We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelmingly Wonderful”
Review of Tortilis Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tortilis Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Jumbo. This journey...overwhelmingly wonderful

Flawless, exciting, rewarding. From the moment we step outside of the Nairobi Airport we were under the protective canopy of our hosts. We sat in modified Land cruisers, rumbled over Savannahs, grasslands, lava fields to watch and absorb every African mammal (and more) that we could see. Eyes first, camera second. Cheli and Peacock have implemented a masterful safari.

We dare not to pick a favourite camp, as each camp is distinctly different, yet continuity is normality within the camps. Game drives, meals times and genuine thoughtfulness are the common thread.

Tortilis is unique. The open-aired covered lounge overlooks a man made watering hole, outside the protective fence. Kilimanjaro is the setting of this background that sees baboons, zebras, elephants, marabou cranes, and more drawing a drink from the pond. Yes, a small walk up from your luxurious accommodation, the wander is full of birds, plants, flowers, certainly a moment to yourself to explore the ground beneath your feet.

The food. We did not anticipate the exceptional quality of meals. We came to see the Savannahs and wildlife. African food is very simple and not palatable to most tourists, Cheli and Peacock have run with the Italian theme, and it is suburb.

Andreas and Manuela, our hosts for Tortilis are full of life. They too are travelers and understand the needs of every individual.

We cannot stress the importance of have a company like Cheli and Peacock pull together a trip of a lifetime. You can simply don your tourist garb, turn off your everyday life and follow your dreams. Plan Tortilis to be part of your African Safari advenature. Have Cheli and Peacock pull together the entire journey, you will be pining to go back to Africa.

asante sana

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Innspyred2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

This was the first experience of Luxury Camping in Africa. WOW I was blown away with Tortilis Camp. The Tent lodging were amazing, spacious and everything you needed and more. Every morning we woke every early to get a good look of the magnificent Mt Kilimanjaro, unfortunately we didn’t get to see the snow covered peak due to cloud coverage. Bush buffet breakfast was serviced at the main dinning area under a large thatched roof. After breakfast and early evening our private tour guide took us on game drives. This was like being in Out of Africa movie. In the mornings the Elephants would be gracing in the luscious mulch streams created by underground springs from the melt-waters of Kilimanjaro and evening returning to there sleeping place at the foot hills of Mt K .The swamps were the centre of activity for elephants, hippos, buffaloes and abundant water birds. Spotted hyenas are plentiful, as are jackals and warthogs. Unfortunately we did experience a killing of a zebra. Our guide took us to a Maasai tribe village for a cost of $20 each. This allowed us to take photos, of the Maasai warrior with their stunning Shuka ( blanket), beaded belt and daggers, visit a schoolhouse. The children sang songs. We were shown inside their cow padding homes and around their village. Not sure if the water well had ever worked but it makes them money. On leaving we were guided around their bead and handmade craft market. The more you buy the cheaper it is per item. Observation Hill was tremendous with its 360-degree views. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend Tortilis Camp.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dellobears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This camp offers everything you could want for an amazing experience in Amboseli as you are at the base of Mt Kilimanjaro, the views and animals are truly breathtaking. The meals and service were excellent . Everyone was very friendly and accomodating. Our guide for the game drives was very knowledgeable and so friendly. The view from our tent was amazing and we spotted some wild life while sitting on the deck. I have been to Kenya 3 times and visited many high end camps and this was truly a wonderful experience. On one of our game drive we saw many elephants and were very close to them, It was great, also had an opportunity to visit the Elephant Research Center. I would highly recomment this camp and I hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hutchison709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Tortilis was the first stop on our Kenyan safari adventure and we were delighted with it.

We were greeted on arrival by the managers, who were welcoming, thoughtful, interested and enthusiastic.

We arrived mid morning and our tents were available straight away. We had the family tent which is actually two rooms with their own en suites and tent number 7. We loved the tents as being a great balance between hotel and tent!

We had a quick tour around the Totilis garden which we were impressed with - an oasis in the middle of the dusty Amboseli! Lunch and dinners were yummy, served in the open walled dining room, using ingredients from the garden.

We had a bit of time to relax by the pool, which was great. We spent time enjoying the bar area, having tea and cake or pre- or post dinner drinks. There is a lovely view of Kilimanjaro and the waterhole. We saw dik dik at the camp, plenty of gazelles, baboons and birds around the waterhole.

The atmosphere was relaxed, yet organised. We loved the hot water bottles in the beds at night, being woken up with coffee/ tea and watching the night fall on Amboseli from the bar.

The staff were all helpful and try hard to please.

All in all a great place to stay to see the amazing elephant herds of Amboseli!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ejaneh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Our group of 4 was on its second African safari and first time in Tanzania. Our Italian hosts were excellent and made sure everything flowed smoothly. Food quality and presentation was first class including vegetables from their own garden on-site. The dining room and lounge offered wonderful wildlife vistas near the base of Mt. Kilimanjaro. Service was first class. Temperature was perfect and the outdoor pool was great after a game drive. We fell asleep to the cooing of grey ringed doves. The week after we left, Tortilas made internation news as the base for the nearby rescue of 2 baby elephants. We have visited a dozen high-end resorts in Tanzania and Kenya in 2009 and 2012 and can say without hesitation that Tortililas is one of the best.
Warning. Ambolisi has a wide range of wildlife but if if you only want a see a couple of elephants, hate walking for 5 minutes, prefer high density accommodation, love seeing 50 other safari vehicles, and want to read at night, don't go to Tortilis.

Room Tip: All are good. There are only abourt 18 rooms with several designed for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
22.6 km away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
392 reviews
22.2 km away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
929 reviews
11.3 km away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
Tawi Lodge
Tawi Lodge
#8 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
170 reviews
29.4 km away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
253 reviews
9.6 km away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortilis Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortilis Camp

Address: Amboseli National Park, 00517, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range: ₹ 29,721 - ₹ 1,44,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortilis Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amboseli is best known for its unrivaled views of Kilimanjaro and the local elephant population. There are over 1000 elephants in the park eco-system, featuring some of the largest elephants in Africa. Tortilis Camp is named after the flat-topped, umbrella thorn tree, the Acacia Tortilis, and is situated in one of Amboseli's areas of Acacia Tortilis woodland, with the majestic backdrop of Africa's highest mountain, and the World’s highest free-standing mountain, snow-capped Kilimanjaro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Tortilis Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortilis Camp Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing