We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”
Review of Breakfast Bar - CLOSED

Breakfast Bar
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 8
Cuisines: Central European, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Breakfast Bar is offering a great variety of home cooked Western Breakfast at affordable prices in a very relaxed Atmosphere. Since many guests planned their day ahead and might have appointments in order to discover the island, the Breakfast is fast and easy. During Lunch and Dinner we assume that guests are having more time, thus the menu is totally different. We even have a different cook and a different kitchen for these menues. We offer Western cuisine with Medeterranean influence at very affordable prices in a very relaxed atmosphere.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Simple rustic setting with comfortable seating. In the middle of Pantai Cenang and can be missed as by the roadside with a statue of a cute bull smack at the entrance.

Service was quick, friendly and efficient. Changing items on the set menus were easy and fuss free. Changed coffee to tea tarik which was done without any additional charge and tasted great! Food was simple but tasty, as mainly catering to the Caucasian crowd, butter & jam was portion packed and of good quality.

They do serve some local fare however it is not available on Friday.

Prices are dirt cheap as the America Breakfast is RM10 / USD3 (Egg, Toast, Coffee/Tea - no juices)

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FplusV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    84
    59
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“SLOW !!!”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

If you are hungry - by ALL means avoid this place, service is SLOW!!! Too crowded, not enough servers, I saw some tables take 1 hour to be clean up, no system, billing was a mess, tables are not clean, dirty plates are just being stack up & put aside. Not friendly. Mess up customers orders very often.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kinna084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Average for the Island”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

If you want better breakfast, need to get out of Pantai Chenang. We had the Breakfast Bar Breakfast, which is two fried eggs, two toast and a ham and coffee for RM10.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank KewLAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good for the price.”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We ate here twice and had the American breakfast both times. Good deal, fast and correct. Don't expect much more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rowdy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“The best solution for cheap but very delicious breakfast!”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

First of all beware that you choose: The original Breakfast bar. Since there are many copycat restaurant on Langkawi but they are less good, more expensive and less experienced in serivng a perfect breakfast! The Original Breakfast bar is on Langkawi for over 15years already and i have been there very often. Everytime when i come to Langkawi i eat my breakfast at the BB because i know that it is cheap and very good and a more important fact for me is that the food comes fast and the drinks (juces) are fresh and cold which is very good after a hard night of partying or drinking. The Ambiente is very nice with wooden tabels and chairs. The tabels are not to close to eachother so you have kind of your privacy while having your breakfast. The last time that I have been there was in December 2011 during new year and it was very crowded all the time so I had to get up early to still get a tabel without waiting which shows the popularity of the breakfast bar. Even thouch it was very full the staff managed to serve everyone in a short time and the food and drinks came fast too. All in all I guess you cant find a place anywhere in Langkawi to have your breakfast that good and that cheap at the same time so i can only recoment it to everyone else. And there is not only asian food you can also choose western food such as Sandwiches or french toast....etc. They have quite a big selection of food.

As a small tipp you can even buy nice braceletts or habe a portraits of yourself at brakfastbar from a very good artist. Those can be nice souveniert or gift for a Friend or loved one.

More updates on my still growing experience of the original breakfast bar Langkawi will come after my next visit there which will hopefully be soon.

*sorry for my spelling it would look better in german but I would like to share my experience with as many people as possible so I thought that english would be the best choise of language*

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breakfast Bar also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing