We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, meh food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Malindi
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a location! Right on the beach, beautiful to sit outside as the sun sets with a cold beer. Friendly staff too! The whole place was solid, but the food was at best mediocre. Avoid the hamburger at all cost! If You look for a good place to eat there are many better options in town.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Theosof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen A, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued customer,
Warm greetings from Ocean Beach resort & Spa,
we would like to express our gratitude for taking your time to write a review about our hotel, more so for your valuable feedback in regards to our food.
we assure you that steps have already been put in place to ensure improvement in that area.
it was a real pleasure to the entire staff of Ocean Beach to have you stay with us.
we all look forward to hosting you again in the coming days.
thank you again.
kind regards.
Maureen Awuor
General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here over last xmass, what a beautiful place, extending onto a private beach, 2 clean swimming pools and kids activities- it was a fun and memorable stay.
The independent cottages gives you privacy and quite ambience.
The staff are very friendly, and I commend the GM who handled our misplaced reservation diligently. I would stay here anytime am in Malindi.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen A, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear our esteemed client,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review to us.
We value you and we are looking forward to hosting you again.
We wish you a prosperous year.
Regards and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Classical beach hotel. Big property, which contains lots of small houses - rooms. It is quite unique and very comfortable. You basically live in a small house during your stay. If you have junior suite or higher. If lower, the house is divided into 2 separate flats. Rooms are the best on this property. Very clean, space and modern equipped with amazing beds. Lobby and all the rest of the property would need some small improvements, I could imagine better pools and spa area (sauna, steam). Also there is no pool bar, so you have to wait like 15 minutes, till service from the restaurant gets to you so you can order. Direct access to the beach, which is huge and almost no people on it (december). On of the coolest things around. Seems to me more like 4 star than 5. But still good hotel. Excellent, and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kaka3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen A, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear customer,
Many thanks for taking your time to write a beautiful review about Ocean Beach.
we at Ocean Beach would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during the holidays and we are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

all the concern is noted with gratitude and we promise to improve in all areas so that we may make your next stay more memorable and comfortable.

kind regards
Maureen Awuor
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We stayed 3nights and had a wonderful time. Due to three pools it is never crowded, the sunbeds are of superior quality, the food is delicious and the staff is well trained and extraordinary friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen A, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

dear Esteemed customer,
we are so humbled with your comments about the hotel, we at ocean beach thank you for choosing to stay with us and we promise to deliver a good and excellent service even in the future.
thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Everything about this place is just beautiful and tranquil. The beautiful swimming pools, the amazing beach view from the restaurant by the beach and the friendly staff. And did I mention Morjana Spa? You must have a spa date while at Ocean Beach. State of the art facility, relaxing and great staff as well. Service with a smile that you just want to keep spending. Their food is also excellent. There is nothing not to love about this place. Perfect for families and for couples. I am surprised I have never rated this place here. I visit this place every year. It is just awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen A, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear our esteemed customer,
thank you for your lovely response.
it is much valued by us.
looking forward to hosting you again in the future.
kind regards
Ocean beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
5 km away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#3 of 29 in Malindi
239 reviews
4.4 km away
Angel's Bay Beach & Villas Resort
1.5 km away
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
#22 of 29 in Malindi
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 29 in Malindi
181 reviews
5.4 km away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
5.3 km away
Sandies Tropical Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Golf & Country Club, Beach Road | P.O. Box 5296, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Malindi
Price Range: ₹ 12,406 - ₹ 19,370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE STARS EXPERIENCE. Ocean Beach Resort is a superior deluxe five star hotel that takes hospitality back to its essence with its unique style of tropical early 20th century style with wooden roofs and elegant wooden floors. It is situated in the sand dunes beach two kilometers north Malindi Township. Malindi, the pearl of Kenyan Coast. This is the favorite destination for those whom are looking for something special. The hotel is on the beach, adjacent to the Malindi Golf and Country Club and only two kilometers north of Malindi Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Ocean Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing