We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
336
37
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
37
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower italian influence communal dining family villa game drives breathtaking views rocky hill set high rock face great company upper pool safari experience the river bedroom and bathroom guide francis his life minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Review from Spain.
A pleasure for your eyes and your ears. Location on the top of the mountain looking straight to the sabannah is priceless. Being in heaven must be similar to this experience.
We stayed at the family willa where from we could hear leopards while having a shower outdoors.
The owners we kind and very nice always caring about the guests
Service was just incredible. We learnt a lot about samburu people from them as they were very friendly, easygoing and talkative.
Sambara, the safari guide from the hotel, was the best guide we had.
Also we were offered 2 massages with the best views. Incredible hands that made us relax to infinite.

To make your experience better you don't have to adjust to timetibles. You are served food and drinks whenever you were ready to, whenever you felt like.
After traveling around the world, we can say it was one of the most original, beautiful and incredible hotels we had ever been.
Españoles de Galicia

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank agrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Samburu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback and for capturing so well the essence of what Saruni Samburu is. When you say that this is "one of the most original, beautiful and incredible hotels we had ever been." you make us very proud. I'll pass on your comments to the team and to Sambara. We look forward to have you back (next time you na try our other property in the Mara?).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Lovely place, great rooms, great food, really kind staff and amazing guides! A wonderful experience and I would definitely go back. The view from the lodge is incredible and you can enjoy watching Kalama from the best view point. Two beautiful swimming pools if you want to relax between game drives and a relaxing spa.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karapineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Samburu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you very very much for your wonderful review and apologies for replying so late. Somehow there were reviews that I managed not to see until now, but hopefully... better late than never. Thank you again and we look forward to have you back to Saruni.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

This was our first safari experience and truly set the bar for any future experiences. We knew our accommodation was pretty special when we booked it but we were unprepared for how truly unique and stunning it really was. I actually got a little emotional when we first stepped into our villa and saw the views!! But it wasn't all about the accommodation. The safari drives were an unforgettable experience too. Our guide expertly tracked lions and leopards for us based on tracks on the ground and other animal behaviour. Sitting amongst a herd of elephants watching them eat and play was equally as exciting. Lunch eaten al fresco by the river banks just after spotting big cats was always fun and drinking a cold Tusker whilst watching the sun set after a walking safari was just as rewarding. Another highlight was having a private dinner on our veranda. We were celebrating our honeymoon and drinking champagne whilst watching the sun set and the stars come out before being served a three course meal with your own butler doesn't get more romantic than that. Thanks to all the staff. The quality of the camp and the whole experience is really down to them and nothing could be faulted at all.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank davuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Samburu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you very much for your amazing review. I'm so glad that you described very well the type of experience that you have ons safari with us. The beauty of Saruni Samburu as a lodge is such that many comments focus on the lodge, but you rightly mention the game drives as well. Your visit was during a very special occasion that we are happy have been part of: we look forward to have you back for your anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We were two families staying at Saruni Samburu and we all agreed that it was an amazing experience. The view was breathtaking, the rooms were fantastic and the staff were truly incredible. Everything felt customized to fit all your needs, even those you didn't know you had!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sfbras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Samburu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you very much for your review and your very kind words. I like the post about our services being customised: thank you for noticing it, there is a lot of hard work behind it and your words encourage us to keep it up. We look forward to have you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We can't even begin to describe how incredible the staff are at Saruni. Our guide (and Samburu warrior), Lapayon, made the whole experience that much more special. He is so knowledgable about his people and the game in the Reserve. We didn't come up with a question he couldn't answer. The staff at the lodge are also amazing, willing at all times to help with any need, whether it be refreshments in the main area or help carrying bags to the safari vehicles. Though the rooms are spread out throughout the lodge, they are definitely not a 10 minute walk. Our room, the furthest from the main area, was at maximum a five minute walk. We were very lucky in our game viewing, and were able to see leopard, lion and cheetah. At one point, a leopard came within mere feet of the vehicle. In addition to the cats, we saw all of the Samburu Special 5, which are the reticulated giraffe, Grevy's zebra, Somalian ostrich, Beisa Oryx and long-necked antelope, the Gerenuk. We also got within feet of a family of elephant, saw an abundance of gazelle and antelope, and enjoyed the many unique bird and lizard species, including crocodiles.

One note: Though the conservation area is nice and quiet, there isn't as much game as in the Reserve. The Reserve is about an hour drive on rough roads, so if that concerns you then this may not be the ideal place for you. We did see a leopard right at the lodge, and part of being located in the conservancy is understanding the relationship between the Samburu people and the lodge, which allows for them to graze cattle and camel in the area on a limited basis.

The only reason we aren't giving this lodge five star review was the (very) slight lack in maintenance. Our room's entryway was missing a stained glass tile, which allowed bugs in. Either as a direct result of the missing tile or just part of the experience, the stay was a bit buggy (which is to be expected, if somewhat inconvenient). The lodge is under new management, and with just a little bit of work all issues will be easily resolved. Johann and Zoe are lovely people, and sat with us at dinner one night, which allowed us to get to know them a little bit. We feel so lucky to have had the opportunity to get to know the Samburu tribesmen that work at the lodge, and would highly recommend this place for your next trip to Kenya. If you're looking for the herds of game and endless expanses of land, Mara is a one or two hour flight and well worth it, but without the Mara we still would've been very satisfied with our time in the Samburu Reserve.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Herb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Samburu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you very much for your email and for making so well the point that the essence of the experience at Saruni in general and particularly at Saruni Samburu is the guides and the team. They represent the local culture and they represent our values at the same time and are a super team that has very few competitors in Kenya. As you rightly say, our maintenance in a place with such a harsh wear and tear was under way and we have now almost completed it. Johan and Zoe have been very busy in the last few months not only hosting our guests, but also looking after what we call the "back of house". We look forward to have you back to check out the upgrades and improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews