We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
95
3
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews douglas hamilton their natural habitat samburu guides elephant families small hill these majestic animals magical days game drives the river local samburu love elephants dry river bed song and dance magical experience dinner table mess tent elephants eating
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We spent an amazing four nights at Elephant Watch Camp. Saba and her staff treated us royally. Our tent was comfortable and beautifully decorated. On our first night we went to a special Samburu ceremony, we were made to feel very welcome. Game drives were a delight with Francis and Niaborke. We enjoyed being able to sit quietly and observe animal behaviour, especially the elephants. We also witnessed a live kill for the first time and had to admire the two lionesses for their hunting skill. The visit to the Save the Elephant Group was enlightening. We loved the food and my food intolerances were well catered for. On the one night that it rained it was very exciting to see the river come rushing back down the dry river bed. The whole safari was a wonderful experience.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, Marketing Assistant at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Christine C,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on trip advisor and for all the wonderful remarks.

We are glad you had an amazing time with the team at the camp and thank you for choosing us as the ideal holiday destination. We are glad you had a memorable experience.

We do hope to host you again in the future for more adventures. Spread the word to your friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Beautifully decorated tents on the river banks
All people involved in the running of the camp are over the top
The lounge is definitely representing what an African safari camp should look like
The food is the best one that I have eaten in both Samburu and Maasai Mara, even compared to the most expensive lodges or camps
I was made to feel at home and will be returning here over and over even if I want to experience different places

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank noris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, Marketing Assistant at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Noris O,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on trip advisor and for all the wonderful remarks.

We are glad you had an amazing time with the team at the camp and thank you for choosing us as the ideal holiday destination. We are glad you had a memorable experience.

We do hope to host you again in the future for more adventures. Spread the word to your friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

My husband and I stayed at the Elephant Watch Camp for 5 nights in February 2018, and everything about our time there was delightful. I have previously been on several safari trips in Kenya and Tanzania, and Elephant Watch is by far the best experience.

The Camp itself is located in the Samburu region of Kenya, which offers a rich variety of wildlife - such as elephants, leopards, lions, zebra, gazelles, giraffes, etc. I would highly recommend the region if you love elephants. No where else in Africa can you have the same experience of seeing so many herds and at such a close range. At several times during our safari, the elephants came within a few metres from our truck. The Elephant Watch guides are highly trained at spotting many different types of animals and predicting where in the park they will next move to. So many of the other safari guides in the park kept trying to ask them where the wildlife was!

The staff at Elephant Watch are some of the kindest and most considerate. They are from the local Samburu tribe and will make you feel right at home. As the Camp manager, Saba Douglas-Hamilton does an excellent job ensuring that her guests are enjoying themselves and are comfortable.

The food is also excellent - and worth the trip alone! I am a vegetarian and my husband is a keen carnivore, and the kitchen staff easily accommodated both of us. I am still amazed by the quality and taste of the cuisine. It was by far the best I've had whilst on safari. What's more, we had the choice of dining al fresco under the Kenyan stars during dinner, which made our meals even more spectacular.

Finally, the tents were beautifully decorated and designed in perfect harmony with nature. They cater to your every comfort, and my husband and I agreed that we had some of the best nights of sleep while we were there.

You will definitely not regret visiting the Elephant Watch!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JameeB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, Marketing Assistant at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Jamee B,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on trip advisor and for all the wonderful remarks.

We are glad you had an amazing time with the team at the camp and thank you for choosing us as the ideal holiday destination. We are glad you had a memorable experience.

We do hope to host you again in the future for more adventures. Spread the word to your friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

My wife and I were there the first week in October. Upon arrival we were met by Saba (owner/manager) and team. We were given the camp overview and shown our room. The camp was supporting a Samburu celebration that evening and the patrons were invited. What a fantastic night. The walk was interrupted with several test of skill like running and rock throwing by the warriors and patrons. The Samburu warriors were there cooking goats on the open fire on a bluff over looking the entire valley. The dancing and singing as the full moon was rising was mystical. This went on for a while. The singing continued on the way back in the land cruiser. Just fantastic!!
Lesirin (Bernard) and Lekoyan were our guides and what fun it was. We tracked lion prints for 100's of meters to find the pair working there way toward the river. This was just an example of the daily safaris.
The food was very healthy and fresh and well prepared, how do they do it so well in the middle of the bush??
The tents were very comfortable and spacious.
An afternoon with the Save the Elephant group was well worth the time. Meeting people with a single passion is rewarding.
A great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank steve100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, Marketing Assistant at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Steve100,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on trip advisor and for all the wonderful remarks.

We are glad you had an amazing time with the team at the camp and thank you for choosing us as the ideal holiday destination. We are glad you had a memorable experience.

We do hope to host you again in the future for more adventures. Spread the word to your friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

The lodge is beautifully located on the bank of Ewaso Nyiro river and is designed by Oria Douglas Hamilton in a creative and exciting way and built in harmony with the surrounding nature. It's small, only six tents and the atmosphere is calm and familiar. Today, Saba Douglas Hamilton and her husband Frank Pope live here together with their three children. Saba is responsible for the lodge and Frank for the institute “Save the elephants” built by Sabas's father Iain Douglas Hamilton, a famous elephant researcher in Africa.

Game drives was very good with many animals, especially along the river. “Save the elephants” had mapped 66 different elephant families with photos on all the members and names of many. We spent many hours in elephant families and followed their daily activities. They were never annoyed by our presence, though we were often only a few yards from it. A magical experience that always remains in our memories.
The elephant watch is a different and amazing camp. Food and service are of the highest class. Saba and her samburuteam do an outstanding job for the guests' best. And on top of all, Saba with a generous and inspiring personality.
Bibi and Goran Karlsson, Sweden

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank gorankFalkenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, Marketing Assistant at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Bibi and Goran,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on trip advisor and for all the wonderful remarks.

We are glad you had an amazing time with the team at the camp and thank you for choosing us as the ideal holiday destination. We are glad you had a memorable experience.

We do hope to host you again in the future for more adventures. Spread the word to your friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews