We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place in everyday”

Review of Himaya House

View across the pool to Silversands beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House Side view of the House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House
Side view of the House
View across pool to guest wing
View across pool to main house
View at low tide from part of garden
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom bathroom
Veranda dining table
Entrance to the living room with veranda beyond
Bedroom in separate guest wing
Outside veranda on guest wing
View from Master bedroom window to pool
Looking down to pool from Guest wing
Looking back towards HImaya at far end on cliff
Walking along side Himaya at low tide - in the South Monsoon
Looking out to Marine Park
A sunset from Himaya
Storm over the ocean from Himaya
Fisherman out in May storm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Malindi, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SarahWyer
England
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing place in everyday”
Reviewed 16 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is the place to stay in Malinda, if you want your own space…in the most amazing place. Its got it all, a great pool, wonderful accommodation and the most amazing cook Sammy…more chef than cook. I always grade food on whether its better than I could cook myself….this is better! It was the best food we had in Kenya (and we stayed in some nice places), all with local ingredients, including fish and crab caught that day. In fact all the staff were lovely, and this flavours the whole stay.

So with the wonderful bedrooms, a view to die for (the size of the sea/beach front plot is significant and boundered on 2 sides with beach/sea)…and there’s good tree cover for shade, the best chef/staff and a great pool, how could this be improved? Well, with the owner Lissa being on hand to sort out things like car hire and flight tickets booked for the wrong dates, etc, etc. This was a definite bonus. Lissa lives on site, but its a big site, and her accommodation is hidden from view by trees etc. She is very discreet but she is on hand if any advice is needed…in which case you can ask one of the staff team to go and get her.

Lissa arranged great car hire at a fantastic price. It was delivered to the villa and we dropped it off at the airport. All very easy. In fact the whole stay at Himaya was very easy. We were asked to email ahead with any requests and so Gordons Gin and lots of tonic was already in the fridge. We realised Kenya is harder to shop in compared to most of our other holiday destinations (Spain, France, South Africa, Greece etc) and so not having to think about shopping or cooking, but having the benefit of our own villa all worked very well. We felt very at home at Himaya and would return in an instance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything, food, staff, view....
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copiousc
Gulu, Uganda
1 review
“Rest and Relaxation - THIS place is the definition”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This house is a private, secluded (but so close to the beach - private door opens up on the sand), get away on the beautiful Swahili coast. Malindi can get hectic, as seen by the multitude of resorts and nightlife - but this was not that kind of trip for us.

My wife,1 year old daughter, and our nanny came to rest a relax on a 2 week break from work in Uganda. I can't say enough about Sammy, Silas, Mpinga, and Dominic - and Lissa is welcoming and kind, and does the needful to make sure the house is as inviting as possible. Everyone working there is discrete and respectful of privacy, but warm and open when the time comes for conversation.

Magnificent meals were prepared by Sammy, who is a wonderful chef and the available fresh seafood is amazing. Silas manages the grounds meticulously and they are always around to help.

If you're considering Malindi I would highly recommend that you contact Lissa to see if her house is available. Truly a special place in the world and a true pleasure to stay in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and closeness to the beach, wonderful staff and true peace.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jill w
saundersfoot
1 review
“Absolutely great”
Reviewed 5 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Himaya house is fantastic. Location superb but even more important important a wonderful reception from Lissa and her staff. We had wonderful food and all our comforts looked after. If you want a relaxing first class holiday in Kenya - This is the one to choose.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael-K...
Kenya
2 reviews
“A true gem - fascinating and unique”
Reviewed 20 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

The second time now we spent our holidays at Himaya House with his even more than polite and obliging owner Lissa and the professional and hard working staff (but always descreet).
And also the second time it was a pleasure to be at this heavenly place with the big and natural garden, the baobab trees, the pool. To stay on the cliff is the best - you can have real privacy and - if you want - your are down the beach in one minute.
One of the best places we have ever been travelling around the world!
Actually is hard to describe the - because it is so unique - the people as well!
Just come and see - and feel it!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The place and the service
Liked least: to stay there only for two weeks - could stay longer
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotdoggin...
cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“heavenly...”
Reviewed 6 September 2011 for a stay in February 2011

The perfect spot nestled into the cliff at the southern tip of the beach, Himaya house is a true oasis of calm. The owner Lissa was there to welcome me personally and make sure I settled in and had everything I could possibly need, without crowding me. She was very knowledgeable about the local area and happy to help in any way she could. The staff at Himaya house cooked the most stunning fresh and wholesome food and without even noticing them there the house was always spotless. I couldn't fault anything so so hope to be able to stay there again sometime soon. Thank you for such a lovely memorable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the thoughful yet unintrusive service and the views
Liked least: having to leave...
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing