We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
336
37
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
37
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower italian influence communal dining family villa game drives breathtaking views rocky hill set high rock face great company upper pool safari experience the river bedroom and bathroom guide francis his life minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Our family of four, 2 boys 13 and 15, thoroughly enjoyed our adventure at the Saruni. Johan, Zoey, Kennedy, Benson, Peter and all the staff were so welcoming and accommodating that we couldn't help but have a great time. The rains came a little early this year so our guides, Simon and Emmanuel, had to earn their keep as the animals did not concentrate around the watering holes and river which are typically flush with animals. This didn't stop us from seeing a leopard and the elusive aardwolf amongst many other animals due to their expertise. Swala twiga!!! We learned a ton about the Samburu culture from these two as well as enjoyed a visit to a local town and competed against each other throwing spears at warrior camp. Looking at scorpions and the incredible stars in this location at night was fabulous. Food was delicious and the views were great. You can't go wrong in this warm and wonderful place.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstuhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Samburu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you very much for your wonderful words and for appreciating our Team, the local Samburu culture... and the stars! I'm sure Johan was happy to point out the different stars and constellations after dinner. We look forward to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

The scenery is incredible and the lodge itself seems to blend organically into the surroundings. Each room has a magnificent view and during the day inside and outside space become one.
Everyone at the lodge tries to do whatever they possibly can to make your stay everything you want it to be. If it's possible they will try their best to accomodate.
I hope I get the chance to return one day soon!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Samburu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you very much for your review. When the word "perfection" is used, we simply smile with happiness and say: thank you! and we look forward to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

This place is so nice! Almost all of the staff are of the Samburu culture and are some of the nicest people I've ever met. The safari guides are so helpful and are so enjoyable to be with. There is a spa, two pools, a shop, and a nice main lodge with couches and a fireplace. There is a lot of wildlife that lives near the camp and you can wake up to antelopes and sometimes a leopard! But don't worry, they have guards to escort you to your villa at night. All in all, this is a super great place to stay on your safari.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Reggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Samburu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm glad the night watchmen protected you from wild encounters! We look forward to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

My spouse and I recently spent 3 wonderful nights at Sanuri Samburu. I arrived with very high expectations based on previous reviewers' experiences and pictures of the lodge. When you arrive with high expectations, you tend to set yourself up for disappointment. Needless to say, Saruni far exceeded my expectations. The views from the lodge are as majestic as you can imagine them, especially from the amazing upper pool. I think the pictures actually don't do it justice. Even though we went during a quieter season, we still experienced amazing wildlife viewing in the park, including two lionesses stalking 7 warthog and successfully hunting one---during our first game drive. The landscape around the lodge was more arid since the rains hadn't arrived, but it was still amazingly beautiful. The room we had (#5) was very large, comfortable, and had every creature comfort you could need. It's actually unfair to call it a room as it was more like an apartment. If Wifi is a must for you, it was easily accessible in the upper pool and in the common areas. However, I must say the best part of the lodge were the managers and the staff, who always made us feel welcomed and went out of their way to accommodate us. Johan and Zooey were incredible hosts and run a well-oiled operation. Our guides were knowledgeable and very accommodating of our desires during game drives. When you've had excellent guides, you know having memorable experiences with wildlife is not an accident; it requires skill, knowledge, and lots of patience.

At most safari lodges we're visited in Africa, I've cherished the experience but wouldn't necessarily want to go back because of the desire to experience something different; however, Saruni is the type of rare camp that I am looking forward to returning to many times more.

Room Tip: If you can get room 5, ask for it
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dio9mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Samburu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

I'm really really happy that we exceeded your expectations and we gave you and your wife such a great experience. I also appreciate your interpretation of how and why the guides are so good. Some people believe it's because they have a good "eyesight": as you say, it is a matter of skill, knowledge and patience. We look forward to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Some of our most exciting days we had as a family. The environment, the views, the staff, the food and not to forget the abundance of wildlife - it was just amazing.
Thanks to Zoe and Johan with their gret people that made all this happen - we will be back!!
Norbert P.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Norbert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Samburu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you and we look forward to take care of you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews