We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wow ! Malaysia Boleh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishing Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mersing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fishing Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mersing
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow ! Malaysia Boleh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I am Kiwi who has been visiting Malaysia for the past 25 years (this is my 27th visit.) I have driven completely around Malaysia 6 times, staying in hotels, resorts,rest houses and all Islands on the East & West Coast.. Fishing Bay Resort is the winner! relaxing,friendly staff who are able to think outside the square to ensure their guests are comfortable. If you want to go to an "island" without leaving the mainland , this is the spot, reasonable rates & claen. Well done, I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank brukim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortmanager2011, Owner at Fishing Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your compliments & wonderful comments! Fishing Bay Resort staffs are so very happy to learn about your positive feed back about them. It really made their day & after such a long time, finally made everything worth the extra effort!

On behalf of everyone I would like to thank you for taking time to post your comments on the trip advisor. We really appreciate it very much!

We greatly value the feedback of our customers and are always striking to improve the quality of our services, facilities and also amenities.

We look forward to have you again at Fishing Bay Resort and hope that your next visit will be better than the lasts.

Warm regards
Azilah Khalid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    15
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
28
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Hi all,

Personal Comment and friends review.

Went to stay with 3 group of family, 2 std and 1 superior. Check in on the 28th Aug 2011 and request to stay all in Std room but was reply by staff that all is booked. No choice, 1 family stayed in superior but nothing fancy and better except pay more. At the end of the stay, standard room observe still so many empty room avail. Freaking poor attitude to comment.

Location is very out of place beside the beach resort scenery. Price is charge too high with such std and service provided. Inside room location quite badly out of shape, broken tiles, rotten woods, lizard, bees, swallow and etc all over the shop. Aircon noisy.TV cannot work, sigh,,,,,what an experience.

Overall, not worth to paid at RM188 per night for such location and service provided. One bitten, twice shy. Will never ever visit again in my entire life.

PS: my relative is Mersing had rooms much better for us to stay but we should decide to try out but with ultimately disappointment.

Room Tip: Bargin if possible but look for other location nearby in town, more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dantepeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in Aug whilst we were visiting the islands. It is situated in a quiet fishing village 15 minutes drive north of Mersing, just above the beach at Air Papan. The resort has a secluded beach with clear views of several islands - the resort can arrange boats from the beach to get out to the closer islands. Water is clean and good for swimming, although it gets deep quite quickly. There is an excellent swimming pool which is well maintained and very clean. The resort also provides facilities for kayaking, archery, cycling etc which seem reasonable. Beds are large and comfortable and we did not see/feel any bed bugs!

On arrival our first impressions were negative as the place seemed deserted - turns out it comes alive at weekends when local families arrive from local cities. The room wasn't clean so we asked the cleaners to help give it a once over - after that the room was fine and the cleaners were excellent. The layout of the resort is pretty simple, although in the centre there are some unusual concrete ornaments reminicent of holiday camps of the 80s, including: a concrete mountain with moat which is home to 2 rabbits; and a speedboat on a concrete plinth. There are not many places to eat near by, so it is good to have your own transport. If you eat in the resort the menu is patchy - a couple of dishes each day dependent upon the ingredients the chef has been able to get hold of. The cooking is not bad, but there are not many alternatives if you do not like Malay cuisine.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, particularly the chef from the Philipines who did his best to make us comfortable and well fed - he had only been there 2 months when we visited and had clearly been left to deal with everything (he still looked a bit shell shocked). To be honest it felt as though the staff had been left to do the best they could without adequate resources. Reviews on the wall showed the resort in happier times (1998, 2003, 2005) with the owners smiling with guests. There was certainly no sign of any owners this time round. With some TLC this place could be an excellent option for visitors to the Mersing area.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay because of the wonderful beach and pool. The staff made us comfortable and we were close enough to Mersing to get our ferry to Tioman without difficulty.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are right on the edge of the beach which means sand flies - family and superior rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyenbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

My family & i stayed in its deluxe room. Sea facing. We paid for comfort but ended up sleeping on the floor bcos of bedbugs infestation. Bed, daybed, pillows, bedsheets, headboard. We were extermimating bugs at 2am in the morning. That was our 2nd stay and it will be the last. Staff was nonchalant when we brought up the bug issue. No service recovery made. Bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zinxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

The first time was some months ago. We stayed for one night . In the morning I found lots of red spots on the legs, it was very itchy, I couldn't stop scratching and left lots of marks on my legs. I thought I was allergic to the seafood I ate in Mersing town. I didn't realised it was bed bugs till the secong trip . We arranged a family trip and stayed here for 2 nights, on the 2nd day, we found lots of red spots on my niece's back, and I had some on my neck and legs again. Then I realised it was bed bugs, due to peak season and not easy to find another place to stay, we decided to stay ( we had paid for the room when checked in). We told the staff to change the bed sheet and the situation was the same.
It's a nice place with beautiful scenery but I thnik they have to change all the beds.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fraserbracchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersing
8.2 km away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 13 in Mersing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
8.2 km away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 13 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 km away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#9 of 13 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
7.6 km away
Felda Residence Tanjung Leman
17.2 km away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishing Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishing Bay Resort

Property: Fishing Bay Resort
Address: Mersing, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mersing
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Fishing Bay Hotel Mersing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing