We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent new hotel but lack of management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Paragon
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I have booked two deluxe twin-bedded room and king-bedded room, however both room look entirely different as the twin bedded room is much more spacious than the king-bedded room. When we go inside our room, my daughter ran scary to me and complained that there is one big cockcoach near the rubbish bin in the room. I can't believe it beco we are staying on level 17 which is the non-smoking floor. I managed to kill the big cockcoach with my shoe. Next thing that I am very disappointed that both the rooms' safebox is in locked position which we have to call up the duty manager to unlock the safe box for us which I would expect them to do so before we check-in. The long bath is slightly dirty and also find crack line below the bathtub. As for those who commended that this is the best buffet breakfast in Johor bahru, I would urge them to stop writing it as I find the food spread is so-so only and comparable to PUTERI pacific hotel one. I don't blame the previous reviewers that is beco they have never try the breakfast at other hotel like puturi pacific. Also, the internet speed is damn slow until i give up trying to stream movie online to watch it as their tv programmes are limited. Toilet light is very dim and also one of the room lighting is not working as well. Overall an average hotel and don't expect too much out of it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grand Paragon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 396 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

The room is spacious and comfortable with Wifi access, iron for ironing clothes and astro/tv for entertainment! The room's main switch burnt on the next morning and in less than 10 minutes the technicians arrive promptly to sort out the problem! The restaurant food is quite good too with lots to choose from and overall the services are excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Supposed to be 4* and only 3 years old but I think it is 3* and feels a lot older. Rooms are clean, basic and facilities limited other than the exellent hotel shop which is open from 0800 - 2300. Shower pressure a trickle and hot water rather luke warm. All bars closed during the day due to State licencing laws. Japanese resturant a good spot for lunch but the Cafe for breakfast and dinner is nothing special. Parking very good. Taxi service needs to be called by hotel as no passing trade. Overall, average but first time in JB so dont know if this is the local standard.

Room Tip: In a quiet area but see if you can a room with views towards Singapore
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic_Weston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We had our wedding dinner in the hotel recently. In the package, it come together with 1 junior suite, so we decided to change it to a family suite. Some of our guest stay in the hotel as well, the feedback from the guest is that they very enjoy their stay because the size of the room is quite big and also very comfortable. The staff is always ready to help at all time. The breakfast is quite nice with vary selection and in a nice environment. For our family suite, we had a very relax and comfortable room for us to rest after a very tired day. The room is very clean and also each too got their own tv so that we don't have to fight over with the tv channel.

At here I want to express my appreciation and special thank to all the staff, especially Ms Hee, the person in charge for the whole event, she even came to the hotel when she's on-leave to make sure everything is fine and also Mr Yazid, who take care the wedding dinner, you had make the wedding dinner a very good experience for all the guest. Thank you both of you very much!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiewmingHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I called reservation on a Friday night for a double room but was told only the deluxe twin room i.e. 2 queen size beds, is available. But upon check in on the next night, we were upgraded to suite! That's how my RM290 became worth it :o)

Location: Hotel is approximately 10 mins from Johor customs and City Square shopping center by metered taxi. Cost less than RM7, depending on traffic.

Check-in: Reception requested for RM400 in advance as payment & security, but due to shortage of cash at my side, they requested for my credit card for verification. I paid the RM290 only upon check out on Sunday.

Room: We stayed on the 25th floor smoking room #2504 which is the nearest to the lift so it is really convenient. Our room look out into the city but not much of a pretty view.
Bed is confortable though pillows are soft. For suite, the living room is separated from the bedroom. Each side has its own TV but share one TV remote control.
The bedroom has a big bathroom which comes with a shower, tub & toilet, while the living room has a small toilet. The iron, ironing board & hair dryer are kept in the wardrobe.
There are some stains on the carpet but no big deal. It's still clean overall.

Wi-fi: It's free with average network. Ask for the password when you check in. You need to input the password when you log into your gadget's Explorer. Only then you can use the other apps on your gadget.

Toiletries: Towels, toothbrush, toothpaste, body lotion, soap etc are provided...which is good!

Dinner: We didn't eat in the hotel but opt to walk 10 mins to the 24-hour eateries nearby, which is around the Plaza Pelangi shopping center. Tasty & definitely cheap!

Breakfast: Price includes breakfast for two. The buffet spread consist of both local & Western. Quite generous & tasty in general.

Swimming pool: It's a small one located on the 11th floor, where the gym, hair salon etc are also there. The pool has a small section for kids, & the other section is 1.2m standard height. You can request for towels at the counter of the pool entrance.

Overall it was still a good short weekend getaway from Singapore! :o)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aznilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.7 km away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.7 km away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
0.9 km away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,298 reviews
2.2 km away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
685 reviews
5.9 km away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Paragon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Paragon

Address: 18 Jalan Harimau | Taman Century, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: ₹ 3,046 - ₹ 4,283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Paragon 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Grand Paragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing