We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location, very relaxing!”

Review of Himaya House

View across the pool to Silversands beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House Side view of the House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House
Side view of the House
View across pool to guest wing
View across pool to main house
View at low tide from part of garden
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom bathroom
Veranda dining table
Entrance to the living room with veranda beyond
Bedroom in separate guest wing
Outside veranda on guest wing
View from Master bedroom window to pool
Looking down to pool from Guest wing
Looking back towards HImaya at far end on cliff
Walking along side Himaya at low tide - in the South Monsoon
Looking out to Marine Park
A sunset from Himaya
Storm over the ocean from Himaya
Fisherman out in May storm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Malindi, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mominsuda...
Juba, South Sudan
1 review
“Wonderful location, very relaxing!”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had an amazing 5 days. Everything was fantastic, the staff were very friendly and eager to accommodate all your needs. We would recommend this rental to almost everyone.
There are a lot of steps, so not handicap friendly, good for families, but toddlers would have to be watched closely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Location, Location
Liked least: there were flies and mosquitoes (where don't you have them) bring bug spray!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinskie
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special house, very relaxing - must stay!!”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week here over the new year period and had such a fantastic time.
The house is located at the end of the main beach and was very quiet, just far enough away from town (so only a short tuk tuk ride for shopping). The setting is very special with dual aspects along the beach and there are such lovely views from every room in the house- very relaxing constantly hearing the sea.
The staff looking after Himaya were not only very helpful but also discreet, with really stand out cooking from Sammy the chef!
All communication with Lissa the owner was very clear and prompt, we felt well looked after and had a great holiday. Having done many holiday rentals all over the world, I can highly recommend Himaya!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The incredible views!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent location and blissful house”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We were a party of 6 including 2 young children and we were knocked out by the location overlooking the beach and sea on both sides. The house with its separate guest wing is delightful, and the garden leading to the swimming pool area is just beautiful. We were very well served by the staff of 5. Sammy is a great cook, and his menu suggestions very delicious - so it was a luxurious Christmas and New Year break for all of us. Would definitely like to come back again in the furture.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting overlooking the beach with the gardens
Liked least: It was a bit windy at times.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianSma...
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Our second visit in a month”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Truly great place - we went first in November and were back within a month! Friends said it was the best house in Malindi and they were quite right.
Great location, great staff, lovely owner, and above all a fabulous property. Can't recommend it highly enough...

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catandkar...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We had no idea as to the extent our expectations would be exceeded!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We selected the Himaya House after doing over a month's worth of research on the Internet. We felt quite confident that we could expect a safe, clean, comfortable, well maintained home with a pool and a great beach location where we could spend sixteen nights.

We did not, however, anticipate that our expectations would be exceeded on so many levels.

The house is in perfect repair, fully equipped with modern, properly functioning appliances, wonderfully furnished and tastefully decorated.

Sammy, the resort-trained chef served up one amazing dish after another, Silas made sure the home remained in tip top shape, Mapinga made sure the pool was always clean and garden green and lush. Kombe did our laundry and ironing and Charles the professionally trained security guard assured us our safety.

Lissa (pronounced Lisa) went above and beyond to make sure that every aspect of our stay was perfect. She found out ahead of time what our food preferences and tastes were and did some pre-shopping so that we wouldn't have to worry about getting groceries for a few days. Throughout our stay she would pop in every once in a while to ask if we needed anything further.

Lissa also arranged for a car rental at an excellent price and helped us organize a boat excursion. She keeps a comprehensive list of meals (appetizers, soups, salads, entrees and desserts) that Sammy has aced, just to give us some ideas (although by no means does the list limit our options).

She also keeps an immensely helpful directory of where the best restaurants, attractions and shopping spots are as well as contact names, numbers and directions to other services that may be required.

We quickly grew attached to Lissa and invited her to join us for supper more than once. She is a kind hearted, gracious woman and as it turns out, an accomplished author as well. As someone who played an important role in the establishment of the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (elephant orphanage), she has some fascinating stories to tell.

We loved every minute of our stay at Himaya House and we found Malindi to be a most peaceful, safe and vibrant town.

When we return to Kenya we will plan our trip around the availability of Himaya House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: We honestly loved everything- The house, staff, Lissa, location....
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;