We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,412)
Filter reviews
2,412 results
Traveller rating
1,217
869
213
66
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,217
869
213
66
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies makan kitchen double tree the executive lounge welcome cookie care line pillow menu city square food store lounge access steam room upon check one bedroom suite indian food swimming pool awesome stay in room dining
Filter
Updating list...
1,064 - 1,069 of 2,412 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed a night at Doubletree JB. Hotel was big and new. Ample underground parking lots with security guards. Conveniently located near to 2 shopping malls - City square and Metrojaya (all within 10 mins walk).

We was upgraded to a suite because of my Hhonors diamond status. Suite was clean and we were pleasantly surprised that it came with washer/dryer and a little pantry with a big fridge and microwave.

Buffet breakfast spread was great, which included local and international fares as well as fresh fruit juices. Fantastic staff at the buffet breakfast restaurant - always smiley, quick to clear our dirty plates and respond to our requests.

The only minor oversight was that the hotel forgot to provide us the in-room complimentary fruit platter. We only realised this when we visited our friend's room and he was a Hhonors Gold member. There was also no welcome note, which we would normally receive when we stayed at other Hilton/ Conrad properties. Having said that, this is still a great and value for money hotel and we will definitely be back for longer stays in the near future.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank k2papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear k2papa,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review after your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback on our service and facilities.

We were thrilled to read that you have enjoyed the hotel and its facilities during your stay with us. We are certainly blessed with an enviable location with close proximity to the causeway, major shopping malls and a number of historical sites, however most important for me is that you found the team helpful and welcoming.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Went on a business trip recently to this hotel. Check in was fast and efficient... Front desk staff was good... I took a king suite and the room was great with its spacious layout... Very comfy beds... Since it was in town, places are quite easy to reach...Had some good evening cocktails at their lounge... The one thing that was slightly disappointing was, normally for other hotels that i stay, you always have a choice of having breakfast in either the lounge or the restaurant but here you can only have the breakfast at their lounge as part of the package of taking the suite room... Also i made sure in my reservation that i requested for a smoking room only to be told they are not available... Other than that i have no complaints of this place... A very nice hotel..... Will definitely be back....

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Balan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Balan3,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review after your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback on our service and facilities.

We were thrilled to read that you have enjoyed the hotel and its facilities during your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

The hotel has a very good location. It is easy to walk to some excellent nearby malls as well as JB Sentral station. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in a suite which also had a fully equipped kitchen. There is an excellent range of breakfast items in the Makaan kitchen, particularly the Malay and Chinese counters. The Executive lounge has excellent views and have very attentive staff. The lounge gets very busy at weekends and often there is a shortage of seats due to little children occupying many of them. Food items are also slow to be replenished during the cocktail hour, but there is no shortage. Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Thomasg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Thomas G,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review after your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback on our service and facilities.

We were thrilled to read that you have enjoyed the hotel and its facilities during your stay with us. We are certainly blessed with an enviable location, however most important for me is that you found the team helpful and welcoming.

Rest assured your feedback has been duly noted and I have addressed your concerns with my management team to ensure we focus on lifting our service levels and attention to detail in the areas you have highlighted.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This is our 2nd stay - this time in a 2 bedroom suite (Room 2718). What can I say, everything is perfect. Rooms so comfortable. Access to lounge is so handy and nice. Front desk so obliging and welcoming. Check in and out so smooth. Care line so helpful with regards to extra pillows/blanket. Room décor for anniversary was complimentary and a nice surprise. We also enjoyed a nice lunch at Tosca whilst waiting for room to be ready. Thank you so much for being accommodating.
A suggestion to management - useful to have door latch for master bedroom in suite for privacy. We found it strange that only the 2nd bedroom was lockable. Gym/poolside - good to have a wall clock for guests to tell the time.

Room Tip: club rooms are on high floors with great views
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1Ming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear 1Ming,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review after your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback on our service and facilities.

Equally pleasing is to read that the team has been able to uphold the signature DoubleTree by Hilton “CARE” culture in ensuring that every aspect of a guest's stay is taken care of. Your kind compliments are much appreciated and we will certainly share the personal mentions with the team. It is always a great motivation for all of us here to note that we have added value to a guest's stay.

Rest assured your suggestion has been duly noted and I have addressed your concerns with my management team to ensure we focus on lifting our service levels and attention to detail in the areas you have highlighted.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Booked the Double Executive Room with Lounge Access. As usual we were given the signature warm, Double Tree by Hilton Cookies, always loved them! Our room was situated at the 25th floor and the view was fantastic. The food served at the lounge was great for both tea and breakfast, though personally I would prefer the Makan Kitchen breakfast.

Wanted to swim with my kids at the pool but there was a strong smoke odour so we used the jacuzzi and steam room instead. Love the essential oil aroma at the lift lobby.

The checkout was somewhat rushed as they are expecting and influx of guests but other than that DoubleTree is my choice is I wish to roam around JB Sentral and City Square Shopping centre as it cost just RM 3-5 for an Uber or Grab ride.

Room Tip: Join Hilton Honours for higher floors and discounts, select Executive rooms for lounge access
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank islamicosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear islamicosmo,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review after your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback on our service and facilities.

I am delighted to hear that our service and facilities generally met with or exceeded your expectations. Equally pleasing is your comment on our signature DoubleTree cookie - it is our unique to say "welcome" and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed it!

Thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews