We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grand Crystal Kedah
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Royale(Alor Setar)
View Hotel
Bee Garden Motel(Alor Setar)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miramar(Alor Setar)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Regent(Alor Setar)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
0
7
6
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
7
6
8
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Business trip in Gurun. Kedah and overnight in this hotel in Alor Setar. The hotel is rated 3 star but i have to say full thumbs up for its service. The staff gave better service than some 5 star hotel. The room is clean. Everything in the room is working and the food, i recommended the fried noodles or crab noodles it will make you to come back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mofadma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I had booked the hotel room through internet and the check in was so fast that it appeared like the staff cannot wait to get to bed. It was 11 pm anyway. The delay in getting to the hotel was because the airport taxi driver insisted that the Regency was previously Grand Crystal and Grand Continental hotels. The Regency had to call another cab to send us to Grand Crystal Hotel. The surrounding of the Grand Crystal hotel was dark at night and I was a little apprehensive. I was pleasantly surprised as though the hotel was old and look real old , it did not smell unpleasant and the room was clean. There was hot water and the airconditioning was ok. Daylight makes the hotel look more cheery.. The Coffee House personnel were real friendly. I did find it strange though for the ironing board and iron to be located along the corridor ... no wonder a male guest clad only in towel walked so comfortably up and down the corridor..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faridahdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

From the outside, it looked a pretty okay hotel. The price was Rm108 per night which at a small town like this, you would expect a bit better.

Once the elevators opened, you will get an assault of that odor very common to old unwashed carpets and smoking allowed rooms. The bed is curved and lacks support and the walls are stained with fingerprints.

No breakfast. To have breakfast, be prepared to pay another RM50.

Will not return.
Will not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

The rooms are shabby, the bathroom is less than adequate, all of which I could have lived with had it non been for the reek of stale cigarette smoke in the rooms. The hotel does not differentiate between smoking and non-smoking rooms, which I discovered is also true of many other hotels in the area such as the sentosa regency.

I refused to stay at either hotel, and found myself a basic, clean and smoke free room at Star City instead for $250 ringgit per night. If you're a non smoker, book at a different hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights at level 6 on my way to Hatyai. The room is clean & spacious but there is renovation going on on level 5, so it's quite noisy starting around 8.30am. There are also too many dogs in the neighbourhood, all the barking didn't help improve the noise situation.
At least the staff are friendly and helpful but will stay here only when the renovation is done.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank deathl0rd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews