We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cenang with some problems” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palms Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palms Guest House
Ranked #104 of 141 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Pangkor
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cenang with some problems”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Our stay at the Palms Guest House in Pantai Cenang started in a fan only room and it was hot but manageble. However the water went off after the first night in our room and just a couple of other adjacent rooms. We negotiated a move to another room, but with air-con. Huge improvement in comfort a little extra cost.

We lost the water supply in this room too, but decided to hang on in there and it came back eventually. The biggest downer was bed bugs! We spent a while stripping the bed, playing hunt and squash and also managed to track down some bug-killer so we could de-infest our kit. We should have spotted the tell-tale signs of blood squashes on the walls and bedding - we thought it was just mozzies.

On the good side, the management was helpful and pleasant and the guest house has a lovely courtyard and is well placed for the beach and the strip.

Room Tip: Worry when you find bug squash marks all over the walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    5
    8
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed here with a friend in summer 2010. Great value, close to the beach yet up a side street so not noisy, really helpful owner and clean. Excellent value and wouldn't hesitate staying again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samiad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed at Palms for 2 weeks and loved our time there. The place is close to the beach but far enough away from all the late night action. The place was extremely clean and the couple that run it are very friendly and accomodating. We stayed at first in a fan room but then switched to an a/c room. The fan room was just too hot. Not enough air circulation as the fan is attached to the wall and isn't really that adjustable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Palms and would recommend it to other budget travellers.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here whilst touring around Langkawi. It seems the owners have changed and the English couple no longer own it. Instead we met Raj, a very pleasant chap happy to help us. The double room was nice enough as was the quiet setting. There wasn't any window in the room and we had to suffer from the strip lighting.

There is a little place around the back you can boil the kettle and make some toast but seeing as we were so close to the strip of shops, we really didn't use it.

We were able to borrow a lonely planet guide to Malaysia which was really helpful for us. The laundry across the road was cheap and excellent. Do put on your insect repellent if sitting outside your room.

Overall a good place to explore the island with car rental as cheap as 60RM.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

After checking in, we walked into palm's room 4 and there were at least 2 dozen Mosquitos swarming in the bedroom and bathroom. There were spiders spinning cobwebs in every corner of the room. My bf even thought it was too much. We left and are now happily staying at Sweet inns. A huge improvement!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naradexal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.0 km away
Zackry Guest House
Zackry Guest House
#4 of 141 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.0 km away
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
0.0 km away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.0 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.0 km away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Guest House

Property: Palms Guest House
Address: 5226 Jalan Batu Asah | Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Palms Guest House Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing