We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hidden home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamani Jua Tao Resort
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Malindi
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

This resorts came in handy after two days trips. We arrived late evening and were warmly received by the receptionist John and shortly the owner, Mattia. The night and day is all quiet. Full of trees hence not as hot. We enjoyed our room, the beautiful garden, the pool and also got a chance to peep through the cottages. These can hold a big family and has kitchen. The bar and restaurant superb. Asanteni, tuonane karibuni.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jackykowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamaniJua, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamani Jua Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank to for your comment! We work every day to make the holiday of our guests unforgettable...we are happy that you have spent a relaxing stay and we look forward to seeing you soon in our resort!
Karibu Tamani Jua Tao resort!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017

It can't get worse from here.
The food is totally not fresh and the staff admitted to buying from roadside vendors. The staff have no idea what those Italian meals on the menu are. Took 3 to explain.
I received stained towels and instead of apologizing, they blamed their supplier, a random wash lady. My bed had a big bug (attached image), housekeeping was not thorough and wait you see their super torn rag-looking uniform, very embarrassing. In the rooms do not expect amenities such as a fridge! mini bar, kettle, iron box, sandals, toiletries.

There is 1 communal television and no beach. I stayed a full day with no electricity since they had no generator and cold water showers since the staff forgot to switch on the heater,

Please change those old noisy air conditioners its 2017 together with your super boring meals. Note, once you hear drum beats for dinner, run because I was late 35min and missed food completely. I had fruits, not by choice.

To your cliche reply, No you didn't chase me away, I checked out and Never to be spotted anywhere near that hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamaniJua, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamani Jua Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Reading your comment made me laugh, because Ive never heard so many lies all together in one article! We realized that it was a conspiracy between you and other employees who were working here and then the same employees were sent away for obviously reasons ...It would be appropriate for you to write the truth, for example, saying that in our hotel there is not generator while we have and is even a big one,to say that we buy food from roadside vendors and on this I'm here asking you,... why should i pay workers and suppliers if as per what you say we buy food from roadside vendors? JUST NONSENSE ... try other excuses to hit us!
However I do not intend to waste time anymore with a person who came only,by the order of someone else, to try to throw mud at us, to try to discredit our work, looking for ridiculous and fake excuses, to try to let believe our customers that our resort does not offer the right services just basing yourself on lies and nonsense .... please do not make me laugh anymore...
Our customers know us and know our service and the quality of our cuisine!
We kindly ask you to dont be our guest anymore and we thank you for it...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

After booking, is when i read the reviews and i was shocked...i thought to myself why dint i read before i paid.We set off with my hubby and two children for the weekend.We were welcomed very well, cold juice served to all of us. We were shown the rooms-we had connecting room with the children. Room was clean. One toilet however wasnt working well and we had to go to the childrens toilet as it could flush.
The swimming pool was great, and the children were eager to swim despite us getting there at almost 6 in the evening, luckily there are lights by the pool so swimming at night was not an issue.
We ordered for dinner and despite the reviews i read..the dinner was on time, and well prepared. Only the children were not happy with their chicken, because they expected to get the whole chicken(drumsteak and wings) but it was more of steak breadcrumbed chicken. The rest of the meal was awesome and the waiter was super courteous and friendly.
Morning came and the waiter we had that morning, was nothing near the one the previous night. He was grumpy. The juice was not fresh juice, the sausages were tooo hard but the rest of the food was good.
Disappointment came when we ordered for lunch for the children- chips and sausages.,.One and a half hours later- nothing..and when eventually it came, the sausages were super haaard.
Overally, the children enjoyed themselves fully as they got the chance to swim the whole time and watch their favorite cartoons and the pool attendants were very friendly to them and they loved their room.
The hotel just needs to look at the showers and toilets.. its a place i would definitely go back...

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShanillaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Reviewing the comments i came to understand that this hotel instead of accepting and apologizing for their horrid service and untruthful management oppose to the facts as if nothing ever happened,

As a guest at the hotel at the same time over there, i was disgusted by their replies and efficiency in service one example being the food services, food was not fresh instead one famiy had to wait a horrible 2 hours, only for them to be served with stale rubbery street vendered food!

The management couldn't even take the courtesy of fixing my water heater and air conditioning on time, i thinking they were waiting for me to finish my stay and start ripping off another customer who might have been poorly advised.!!!

I regret not taking any pictures of proof as was to busy solving the hotel bathroom problems myself!!!

Sorry to say like you referred to one of your guests " we dont want people like you" Well i am more than happy to never visit your hotel ever ever again

PS : there is no beach within the hotel premises dont be fooled by photos online

Thank you

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Aliasger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamaniJua, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamani Jua Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

This response also applies to all other of your group...it is useless to continue to write bad comments because the management has sent you away for your lack of respect and the ignorant behavior!
Who knows our hotel knows what we offer our customers, service, courtesy and quality! Therefore it is not needed to carry on to invent silly stories because the Management doesn't allow you to come again in our resort...stay at home, we don't want customers like you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Reviews from 2014 for this hotel say that there is a trickling stream from the overhead shower, and sadly till 2016 its still the same case.

You dont get hot water until you go and "request" the reception to start the water heaters.

Dont be fooled by the pictures showing the chef cooking for the guests poolside. This hotel DOES NOT have a chef, infact, we needed a dinner in our stay and we called in to ask if the kitchen was on, and decided to have a freshly cooked dinner in the hotel. We were informed it will take 1.5 hours to cook us grilled chicken and french fries, and we ordered 18 plates of HALF chicken and chips.

After 2.5 hours we were served with completely dry QUARTER chicken and stale chips purchased from street food vendors.

Upon bringing it to the "manager's" attention we just get a crude apology and to add insult to injury they give us a "discount" of 300 kshs on our already overpriced stale dinner that we hardly managed to eat.

Upon checking out another shock awaited us as suddenly the room rate became 3500 per person and 80perc off for children when we had a clear discussion with the "owner" over the phone that it was 3000 per adult, children below 10 stayed free and those below 15 stayed at half rate!!!

When we try clarifying the situation with the owner and tell them to be honest, we get a reply from him saying he doesnt really want us as guests in a crude manner.

Must say we really dont remember a more insulting stay in any hotel then this!!!

Please stay away if you have other options to stay in MALINDI. Oh, and did i mention the hotel IS NOT a beach property and if you get rooms roadside then ANY car passes by and you can hear the car as clearly as though u r sleeping next to it.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank mjivanjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamaniJua, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Tamani Jua Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

This response also applies to all other of your group...It is useless to continue to write bad comments because the Management has sent you away for your lack of respect and the ignorant behavior!
Who knows our hotel knows what we offer our customers, service, courtesy and quality! Therefore it is not needed to carry on to invent silly stories because the Management doesn't allow you to come again in our resort...stay at home, we do not want customers like you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
4.1 km away
Angel's Bay Beach & Villas Resort
4.7 km away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 29 in Malindi
239 reviews
4.3 km away
Silversand Residence
Silversand Residence
#21 of 29 in Malindi
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
#22 of 29 in Malindi
42 reviews
12.1 km away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 29 in Malindi
181 reviews
7.4 km away
Stephanie Ocean Resort
Stephanie Ocean Resort
#8 of 29 in Malindi
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamani Jua Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamani Jua Tao Resort

Address: Lamu Road | P.O. Box 1259, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Malindi
Price Range: ₹ 4,320 - ₹ 11,734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamani Jua Tao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a nice and quiet resort in Malindi, which in 2011, with a new management, we are committed to our guests can enjoy, unforgettable holidays. We have 11 features villas surrounded by greenery, where the apartments are inserted with 50 quiet rooms, spacious and tastefully furnished africano. All rooms have private bathrooms, air conditioning, mini bar and veranda. In the main building of the resort, surrounded by lush garden is the bar area, free Wi-Fi, a TV area, a massage room and a restaurant overlooking the pool. The beach provides for our guests, lounge chairs, beach towels and bar service. The ideal place to contemplate and enjoy the beauty and fragrance of Africa with the possibility of excursions and safaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tamani Jua Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing