We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
46
24
9
1
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
24
9
1
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017

It can't get worse from here.
The food is totally not fresh and the staff admitted to buying from roadside vendors. The staff have no idea what those Italian meals on the menu are. Took 3 to explain.
I received stained towels and instead of apologizing, they blamed their supplier, a random wash lady. My bed had a big bug (attached image), housekeeping was not thorough and wait you see their super torn rag-looking uniform, very embarrassing. In the rooms do not expect amenities such as a fridge! mini bar, kettle, iron box, sandals, toiletries.

There is 1 communal television and no beach. I stayed a full day with no electricity since they had no generator and cold water showers since the staff forgot to switch on the heater,

Please change those old noisy air conditioners its 2017 together with your super boring meals. Note, once you hear drum beats for dinner, run because I was late 35min and missed food completely. I had fruits, not by choice.

To your cliche reply, No you didn't chase me away, I checked out and Never to be spotted anywhere near that hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamaniJua, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamani Jua Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Reading your comment made me laugh, because Ive never heard so many lies all together in one article! We realized that it was a conspiracy between you and other employees who were working here and then the same employees were sent away for obviously reasons ...It would be appropriate for you to write the truth, for example, saying that in our hotel there is not generator while we have and is even a big one,to say that we buy food from roadside vendors and on this I'm here asking you,... why should i pay workers and suppliers if as per what you say we buy food from roadside vendors? JUST NONSENSE ... try other excuses to hit us!
However I do not intend to waste time anymore with a person who came only,by the order of someone else, to try to throw mud at us, to try to discredit our work, looking for ridiculous and fake excuses, to try to let believe our customers that our resort does not offer the right services just basing yourself on lies and nonsense .... please do not make me laugh anymore...
Our customers know us and know our service and the quality of our cuisine!
We kindly ask you to dont be our guest anymore and we thank you for it...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

After booking, is when i read the reviews and i was shocked...i thought to myself why dint i read before i paid.We set off with my hubby and two children for the weekend.We were welcomed very well, cold juice served to all of us. We were shown the rooms-we had connecting room with the children. Room was clean. One toilet however wasnt working well and we had to go to the childrens toilet as it could flush.
The swimming pool was great, and the children were eager to swim despite us getting there at almost 6 in the evening, luckily there are lights by the pool so swimming at night was not an issue.
We ordered for dinner and despite the reviews i read..the dinner was on time, and well prepared. Only the children were not happy with their chicken, because they expected to get the whole chicken(drumsteak and wings) but it was more of steak breadcrumbed chicken. The rest of the meal was awesome and the waiter was super courteous and friendly.
Morning came and the waiter we had that morning, was nothing near the one the previous night. He was grumpy. The juice was not fresh juice, the sausages were tooo hard but the rest of the food was good.
Disappointment came when we ordered for lunch for the children- chips and sausages.,.One and a half hours later- nothing..and when eventually it came, the sausages were super haaard.
Overally, the children enjoyed themselves fully as they got the chance to swim the whole time and watch their favorite cartoons and the pool attendants were very friendly to them and they loved their room.
The hotel just needs to look at the showers and toilets.. its a place i would definitely go back...

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShanillaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Reviewing the comments i came to understand that this hotel instead of accepting and apologizing for their horrid service and untruthful management oppose to the facts as if nothing ever happened,

As a guest at the hotel at the same time over there, i was disgusted by their replies and efficiency in service one example being the food services, food was not fresh instead one famiy had to wait a horrible 2 hours, only for them to be served with stale rubbery street vendered food!

The management couldn't even take the courtesy of fixing my water heater and air conditioning on time, i thinking they were waiting for me to finish my stay and start ripping off another customer who might have been poorly advised.!!!

I regret not taking any pictures of proof as was to busy solving the hotel bathroom problems myself!!!

Sorry to say like you referred to one of your guests " we dont want people like you" Well i am more than happy to never visit your hotel ever ever again

PS : there is no beach within the hotel premises dont be fooled by photos online

Thank you

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Aliasger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamaniJua, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamani Jua Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

This response also applies to all other of your group...it is useless to continue to write bad comments because the management has sent you away for your lack of respect and the ignorant behavior!
Who knows our hotel knows what we offer our customers, service, courtesy and quality! Therefore it is not needed to carry on to invent silly stories because the Management doesn't allow you to come again in our resort...stay at home, we don't want customers like you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Reviews from 2014 for this hotel say that there is a trickling stream from the overhead shower, and sadly till 2016 its still the same case.

You dont get hot water until you go and "request" the reception to start the water heaters.

Dont be fooled by the pictures showing the chef cooking for the guests poolside. This hotel DOES NOT have a chef, infact, we needed a dinner in our stay and we called in to ask if the kitchen was on, and decided to have a freshly cooked dinner in the hotel. We were informed it will take 1.5 hours to cook us grilled chicken and french fries, and we ordered 18 plates of HALF chicken and chips.

After 2.5 hours we were served with completely dry QUARTER chicken and stale chips purchased from street food vendors.

Upon bringing it to the "manager's" attention we just get a crude apology and to add insult to injury they give us a "discount" of 300 kshs on our already overpriced stale dinner that we hardly managed to eat.

Upon checking out another shock awaited us as suddenly the room rate became 3500 per person and 80perc off for children when we had a clear discussion with the "owner" over the phone that it was 3000 per adult, children below 10 stayed free and those below 15 stayed at half rate!!!

When we try clarifying the situation with the owner and tell them to be honest, we get a reply from him saying he doesnt really want us as guests in a crude manner.

Must say we really dont remember a more insulting stay in any hotel then this!!!

Please stay away if you have other options to stay in MALINDI. Oh, and did i mention the hotel IS NOT a beach property and if you get rooms roadside then ANY car passes by and you can hear the car as clearly as though u r sleeping next to it.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank mjivanjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamaniJua, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Tamani Jua Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

This response also applies to all other of your group...It is useless to continue to write bad comments because the Management has sent you away for your lack of respect and the ignorant behavior!
Who knows our hotel knows what we offer our customers, service, courtesy and quality! Therefore it is not needed to carry on to invent silly stories because the Management doesn't allow you to come again in our resort...stay at home, we do not want customers like you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We visited Malindi and checked in at this resort on 30 July . My experience is very bad , especially dining there, we were with children's n ordered grilled chicken n were told to wait about an hour , but still after two hours our food was not served, despite repeated request that our children's were very tired n hungry. When at last food arrived we were SHOCKED , the food was awful n stale COLD. after some investigation we found out the food was not cooked n it was ordered frm outside the hotel. Management was also not cooperating he said we r checking it n come back to you. Which he never did. AWFUL EXPERIENCE. Also rooms shower were not working and couple od rooms Ac were not working. No hot water available despite repeated complaining to the reception. My rating to this hotel is NO STAR

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Burhanuddin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamaniJua, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamani Jua Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

This response also applies to all other of your group .... It is useless to continue to write bad comments because the Management has sent you away for your lack of respect and the ignorant behavior!
Who knows our Hotel knows what we offer our customers, service, courtesy and quality! Therefore it is not needed to carry on to invent silly stories because the Management Doesn't allow you to come again in our Resort...stay at home, we do not want customers like you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews