We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent located beach house, much...”

Review of Himaya House

View across the pool to Silversands beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House Side view of the House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House
Side view of the House
View across pool to guest wing
View across pool to main house
View at low tide from part of garden
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom bathroom
Veranda dining table
Entrance to the living room with veranda beyond
Bedroom in separate guest wing
Outside veranda on guest wing
View from Master bedroom window to pool
Looking down to pool from Guest wing
Looking back towards HImaya at far end on cliff
Walking along side Himaya at low tide - in the South Monsoon
Looking out to Marine Park
A sunset from Himaya
Storm over the ocean from Himaya
Fisherman out in May storm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Malindi, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Degenkamp...
Rijssen
1 review
“excellent located beach house, much privacy,perfect view and 5 star service”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The beach house is located on a cliff which gives you much security and privacy but also great view and even the possibility to go to the beach by your private door. Swimming pool is very nice and many opportunities to lay in the sun or in the shadow of the trees in a big garden. The staff is very friendly en helpful they do everything from garden to swimming pool, from night security to cleaning even including laundry, they do their job but you hardly see them. Sammy did a great job in the kitchen, every morning we started on the veranda with a great breakfast with warm croissants and fresh fruit, the lunch always a nice surprise from salads to soup and diner was super from local fish to italian food you can chose what you want. The menu is very extended you can give your prefers, Lissa will buy the groceries and Sammy prepares it all to a five star level.
Owner Lissa was very helpful immediately when we started contact for information about location of the Himaya-House and situation in Kenya. Lissa arranged pickup from airfield she can arrange a trip in the area from safari to glas-bottum boat. Lissa can do all your groceries from cola to beer, from chocolate to cookies and all at nice local Kenya prices.We can advice a trip to Malinda by tuk-tuk. Swim in your own pool, football on the beach and even internet for our kids it was totally complete.
Dear Lissa, Sammy and all the rest of the staff our stay with our family of 6 persons was perfect thanks and good luck to you all! Nice regards from Holland! And maybe goodbye in future?!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the food
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenmarkLo...
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, fantastic view and super friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed 5 days in this lovely house. The house has a perfect location on a coral rock. That both give the house and the garden/pool a fantastic view over the ocean but also a natural “protection” from the beach boys. The villa itself is beautiful, well maintained and very clean. All the rooms are hugs and from everywhere in the house you have a fantastic view.
The owner Lissa is extremely helpful. Airkenya Express changed our flight time last minute and because we didn’t get that information we didn’t catch our flight. But Lissa called the airline office and convinced them to put us on another flight. What a service 
Lissa also did all the food shopping for us, so we didn’t have to go to the town but could stay and relax at the pool.
The staff in the villa is super friendly. Sammy the chef is amazing. He cooked delicious food for us 3 times a day. We didn’t even try some of the restaurants in Malindi as Sammy’s food was so delicious. There is also a pool boy that clean the pool 2-3 times a day, a friendly guy that did all our dirty laundry from the safari and a security guy that look after the house as night.
The house give you the perfect setting for a relaxing holiday.
We can warm recommend to stay in this wonderful villa and would love to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constance...
Nakuru, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place - a piece of paradise”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

As a family we have been to Himaya several times - and always trying to come back. It as an outstanding place indeed - beautiful rooms, stunning views from everywhere and lovely staff taking care. For a real relaxing holiday this is the perfect place. With a clean and big pool and the acess to the beach - but still having the privacy as the house is located on a cliff. The chef is preparing amazing local and international dishes. All the staff are very friedly and very decent. The contact to the manger has always been good and fast in response.
If you are looking for a very special place at the coast: This is it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location, rooms, views, food
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aggie g
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect spot overlooking Malindi beach - we will be back!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Through a carved Lamu door in the cliff face on the beach, up the winding stairs through tropical gardens including two magnificent baobab trees - and you are looking out over the white powdery sands and the warm sea. Himaya is a lovely house - spacious and airy with arched verandas and three large double bedrooms each with en suite bathrooms. The master suite is above the main house with a magnificent view over the ocean and huge bathroom with enormous bath, shower and double basins. The other two suites are set above the swimming pool with lovely verandahs and views of the beach.

Kick off your shoes and lie back on the swahili day bed in the shade by the pool and watch the fishermen sail out to sea in their wooden boats or idly watch from your secluded position above the beach. Utter peace and tranquility. If you want some action you can always ask for a passing tuk tuk to take you into Malindi town and explore the backstreets with shops selling brightly coloured kikoys and kangas, beaded sandals or the sweet cardoman halwa. And then drop by the seafront for a delicious Italian ice cream... Feeling guilty? Then if LIssa is there she can help you ease the strains by doing yoga on the verandah overlooking the ocean. A wonderful place to organise a yoga detox retreat with friends.

We all came back relaxed and fit after being well looked after by Lissa's team - Sammy who can cook up a dream, Silas and his lovely helpers who keep the place ship shape, and Charles the wonderfully attentive security guard to make sure you are safe and secure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position, place and people
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaG5
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“Awesome way to celebrate my birthday”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed at the Himaya house in early November and we had an amazing time. The location is fantastic, high above the beach (a private entrance to the beach, just follow the steps from the garden). The view from the master bath was spectacular! The kids (13+15) loved to play in the pool (no shallow section, you have to know how to swim). The staff looked after us very well. The chef Sammy prepared all our meals and we did not even bother to visit any local restaurants. Grandma and Sammy set the menu every day. It was easy to get into town by grabbing a tuk-tuk in the street behind the garden. We went into Malindi for sightseeing and shopping. My daughter and I went horseback-riding on the beach a couple of times (it was almost more fascinating to see a hippo where the river met the sea than the ones we saw during our safari!) and our family also went scuba-diving (one day in Malindi and one day in Watamu). Lissa, the owner arranged for our transport to and from Mombasa (2,5 hours). Our vacation could not have turned out any better and it was an awesome way to celebrate my big birthday!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing