We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hallmark Regency Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 107
US$ 90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 92
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 269
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 101
US$ 80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thistle Johor Bahru(Johor Bahru)
US$ 81
US$ 60
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mutiara Johor Bahru(Johor Bahru)
US$ 60
US$ 50
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 79
US$ 69
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bliss Boutique Hotel(Johor Bahru)(Great Value!)
US$ 42
US$ 36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belllo Hotel JB Central(Johor Bahru)(Great Value!)
US$ 35
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
17
78
62
18
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
78
62
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roombooked twinsmall liftmineral water bottlesgrand paragonplaza pelangideluxe double roomrecommend friendschinese foodlegoland ticketsfried riceevery morningnight marketsimple hotelfree breakfastmin walkjb sentral
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

No WiFi service at all and the reception didn’t bother at all to figure it out. Need the WiFi the most as I need to do some work. Tv with 18 channels but only 1 channel is working. Hotel is quite old and dirty. I would not recommend.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank 675dianaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

This ones a huge disappointment from the moment you set eyes on the small building.
Ugly unchanged old yellow bedsheets and pillow and duvet covers. Everything was covered in body hair and red spots. Ugh!!
Only one kind of bread for breakfast- white bread of the cheapest quality.
No regular corn flakes. Bad hash brown, or should they be called oil browns as they were dripping with oil. Cheap yellow replacement even for simple butter!
WINDOWLESS OLD MUSTY ROOM THAT SMELT OF BLEACH! ALMOST SUFFOCATED! For the first time I saw a hotel room without windows ! Two bulbs in the room weren't working so imagine how dark it must be !!
Pictures are deceptive.
Very small non descript hotel; totally run down. Furniture inside the room was in shambles. Mould everywhere!
STINKY BATHROOM EVEN IF IT APPEARS CLEAN.
They even took 10myr tourist tax which wasn't mentioned anywhere else while booking.
Very curt front desk, we reached an hour early and she asked for extra 30MYR for checking in then, else wait for an hour until 2 pm! this even when their room was empty and ready.
It says very close to KSL but it is not walkable, it's a uphill walk and u need to cab it up unless you trek often. I'd rather have booked another hotel a bit farther if I knew I'm taking a taxi for everything.
Just stay in a hotel next to city square mall JB, else at another hotel in this area even if it's $15-20 extra.
BUT.NOT.HERE. So NOT worth $50 plus tourism tax. Waste of time money and holiday.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sweta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

1. Dingy smelly rooms with no windows
2. Dirty bed-sheets
3. Extra room charges for tourist (do not mention when booking) and extra charges for even 1 hr early check-in

Suggest to look at other options nearby

Stayed: December 2017
2  Thank 154jigarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Service: Minimal as there is skeleton staff at front office not even one at the door. It's all like self service.
Room: Are decent and bathrooms are clean.
Food: Serves local food and not much to offer in the menu. There is a local eatery behind that could be the reason for same.
Vibe: Smelly in the morning at reception when we arrived at abt 1000 hrs but improved later.
Near to KSL mall.
Not much to expect when rated as 3.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shank111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Operated and managed by Malaysia’s Hallmark Group, they started their first property in Malacca and gradually expanded to become a chain of hotels, with four operating in Malacca and two in Johor Bahru, including this Hallmark Regency Hotel.

I had booked this hotel for a solo stay and for the purpose of visiting the nearby Taman Century Pasar Malam, which only operates on Mon nights. This night market is situated along Jalan Seladang, which is just a short 170m walk from the hotel.

Upon exiting the Johor Bahru CIQ, I headed to JB Bus Sentral and boarded the yellow Smiling Bus (No. S1) to KSL Mall. The one-way fare costs MYR1.50. I alighted at KSL Mall and then took a 8mins walk to the hotel. The walk is pretty easy as it is a 650m stretch of straight road along Jalan Seladang, before making a left turn to Jalan Harimau, where the hotel is situated.

Hotel security is evident in that guests are required to tap their hotel keycard inside the elevator during night time, in order to be allowed up to the rooms.

The hotel is strategically located within walking distance to several malls such as the newly refurbished Plaza Pelangi (300m), KSL City (650m) and Holiday Plaza (950m).
Comprising of 64 guest rooms, they are situated from the 1st to 3rd levels, followed by the 5th and 6th levels. There is no fourth floor here. Due to the influence of Chinese culture in Southeast Asia, 4 is considered to be unlucky by the Chinese and with the hotel group, which is most probably a Chinese-managed company, they had thus omitted this level in the building. I had stayed in the Deluxe Double Room (Room No. 209) which is spacious at 30 square metres, but does not offer a window view.

Though the hotel was built in 2013, the entire ambiance of the hotel interior and rooms has a 90’s feel. Fortunately, the bathroom came with a more pleasing updated design.
I was pretty impressed with the room amenities, which are pretty on par with the international hotels. Besides an iron and ironing board, there is an ice bucket and even a weighing scale! For additional water, head to the hotel rooms corridor, where you can find a hot and cold water dispenser for your drinking needs.

Additionally, I was surprised that they had embossed their hotel logos on practically everything, from toiletries, bath towels, hair dryer, mineral water bottles, kettle, flask to even pillow cases!

I was glad the air-conditioning had worked well and I was kept cool quickly each time I returned to the room from the hot weather outside.

Other than the usual power sockets, there are two USB charging sockets at the bedside. In this digital age, I was a little surprised they are still providing a DVD player for the guest’s entertainment.

The Wi-Fi speed was not very fast at times, but generally acceptable. The TV entertainment is average, which includes channels such as the local TV1, TV2, TV3, TV8, TV9 & NTV7, Singapore free-to-air channels as well as a couple of Cable TV channels.

The water pressure for both the handheld shower and rain shower was good, though the water temperature was occasionally erratic.

The room cleanliness was acceptable, except the W/C could have undergone a better scrubbing.

Although the room noise insulation was not very good, I had managed to enjoy a good night’s rest.

The hotel offers a relatively affordable room service menu. A main course like noodles or pasta costs from MYR12, whilst a cold beverage costs from MYR3.50.

For the consumption of the hotel breakfast, I was requested to collect my breakfast service voucher from the Front Desk the next morning. I guessed the rationale is to prevent and minimise the loss of the breakfast vouchers if issued during the check in. The hotel breakfast was pretty good and hearty, comprising of seven main dishes, as well as toast, cereals, salads, fruits, juices, coffee and tea. I must say I had enjoyed the food and found it to taste even better than the breakfast I had eaten in some of the international four-star hotels. There is also a pasta station, where you can get your pasta freshly prepared. I had observed that the food was replenished quickly each time it runs low.

If you prefer to enjoy your breakfast elsewhere, there is large non-air-conditioned food court tucked right at the back of the hotel. Alternatively, you can visit the many local eateries at the vicinities of Plaza Pelangi and KSL City.

Hallmark Regency Hotel offers an affordable and value-for-money accommodation, in consideration that buffet breakfast is included in the stay. If you are simply looking for a place to crash or spend the majority of your time out exploring the city sights, this place is for you. My advice is to go with minimal expectations and you will not feel disappointed.

If you find my review helpful in the selection of your hotel stay, please give it a “Thumbs Up”.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jackchee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews