunt next door. Also had a great dinner at the Brasiere in town. Breakfast was best at the chinese restaraunt directly across the street from Underwater World. Would stay at Senari Bay Resort again for sure!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

If you're not looking for luxury but rather for clean, simple, right on the beach location, then this is the place for you! On top of that I got very good wireless connection that allowed me to upload most of the pictures I took there. Friendly staff. I totally recommend that you rent a bike from the front desk (30MYR/day) and you can freely explore the whole island.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandru M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
9.2 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
14.5 km away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.8 km away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
3.0 km away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Pantai Cenang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senari Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senari Bay Resort

Property: Senari Bay Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang | Mk. Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,002 - ₹ 4,069
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Senari Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Senari Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senari Bay Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing