We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Crystal Kedah
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Alor Setar
Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Travelled from Terengganu to meet a friend here. It was our first time in more than 15 years. The room was spacious, clean and bed was comfortable.Just what we needed after a long drive. Check in was a breeze. Parking ample.My only disappointment was the F&B section. The waiter was pleasant but unfortunately the food was not. Beverages were way overpriced.
I hope the hotel improves the quality of food as I'm the type who likes to eat where I stay. I will however come back but will stay away from the food.
Nevertheless, thumbs up for the Management for hiring hearing impaired staff (housekeeping). This is what really impressed me & that's why I'm writing this review. Everyone deserves a chance to improve. Buckle up Grand Crystal, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Get a room that's not facing the main road as it gets quite noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oya_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
1
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Business trip in Gurun. Kedah and overnight in this hotel in Alor Setar. The hotel is rated 3 star but i have to say full thumbs up for its service. The staff gave better service than some 5 star hotel. The room is clean. Everything in the room is working and the food, i recommended the fried noodles or crab noodles it will make you to come back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mofadma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I had booked the hotel room through internet and the check in was so fast that it appeared like the staff cannot wait to get to bed. It was 11 pm anyway. The delay in getting to the hotel was because the airport taxi driver insisted that the Regency was previously Grand Crystal and Grand Continental hotels. The Regency had to call another cab to send us to Grand Crystal Hotel. The surrounding of the Grand Crystal hotel was dark at night and I was a little apprehensive. I was pleasantly surprised as though the hotel was old and look real old , it did not smell unpleasant and the room was clean. There was hot water and the airconditioning was ok. Daylight makes the hotel look more cheery.. The Coffee House personnel were real friendly. I did find it strange though for the ironing board and iron to be located along the corridor ... no wonder a male guest clad only in towel walked so comfortably up and down the corridor..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faridahdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

From the outside, it looked a pretty okay hotel. The price was Rm108 per night which at a small town like this, you would expect a bit better.

Once the elevators opened, you will get an assault of that odor very common to old unwashed carpets and smoking allowed rooms. The bed is curved and lacks support and the walls are stained with fingerprints.

No breakfast. To have breakfast, be prepared to pay another RM50.

Will not return.
Will not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alor Setar hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

The rooms are shabby, the bathroom is less than adequate, all of which I could have lived with had it non been for the reek of stale cigarette smoke in the rooms. The hotel does not differentiate between smoking and non-smoking rooms, which I discovered is also true of many other hotels in the area such as the sentosa regency.

I refused to stay at either hotel, and found myself a basic, clean and smoke free room at Star City instead for $250 ringgit per night. If you're a non smoker, book at a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alor Setar hotels
0.8 km away
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
#15 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.5 km away
Grand Alora Hotel
Grand Alora Hotel
#1 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 km away
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
#3 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
#9 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.3 km away
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
#6 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
8.9 km away
TH Hotel Alor Setar
TH Hotel Alor Setar
#2 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Crystal Kedah? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Crystal Kedah

Property: Hotel Grand Crystal Kedah
Address: Grand Crystal Hotel 40 Jalan Kampung Perak, Alor Setar 05100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Kota Setar District > Alor Setar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Alor Setar
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,745 - ₹ 5,947
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Crystal Kedah 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Crystal is strategically located in the town area. We are within walking distance to several art, cultural and historical museum and within distance to the famous Mahathir's Birth Plac, Zahir Mosque and Alor Setar Tower. It also features an outdoor pool and a coffee house. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning and satellite Tv. Private bathrooms come with a bathtub and hairdryer. A minifridge and coffee/tea maker are also provided. A variety of Malaysian delicacies and continental dishes are served at the hotel's Putra Coffee House. Alternatively, room service is provided. Guests who drive can enjoy free parking at here. Aside from a 24-hour front desk, the hotel also provides laundry services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Crystal Kedah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Crystal Kedah Alor Setar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing