We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run place with lots of activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pulai Springs Resort
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Well run place with lots of activities”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed at the Cinta Ayu "hotel" section of Pulai Springs resort on Chinese New Year (24th). As a hotel, this is a fairly standard 4 star property. What makes it truly exceptional, however, is the resort it is part of. 36 holes of golf over two courses, a huge and quite traditionally designed club house and a tennis centre. The club house has a spa, snooker room, cinema and children's creche. Also attached to the club house are two large swimming pools, one rectangular and the other free-form.

The Cinta Ayu "hotel" section is where most of the accommodation is located. Although this works as a hotel, it was clearly originally designed as serviced apartments. All the rooms a good size and have kitchenettes, where you can prepare food (although I don't think you are supposed to cook). The room I had was of modern design, clean and in good condition. The only gripe I have is the towels were too thin.

There are two main restaurants, the Gleneagles Terrace and the Qing Palace Chinese restaurant. Gleneagles serves pretty standard Western and Asian food in passable surroundings, either indoors, or outdoors overlooking the golf course. The Qing Palace, on the other hand is really quite good and almost worth the trip by itself.

The only thing that is a bit shabby is the "English Pub" downstairs (actually quite authentic, with a slightly smokey atmosphere and threadbare carpets, etc, for a moment I thought I was back in 1973 in South London). I just wish the band would turn down their amp a bit, which bordered on the painful at times.

Overall service is "Malay" style, which is polite and keen to please, but sometimes a little slow or suffering from minor miscommunication. However, nothing that a little patience and a smile can't put right. The booking procedures for golf, spa, restaurants and the hotel itself went very smoothly. I booked through the hotel website and took only about 30 seconds, which I thought was bound to screw up. However, was pleasantly surprised when I arrived and they had all my details.

This is a great place for a break for a couple of days. I travelled with some adult friends and we played golf, but there were plenty of families with kids around who were there for the other facilities. We had a great time and I will certainly be back here again and look forward to playing the other golf course.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a better view of the resort layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chidlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us here on Tripadvisor.

Thorough your comments, I believe you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We are glad to hear you are satisfied with the services rendered and the facilities offered to you.

It is our commitment to exceed guests’ expectations and meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our priority. Our associates are trained to strive and serve our guests as well as providing our guests with only the best services.

I will surely disseminate your positive comments and feedback to our associates who are an asset to us through our associates’ notice board.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Pulai Springs Resort and will be delighted to hear from you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    273
    229
    89
    58
See reviews for
385
103
12
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Beautiful resort with golf course. We requested to change room as we found hairs on the bed and floor. Move to another room, even more worn out and dusty. So, we just request the cleaner to clean up the room. Cleanliness must be improve!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainmakerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us here on Tripadvisor.

Thorough your comments, I believe you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We are glad to hear you are satisfied with the services rendered and the facilities offered to you.

It is our commitment to exceed guests’ expectations and meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our priority. Our associates are trained to strive and serve our guests as well as providing our guests with only the best services.

I will surely disseminate your positive comments and feedback to our associates who are an asset to us through our associates’ notice board.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Pulai Springs Resort and will be delighted to hear from you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

we chose this place as it is close to the Johore Premium Outlet and the easy access to the 2nd link to Singapore. We had some problem finding the place but a quick call to the reception and we were directed on the correct road... it is right after UTM Skudai exit.
Overall the place is quite ok, the apartment is surrounded by the golf course, check in was quick, we got the room we wanted a 2 bedroom aprtmnt. The unit was quite roomy and the pool view was quite nice. No major complaint except for the towel but the reception handled it quite fast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mat_asri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us here on Tripadvisor.

Thorough your comments, I believe you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We are glad to hear you are satisfied with the services rendered and the facilities offered to you.

It is our commitment to exceed guests’ expectations and meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our priority. Our associates are trained to strive and serve our guests as well as providing our guests with only the best services.

I will surely disseminate your positive comments and feedback to our associates who are an asset to us through our associates’ notice board.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Pulai Springs Resort and will be delighted to hear from you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Traveling in group and stayed for 2 nights in their 3 bedrooms apartment.

We have a hard time finding the place if you don't have GPS around. at the time of our check-in it's already past 8pm, there's is no road signage leading there.

the only landmark tips to lead you there is to head to Taman University (Taman U) Jusco, from there if Jusco on your right side, go straight towards a traffic light after Giant, turn right and drive all the way up till another traffic light junction and take the left, drive all the way up and the resort will be on your left (Hope that helps for those without GPS).

The 3 bedrooms are acceptable and clean during our stay, though there is no bathtub in the bathroom.

Master room comes with queen size bed, a study table with walk-in wardrobe and balcony with pool view and a small TV.

The rest of the 2 rooms with twin single beds.

Kitchen with medium size fridge and cabinets, dining table and spacious enough for kids to run around the whole apartment.

Living space with sofa seater and big LCD TV with cable channels.

The breakfast restaurant is located on 2nd floor, the front desk lobby it's located at ground floor (it's 1st floor in Lift buttons). access to apartments via lifts require door access card, without that you wont be able to move up.

However the 2 lifts are slow to serve whenever there is a pack of crowds staying.

Breakfast serving are good enough with lots of varieties. all of us enjoy it.

the swimming pool located at apartments block are plain infinity pool, if you need a better bigger pool with slide, take a 3 minutes walk to their clubhouse opposite the apartment, it's much more fun for children.

Golf is your game play if anyone playing it, driving range also available for trainees.

Food finding like Chinese food is available as there is one corner restaurant located outside the 2nd traffic light (when you turn left going to resort).
otherwise, head to jusco with more choices like fast food - KFC.

The cinta ayu resorts it's really meant for relaxing out from town, traveling to JB town it's much further from here.

not to be miss, the hotel provide free shuttle service to JPO (Johor Premium Outlets) for branded shoppers.

Room Tip: Get a room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackberrymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us here on Tripadvisor.

Thorough your comments, I believe you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We are glad to hear you are satisfied with the services rendered and the facilities offered to you.

It is our commitment to exceed guests’ expectations and meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our priority. Our associates are trained to strive and serve our guests as well as providing our guests with only the best services.

I will surely disseminate your positive comments and feedback to our associates who are an asset to us through our associates’ notice board.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Pulai Springs Resort and will be delighted to hear from you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Unable to check in at 1600 even though the check in time is stated at 1500, told to wait for 45 to 60 minutes. No apologies, no explaination, no compensation.. Staffs have a take it or leave it air of superiority..
Finally given a room an hour later, no towels, rubbish not cleared, torn beddings and facing the carpark.
Hotel coridors are dark and the hallway looked like a construction site, no warning signs to warn guests or baricades to dissuade wandering children.
Aircon started to leak water from the second day onwards, hotel's solution is to 'turn it off for half hour then switch it back on'
Pool guy is never around, no pool towel avaliable for guests.. We brought ours from the room.
Internet chargeable at 50 dollars a day! Location is far from anything, food is overpriced and stale, if without vehicle, avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Your time and effort taken to highlight on our services and facilities are highly appreciated. We value every guest feedback as this will help us to further improve on our products and services to exceed guests’ expectations.

We have raised your concerns with the relevant departments and immediate actions have been taken to rectify our shortcomings.

Please be rest assured that meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our top priority.

Please accept our sincere and humble apologies for the inadvertent inconvenience experience by you. We are extremely grateful for your constructive comments. I sincerely hope that the setbacks will not deter you from supporting us again.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to shower you with our warm hospitality and making your next stay at the Pulai Springs Resort an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at the resort. Till then, take care.


Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
19.1 km away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
16.0 km away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
15.8 km away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,272 reviews
23.2 km away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
805 reviews
14.4 km away
Legoland Malaysia Resort
Legoland Malaysia Resort
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pulai Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulai Springs Resort

Property: Pulai Springs Resort
Address: 20 km Jalan Pontian, Johor Bahru 81110, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,391 - ₹ 6,913
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulai Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pulai Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulai Springs Hotel Johor Bahru
Pulai Springs Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing